Dismissable at will?


Rules Questions


ok guys, I have a question about shield other and the ring of friend shielding and dismissing the spell of shield other.

in the seccion of dismissable it says that if the spell have the (D) at the end of his duration, you can dismiss the spell at will... but some lanes after it says that dissmissing a spell is an standard action, so, my question is...

the spells with the (D) you can dismiss it in a inmediate action and the others spells without (D) can be dismissing as an standard action? or all the spells are an standard action?


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Spells with a "(D)" added to the duration listing can be dismissed as a standard action. Spells without the "(D)" cannot be dismissed at all. In no case can you dismiss a spell as an immediate action, unless the long spell description text explicitly declares that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

In general, "at will" says one can do the thing whenever one wants, but doesn't say how long it takes.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Distant Scholar wrote:
In general, "at will" says one can do the thing whenever one wants, but doesn't say how long it takes.

Yes, but generally only during your own turn (cf. numerous "at will" spell-like abilities).


Distant Scholar wrote:
In general, "at will" says one can do the thing whenever one wants, but doesn't say how long it takes.

This is the right answer. "At will" means whenever you want (within the turn restrictions of the game). Without "at will" then there is nothing you can do to dismiss the spell (a few spells have specific conditions for dismissing them; you cannot dismiss them at will but only when the condition permits dismissing them).

You will not find a general rule telling you how long "at will" takes. Some "at will" things are very quick (even free actions) while other "at will" things take longer actions. The term "at will" does not have one specific time factor defined. That means you default to the time factor defined for the specific ability - in this case the specific ability in question is dismissing a spell which is defined as taking a Standard action.

Putting that all together, if the spell's duration includes "(D)" then you can, at will, use a Standard action to dismiss it. If not, then you cannot dismiss it unless the spell's text gives you some other kind of option for dismissing it.


"At Will" is part of the "purely mental" actions mentioned under the 'Paralyzed' condition.

As DM_Blake says, how LONG it takes may vary.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
alexd1976 wrote:
"At Will" is part of the "purely mental" actions mentioned under the 'Paralyzed' condition.

Actually, no. You can, for example, cast cantrips "at will", but certainly not when paralyzed.


alexd1976 wrote:
"At Will" is part of the "purely mental" actions mentioned under the 'Paralyzed' condition.

"At will" as in "when you want (and are able) to do so", not as in "with your mind"; it's the same usage of the term you see in the term "fire at will", meaning "you may fire your weapon when you want to do so". :)


Zaister wrote:
alexd1976 wrote:
"At Will" is part of the "purely mental" actions mentioned under the 'Paralyzed' condition.
Actually, no. You can, for example, cast cantrips "at will", but certainly not when paralyzed.

Even by consuming a level 2 spell slot with metamagic that makes it stilled and silenced.

Okay.


alexd1976 wrote:
Zaister wrote:
alexd1976 wrote:
"At Will" is part of the "purely mental" actions mentioned under the 'Paralyzed' condition.
Actually, no. You can, for example, cast cantrips "at will", but certainly not when paralyzed.

Even by consuming a level 2 spell slot with metamagic that makes it stilled and silenced.

Okay.

I'd go along with that, but it's not really an at-will cantrip when it's metamagicked into a 2nd level slot; at that point, it's a consumed one-time resource (wizard) or a consumed very limited resource (sorcerer).


So can you dismiss a spell while paralyzed?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
alexd1976 wrote:
So can you dismiss a spell while paralyzed?
Rules wrote:
(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

No, because you must either speak words of dismissal or dismiss the effect with a gesture.


SlimGauge wrote:
alexd1976 wrote:
So can you dismiss a spell while paralyzed?
Rules wrote:
(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

No, because you must either speak words of dismissal or dismiss the effect with a gesture.

Ah thanks.

I wonder if there is a way around those restrictions... similar to metamagic feats?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Wolfmaster wrote:
dismiss the spell at will... but some lanes after it says that dissmissing a spell is an standard action

The phrase "at-will" just means "when you like" basically.

It does not mean "as a free action or immediate action". In fact whenever you have seen at will from 1st edition to today, it has never meant anything about the action required.


alexd1976 wrote:
SlimGauge wrote:
alexd1976 wrote:
So can you dismiss a spell while paralyzed?
Rules wrote:
(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

No, because you must either speak words of dismissal or dismiss the effect with a gesture.

Ah thanks.

I wonder if there is a way around those restrictions... similar to metamagic feats?

Psychic caster supremacy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dismissable at will? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.