
![]() |

Just a few questions on our friendly lovecraftian demon-flashlights.
1. First question, burning touch...
Burning Touch (Su)
A shining child corrupts the positive energy within a living creature into an unnatural burning light. For the next 5 rounds after a successful touch attack by a shining child, the target takes 2d6 points of fire damage. The burning light can be “extinguished” by casting darkness or deeper darkness on the target, or by entering an area of natural darkness (not counting the light from the burning target).
As the Shining Child's Searing Rays are also touches, do they also ignite per burning touch? Or does it need to be specified as a ranged touch?
2. Searing Ray does 'double damage' to undead, is that best adjudicated by rolling 20d6, or doubling a 10d6 roll?
3.) What level of light effect is the blinding light (su) aura considered to be? Will a darkness spell douse it?
Thanks.

Archaeik |
1.
Melee 2 touches +19 (4d10 fire plus burning touch)
Ranged searing ray +19 touch (10d6 fire)
I'd say it's pretty conclusive that the ranged attack does not also trigger Burning Touch.
To the heart of the question however, simply targeting "touch AC" does not convert every attack of that kind to an actual touch.2.
Sometimes you multiply damage by some factor, such as on a critical hit. Roll the damage (with all modifiers) multiple times and total the results.
3. Yes this works.
Nonmagical sources of light, such as torches and lanterns, do not increase the light level in an area of darkness.
Blinding Light (Ex)

![]() |
Man, I hate those things. As a point of suggestion to GMs: use these with caution. They are big time undercons.
I would agree with Jeff on everything except point 2. I would double the damage generated from 10d6.
As quoted by Archaeik, the standard rules say to multiply the dice, not the result of the dice.

![]() |

Thanks for the feedback guys. And yeah, I know they're jerks, hence why I wanted to make sure I don't take away any advantages my players might have.
Now, for the goofball pedantic question.
Lets say our shining child companion gets hit by deeper darkness. Is it safe to assume that his immunity to blindness does not prevent him from becoming effectively blind because of his inability to see in the deeper dark?

![]() |

Lets say our shining child companion gets hit by deeper darkness. Is it safe to assume that his immunity to blindness does not prevent him from becoming effectively blind because of his inability to see in the deeper dark?
Yes Immunity to Blindness is talking about the condition not the state of being unable to see.