Paladin of Baha-who? wrote:
No, that's incorrect. The shadow's attack is a natural weapon and you do not get iterative attacks with natural weapons. See the Greater Shadow: it has a BAB of +6 but only one attack. Can you tell me where to find that rule?!
Core Rules from Combat chapter on Natural Attacks:
Natural Attacks: Attacks made with natural weapons, such as claws and bites, are melee attacks that can be made against any creature within your reach (usually 5 feet). These attacks are made using your full attack bonus and deal an amount of damage that depends on their type (plus your Strength modifier, as normal). You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive additional attack rolls for multiple limb and body parts capable of making the attack (as noted by the race or ability that grants the attacks). If you possess only one natural attack (such as a bite—two claw attacks do not qualify), you add 1–1/2 times your Strength bonus on damage rolls made with that attack.
That makes sense, except for the supposed mechanism behind how a Shadow deals damage. If their touch inflicts the Str damage, why can they only use one limb to attack? There's no 'limited-use' restriction, since they can take Attacks of Opportunity in a round where they already hit someone.
The point about Greater Shadows only having one attack is a good one, even if I don't understand why that would be how it works.
Edit: Also, there's a shadow variant in the SRD entry that just confuses the matter further: "A shadetouch shadow lacks the typical shadow’s incorporeal touch—instead, it possesses two claw attacks that each deal 1d8 points of damage on a hit, in addition to the normal amount of Strength damage shadows inflict."