
![]() |

I don't really understand why you're trying to convince me of something I've already said I agree with, while ignoring the rule I quoted which says it doesn't work the way we want it to.
The general rule is: "The old feat can't be one you used as a prerequisite for a feat, class feature, archetype, prestige class, or other ability."
The specific rule is: "When retraining multiple character options (class features, feats, classes, etc.) in one continuous period, all of the new selections are made at the end of that period in an order decided by the player. If this period is interrupted for any reason all choices must be made immediately. In this way players can retrain class features and their prerequisites at the same time."
Therefore, you can't retrain a prerequisite unless it's part of a continuous retraining period including the feature you want to keep and the feature that provides access to it. Retraining a feat that is not part of a feat chain to be more useful later is absolutely allowed and I never said it wasn't, but you still haven't addressed the issue of not being allowed to retrain a feat that is part of a feat chain without retraining the parts relying on it in the same continuous session. Apart from the FAQ (which does not say that you are allowed to circumvent the prerequisites clause), do you have any official quotes to support your reading of the rule?
Because, if you use the general rule as you have stated, you cannot ever retrain any feat that has ever been used as a prerequisite for something else, because that feat will forever count as having been used as a prerequisite feat.
Under the interpretation you are arguing against, it is being read as, "The old feat can't be one you are using as a prerequisite for a feat, class feature, archetype, prestige class, or other ability." And, to be honest, that is the only way the rule works.
If, indeed, you use the rule as, "The old feat can't be one you used as a prerequisite for a feat, class feature, archetype, prestige class, or other ability.", then that "used" means that a feat that has ever been used by your PC as a prerequisite CANNOT be retrained. Ever. Even if it is no longer being used as a prerequisite, as it has been USED as a prerequisite.
Example:
Retrain Improved Sunder? Fine, as long as you never had Greater Sunder.
Retrain Power Attack? Nope, sorry, you used it as a prerequisite for Improved Sunder, so it can never be retrained, even though you no longer have Improved Sunder.
Also, to support the "being used" version:
Yes. As long as the new feat is a valid feat for your current character, you can retrain the old feat and replace it with the new feat.
For example, if you are a 3rd-level rogue who took Improved Initiative at 1st level, you can retrain that feat and replace it with Weapon Focus. Even though Weapon Focus has a prerequisite of "base attack bonus +1" (which means you couldn't take it as a 1st-level rogue), it is a valid feat for your current level (3rd), and is therefore a valid choice for retraining.
(Note: Likewise, the fighter class ability to retrain fighter bonus feats does not require you to meet all of the new feat's prerequisites at the level you originally gained the feat.)

![]() |

Without regard to the "can you do this" questions, I'd like to ask "what if"?
What if the character swapped out a pre-requisite ability or feat? There are numerous examples especially with the advent of the ACG where brawlers or similar can take feats they must qualify for when they use their ability to gain it, but can change feats through further use of their ability. If you lose the pre-requisite ability, you lose the feat chains that are based on them. Until he learns Combat expertise, the feats based on them are lost.
This is relevant because this is exactly what I would enforce if I audited a character that swapped out a prereq without replacing it, the other feats based on it are lost for the time being.
He has Combat Expertise? Check. He is good to go.
To the OP, you could always just go Fighter (Lorewarden) at 1 (choose any feat).
At level 2 (Lorewarden) you get Combat Expertise for free, and your Fighter bonus feat for Improved Trip.
Your tactics come online at the same time (level 2) without any retraining expense.

chbgraphicarts |

Without regard to the "can you do this" questions, I'd like to ask "what if"?
What if the character swapped out a pre-requisite ability or feat? There are numerous examples especially with the advent of the ACG where brawlers or similar can take feats they must qualify for when they use their ability to gain it, but can change feats through further use of their ability. If you lose the pre-requisite ability, you lose the feat chains that are based on them. Until he learns Combat expertise, the feats based on them are lost.
This is relevant because this is exactly what I would enforce if I audited a character that swapped out a prereq without replacing it, the other feats based on it are lost for the time being.
He has Combat Expertise? Check. He is good to go.
To the OP, you could always just go Fighter (Lorewarden) at 1 (choose any feat).
At level 2 (Lorewarden) you get Combat Expertise for free, and your Fighter bonus feat for Improved Trip.
Your tactics come online at the same time (level 2) without any retraining expense.
Brawler adds a whole new Can of Worms to the mix, though.
By view of the clarified rules for prerequisites (I can't remember where the exact FAQ/ruling is, but it's official, it's out there, and people quote it a lot, so feel free to find it), since the Brawler has "reliable access" to, say, Combat Expertise because of Martial Flexibility, the Brawler CAN, actually, take every feat that lists Combat Expertise as a prerequisite WITHOUT EVER ACTUALLY TAKING COMBAT EXPERTISE.
Two-Weapon Feint?
Well, the Brawler already gains Two-Weapon Fighting whenever he uses his Brawler's Flurry, he's always treated as having Int 13 for meeting prereqs, and he has reliable access to Combat Expertise by way of Martial Flexibility, so... as long as you have Dex 15, have at it.
You CANNOT USE Two-Weapon Feint, however, unless you have Combat Expertise "turned on" with Martial Flexibility, though, because of the same ruling (abilities and feats don't function unless their necessary requirements are all currently met).
But once CE is activated with Martial Flexibility, then you are good to go, sir!