Targeting invisible allies


Rules Questions


Here is a situation that made me think.

The party goes into combat the ninja goes first and uses vanishing trick to go invisible and into a flank.

Then the bard who was just out of range of the ninja moves up a bit and cast haste targeting everyone.

Can he target the ninja even if he cant see her?

Grand Lodge

Not unless he can touch the Ninja, no.


See Invisibility is a 10min/level spell and is on the Bard spell list.
"Don't leave home without it!"


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Jeff Merola wrote:
Not unless he can touch the Ninja, no.

Quite right.


Ravingdork wrote:
Jeff Merola wrote:
Not unless he can touch the Ninja, no.
Quite right.

Help me out here, as perhaps I am not understanding how haste works.

For reference, here is the spell description.

It is range of 'close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)', which doesn't seem to have anything to do with 'touching' someone. The way we use it in our games is that it effects all allies (well, one per level, but that's typically all of them), so long as all allies are such that 'no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart.

The invisible Ninja in this example would be within 30' range presumably, and so could be included within the spells magic.

At least - this is how I'd read it. Is this wrong? The spell block doesn't say anything at all about touching the target and so this has confused me.


By the rules you can not target someone with a target based spell that you can not see. However if you are able to touch the person then you can still have the spell affect them.

That means touching allows you to bypass the restriction of not being able to target an invisible creature.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I guess I should add more information

haste wrote:


Targets: one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart

That "target" is telling you how you are aiming the spell.

Magic chapter wrote:


Target or Targets: Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you finish casting the spell.

An invisible creature can not be seen so your only other option is to touch them.


Good to know - thanks!


Ah as I suspected Thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Targeting invisible allies All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions