Missing a Touch Attack


Rules Questions


Hello,

If I cast a Melee Touch spell and I miss it (thus if I charge one and attempt to touch someone to discharge it) do I discharge the touch spell anyways (thus not being able to retry the round after.)?

Also, my GM does not like believing what people say on the forums unless they link to a specific page and topic where the information and rule was found... Would you be so kind to link this as well?

Cheers,
Sorrol


no, you hold the charge. Look at the touch spells under combat in core rulebook

Sczarni

It's in the Magic Chapter of the Core Rulebook.


Well yea, but my GM is arguing that because you attempt to discharge the spell you thus discharge it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

nope you hold the charge. look at your other thread. Nefreet has a good link for you


Okey thanks :) Now considering a Magus Spellstrike...

If I cast a touch spell, make an attack and it misses... If I attack in the next turn (or the same turn with Spell Combat) does it discharge then or is it lost with the missed attack?

Cheers,
Sorrol


Aight, thanks a lot man

Sczarni

The only thing that changes is the delivery method.

Sczarni

Since you guys are new to the Magus, I highly recommend Grick's Guide to Touch Spells. I was absolutely clueless when I first encountered Magi in PFS, and now I have one that's 13th level.

Your GM might not like the concept of reading an online Guide, but Grick supports what he says with links and there are many good examples to be found within.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
CRB p185 wrote:
Holding the Charge: If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.
CRB p216 wrote:
Touch Spells and Holding the Charge: In most cases, if you don’t discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.

Two different sections state that do not lose the held charge until you discharge it with a successful hit. Note: you can also lose the held charge if you touch something else (like a door) or by casting a new spell.

The Magus changes this in two ways: One, you can touch your weapon without discharging the spell. Two, you can channel a touch spell through your weapon in a regular attack. The Magus did not change that you keep the held charge until you successfully hit.


Gauss wrote:


The Magus changes this in two ways: One, you can touch your weapon without discharging the spell. Two, you can channel a touch spell through your weapon in a regular attack. The Magus did not change that you keep the held charge until you successfully hit.

And in case your GM doesn't want to just take Gauss's word on the magus - there is also a official FAQ for it.

Silver Crusade

Flagged as a duplicate post. Perhaps the threads can be merged?


Look in the combat chapter for "Cast A Spell", under the types of standard actions.

Touch Spells in Combat:
Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.

Touch Attacks:
Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The act of casting a spell, however, does provoke an attack of opportunity. Touch attacks come in two types: melee touch attacks and ranged touch attacks. You can score critical hits with either type of attack as long as the spell deals damage. Your opponent's AC against a touch attack does not include any armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus. His size modifier, Dexterity modifier, and deflection bonus (if any) all apply normally.

Holding the Charge:
If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Ranged Touch Spells in Combat:
Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively. Unless otherwise noted, ranged touch attacks cannot be held until a later turn (see FAQ below for more information.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Missing a Touch Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions