Mobility and Moving Through an Opponent's Space

Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

I'm disappointed that I don't know, and can't find, the answer to this question: Does the Mobility feat, and similar abilities, apply when attempting an Acrobatics check to move through an opponent’s space? Thematically I'd think it would, but I cannot find it explicitly written out, which makes me question this. Is a creature generally able to threaten its own square with a non-reach melee weapon (such as a claw or longsword)?

Core Rulebook 180 wrote:
Threatened Squares: You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you’re unarmed, you don’t normally threaten any squares and thus can’t make attacks of opportunity.
Core Rulebook 130 wrote:
Mobility (Combat Feat) Prerequisites: Dex 13, Dodge. Benefit: You get a +4 dodge bonus to Armor Class against attacks of opportunity caused when you move out of or within a threatened area. A condition that makes you lose your Dexterity bonus to Armor Class (if any) also makes you lose dodge bonuses.

I don't believe it applies, as you're making a skill check against CMD. Thematically, however, you should totally have it apply to your skill check.

Grand Lodge

Yes, you threaten adjacent squares (i.e. within 5') including your own.

Mobility won't assist with the acrobatics check, but it will boost your AC should you fail the skill check.


Mobility applies in such case against AoO's since you are effectively moving through the battlefield. It only provides a +4 dodge bonus to AC and doesn't assist you in anyway in making Acrobatics check. It's a good back-up solution if the check fails though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mobility and Moving Through an Opponent's Space All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.