Where can I find the rules for stacking multipliers?


Rules Questions


Hey folks. I always get told that when stacking multipliers, like, say, damage multiplication from a Vital Strike that also crits, you don't multiply the values twice, you add the multipliers together.

I haven't been able to locate where this rule is described in the books anywhere. Does anyone know where it can be found? I'd like to read the real wording.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

It's in the Core Rulebook. Section Plying the Game, Common Terms


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You don't exactly add them. You reduce each additional multiplier by one and then add.

Here it is in the PRD.

PRD wrote:
Multiplying: When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4.


The trick is to think of multipliers like extra damage. So a x2 multiplier is equal to +100%, a x3 is +200% ecc. Then you add up. so two times x2 is +100+100=+200%, x2 and x3 combine to +100+200=+300% ecc. ecc.


Gisher wrote:

You don't exactly add them. You reduce each additional multiplier by one and then add.

Here it is in the PRD.

PRD wrote:
Multiplying: When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4.

Awesome. Thank you.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

DarthEnder wrote:
damage multiplication from a Vital Strike that also crits, you don't multiply the values twice, you add the multipliers together.

What? I'm confused.

Vital Strike bonus damage are not multiplied on a critical hit, but are added to the total.

So a Greater Vital Strike Crit on a 1d8 weapon with +20 bonus damage on a X3 critical is
(1d8+20) * 3 + 3*1d8

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Where can I find the rules for stacking multipliers? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions