
![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
How may dice would Alain get in his dice pool when using Donahan and the Lance for a Combat check?
The Lance gives Strength or Melee + 1d8. You can add another d6 if you discard it. Further on it says that you may reveal a card with the Mount trait (which Donahan has) to add another 1d8 if it is the first combat check of the turn. Assuming that Alain meets all the conditions I believe that he should get 1d10+2+1d8+1d6+1d8.
Can he then put Donahan on top of his deck to gain another 1d8 or does the fact that he was revealed earlier prevent this action?

skizzerz |

Revealing Donahan as part of the Lance's power does not count as playing Donahan, as such you can still play Donahan to use his own power to add the 1d8. So yes, you can get a total of 1d10+3d8+1d6+2 on your check by playing those 2 cards.

Hawkmoon269 |

It applies whether you reveal the lance or discard it, since they are separate sentences and it only refers to "this check" not to "if you discarded it."
Also, notice they are separated by the sentence about proficiency penalty. So it is no more tied to discarding it than it is tied to taking the proficiency penalty.

John Davis 2 |
It applies whether you reveal the lance or discard it, since they are separate sentences and it only refers to "this check" not to "if you discarded it."
Also, notice they are separated by the sentence about proficiency penalty. So it is no more tied to discarding it than it is tied to taking the proficiency penalty.
Thanks Hawkmoon, that's the way I have been playing it - I just had a moment of doubt... Amazingly quick response too :-)

skizzerz |

See the end of the rulebook, things to keep in mind, namely:
- Cards Do What They Say.
- Cards Don't Do What They Don't Say, and
- Allow for Abstractions.
Not everything makes perfect sense in real life (or even in Pathfinder RPG), you just have to allow for the fact that the card game is a heavily simplified version of a gigantic RPG ruleset and allow for things to be abstracted away in order to make the game cleaner and more fun.
If a card doesn't say that it works on multiple checks, then it doesn't work on multiple checks. Don't try reading into the flavor or concept of a card too much, it will often be different than what the card text is telling you (unless bows suddenly are able to shoot across planes if I'm in a normal location and I'm helping a combat check in an Abyssal one, and similar examples).