infinite loop of AoO?


Rules Questions


Hey quick question, if a an enemy uses an aoo to grapple or trip or something and Doesn't have the imporved 'x' feat does that maneuver provoke its OWN AoO? as in 2 ppl could just sit there forever provoking aoos by using their aoos to do more maneuvers?

Im thinking that the loop ends if someone runs out of aoos/round (ie doesnt have combat reflexes) but still even if they both did would it just be a loop for 5 aoos? this doesn't seems right lolol

Sovereign Court

Technically yes. Not that many bother doing manuvers which provoke AOOs. And it'd only be a significant chain if both characters had Combat Reflexes and a high dex score.


o wow! ha, well xD. But that does make sense, why would something try to do a maneuver it isnt particularly good at in the heat of battle when a single mistake could mean death. well thanks for the quick reply!

Liberty's Edge

To answer the question: yesterday in a game, my character provoked an AoO out of an enemy specifically to get them to waste it, so other people could move in on that target without getting the AoO.

(We were on a ship, I'd put my rapier away so I didn't lose it during a storm, and had no other weapon. Provoking the AoO by trying to grapple seemed reasonable. The fact I succeeded on the grapple was, as far as I'm concerned, icing on the cake.)


If an enemy uses an aoo to grapple it uses Grab (Ex) and Grab doesn't provoke. Normal Grapple is a standard action or did I missed something?


DEXRAY wrote:
If an enemy uses an aoo to grapple it uses Grab (Ex) and Grab doesn't provoke. Normal Grapple is a standard action or did I missed something?

You're right that grapples cannot be initiated via AoOs without some special stuff going on since they are a standard action and not an attack action. Trips, however, will certainly do it.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mephron wrote:

To answer the question: yesterday in a game, my character provoked an AoO out of an enemy specifically to get them to waste it, so other people could move in on that target without getting the AoO.

That's how many groups find out the hard way whether or not the opposition has Combat Reflexes.

The Exchange

A string of attacks of opportunity is legal within the rules, but after finding that it often created a certain level of confusion, I implemented a house rule: No attack of opportunity can provoke another attack of opportunity.

This keeps combat from getting bogged down in minutia: it also had the unanticipated, and welcome, side effect of folks using their attacks of opportunity for disarm or trip maneuvers - something which has made front-line fighters more effective at keeping the enemies in place.

Grand Lodge

LazarX wrote:
Mephron wrote:

To answer the question: yesterday in a game, my character provoked an AoO out of an enemy specifically to get them to waste it, so other people could move in on that target without getting the AoO.

That's how many groups find out the hard way whether or not the opposition has Combat Reflexes.

Normally it's me walking past and saying "he doesn't have combat reflexes, right?" With the GM responding, "oh crap (because he'd already forgotten about it), he does...does a 30 hit?"

Liberty's Edge

Swashbucklers don't mind provoking AOOs. Mine recently made a disarm attempt within melee range, provoked, parried, riposted with a disarm attempt and succeeded. Too bad the enemy wasn't wielding two weapons!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / infinite loop of AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.