
![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

So even though I printed off the srd ruling and bolded the section that states you can automatically pick up the item you disarm from your opponent my dm in his awesomeness is arguing that automatically requires an action. I laughed in his face as this is an ABSURD argument. I am creating this threat so that I can show him some feedback on normal peoples reading of the rule. So I will post it
Disarm
FAQ/Errata
Disarm Weapons
You don't have to use a weapon with the disarm special feature (a.k.a. a "disarm weapon") when making a disarm combat maneuver--you can use any weapon.
You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.
If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with two hands). If your attack exceeds the CMD of the target by 10 or more, the target drops the items it is carrying in both hands (maximum two items if the target has more than two hands). If your attack fails by 10 or more, you drop the weapon that you were using to attempt the disarm. If you successfully disarm your opponent without using a weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.
This is directly off the srd here is a web page reference
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Disarm
My way of reading it is that when you disarm someone while using an unarmed strike you are allowed to end up holding your opponents weapon after your successful disarm attempt.
This came up because my monk during a flurry successfully disarmed on the first attack and I wished to hold the weapon and use my last strike against the opponent. The dm was trying to rule that I had to use a move action to pick up the weapon or the baddy would just pick it up on his turn (a conclusion I had already come to)
Now what I do not care to hear are these comments
"do you have the improved disarm feat"
"if you attack with the weapon its a -4 penalty cause your not proficient"
"you cant flurry with a rapier"
i do appreciate your time reading this and look forward to your interpretation of this pretty obvious (IMHO) rule

![]() |

If you successfully disarm your opponent without using a weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.
Seems pretty clear to me that picking up the weapon dropped is part of the Disarm ability if your hands are free to do so. That is the way we've always ruled. Automatically means automatically, not "you may spend a move action to".

Shadowborn |

Seems to me that the intent of the rule is to allow an unarmed person to disarm an opponent by stripping the weapon out of their hands. It's the less-than-adequate phrasing that's making the subject murky.
Standard disarm: You take your weapon and knock your opponent's weapon out of his grasp. Therefore, it drops to the ground.
Unarmed disarm: You use your hand(s) to take your opponent's weapon away.
"automatically pick up the weapon dropped" is a clunky phrase given the situation, but seems to indicate that you can do it as part of the disarm, not that you disarm your opponent and then reach down and pick up the weapon. Normally picking something up off the ground draws an AoO, but that would seem to put the unarmed opponent at a disadvantage for the sake of being able to "pick up" the weapon automatically.

![]() |

Did you take the -4 for trying to disarm without a weapon? if so then yes you would by the rule be allowed to take it, if not then your already in the realm of houserules and thus this thread wont help either way.
He's a monk, I believe his UAS is a weapon. Hopefully I'm not opening up a can of worms by saying this....

Tels |

Automatic is Automatic. It's a free action for you, since, another way to put it, is you are breaking his grip on the weapon, and pulling it from his hands. For instance, in this clip from Rush Hour, near the end at 2:31, Jackie Chan (one of the more iconic references for Monks), disarms Christ Tucker and takes the gun from him.
Also, keep in mind, a Monk is never Unarmed (his fists are weapons) so he doesn't take the -4 penalty for disarming unarmed. Someone who doesn't have Improved Unarmed Strike that tries to disarm someone using their unarmed strike, does take the -4 penalty.
Benefit: You are considered to be armed even when unarmed—you do not provoke attacks of opportunity when you attack foes while unarmed. Your unarmed strikes can deal lethal or nonlethal damage, at your choice.
A Monk is always armed, and since Disarm calls out being 'unarmed' he never takes the -4 penalty.
[Edit] Also, if you were to disarm an opponent, and let it drop to the ground, then use a move action to pick it up, there's nothing he can do. Unless the opponent has another weapon in his hand, or the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, he can't make an Attack of Opportunity because he is unarmed.
You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you're unarmed, you don't normally threaten any squares and thus can't make attacks of opportunity.

Dolanar |
I think your GM is having an issue with the Visual implied by the use of the disarm & that is making hi see the extra action needed, phrase it as such "As I Disarm him, as the weapon is falling but before it hits the ground you grab the weapon & now have it in my hand, no action needed as its happening all in a matter of a second or 2 as I'm attacking"
I envision the unarmed disarm as forcing the weapon from the hand & more or less catching the weapon with the available hand.

Pendin Fust |

I think, as was pointed out earlier, this phrase you may automatically pick up the item dropped is giving the problems.
I can see both sides. As I tend to favor monks, it fits the imagery I like to create, I pummel away and hit the bottom of my opponents hand causing the weapon to flip up and I catch it.
From the flip side, as RAW, it does say that you may automatically pick up the dropped item. That implies that it hits the ground, and you would have to spend a move action to pick it up. So in this case, it wouldn't be compatible with Flurry as RAW, but it likely is as RAI. Talk it over with your GM, set the stage for future encounters, and if he is a good GM then he will find a way to make up the bad ruling somewhere else.
*EDIT*
The word may implies you can choose to pick it up or not.

![]() |

You are a qinggong monk, running faster than Usain Bolt.
Get True Strike as a quickened SLA, and spring attack-disarm your poor target with the +20 bonus.
Then run away like there is no tomorrow.
Sell the weapon. Enjoy the gold.
Easy money ! Alo, pretty useful if you want to force the barbarian to follow you.

![]() |

While I can't speak for the developers, I do not believe that keeping the weapon in your hand requires an extra action. In 3.5 the wording was:
If you attempt the disarm while unarmed, you end up with the weapon in your hand.
The wording was changed because you are not required to take the weapon if you do not want to, but the new wording also caused this issue.
Speaking from a few years of martial arts, it is usually easier to disarm someone by taking the weapon from their hands. It is possible to knock a weapon away instead of grabbing it, but this requires much more precision (generally by hitting a pressure point in the process). Thus, taking the weapon should be considered part of the disarm attempt, not as any kind of action afterwards.

8 Red Wizards |
Automatically would mean a free action, because if you walked over to the bad guy (move action) than made your disarm (attack action) and succeeded that would be your standard action. Since you are now out of actions if you had to wait until the next turn to get the weapon would that be considered automatically since you have to wait a turn to get your newly acquired weapon?
I don't understand the DM's side of the argument unless he thinks the weapon is dropping to the ground. When the player is actually removing it from the enemies hands into his hands.
AKA JACKIE CHAN FOR THE WIN!!!!!!!

Abandoned Arts RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 32 |

First, check this out, because I just printed a feat called Wrenching Disarm for exactly this kind of scenario (that is: the "unarmed disarm"). Totally worth the $0.99, considering it's packaged with two pages of feats.
Second, you can absolutely disarm-and-wield your opponent's weapon when you perform a disarm maneuver unarmed. However, you cannot finish your flurry of blows with your opponent's weapon. Flurry of blows is restricted to unarmed strikes and a few rare monk weapons.
Fortunately, you don't need a free hand to continue flurrying with unarmed strikes.