Rules Question:Adding Extra Dies & Skill Bonuses to Checks


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I think I know the answer to this but would like to verify...

If a card allows you to add and extra die to a check, for example a strength check, do you add your modified bonus to that 2nd die? For example, if I have +2 added to my strength, do I add that modifier to that extra roll? My initial thought was no. But then I found a card that specified "non-adjusted" when talking about an extra die roll.

Also, one of Amiri's Powers states that you can bury a card to add 1D10 to your strength, melee or Constitution check. Is that ANY check utilizing those traits? combat or non combat?

Thanks!


If you are told to add a die, it is just the die, not the modifiers. What you saw was the term "unmodified".

Rulebook v3 p11 wrote:

Assemble Your Dice. The skill you’re using and the cards you played determine the number and type of dice you roll. For example, if you’re attempting a check using your Strength skill, and your Strength die is d10, you’ll roll 1d10. If another player played a blessing to add a die to your check, you’ll roll 2d10.

Attempt the Roll. Roll the dice and add up their value, adding or subtracting any modifiers that apply to the check. If the result is greater than or equal to the difficulty of the check, then you succeed. If the result is lower than the difficulty, then you fail. No matter how many penalties are applied to a die roll, the result cannot be reduced below 0.

Rulebook v3 p22 wrote:
Add Only What You Are Told to Add. If a card adds another die, that’s all it gives you: a die. It doesn’t give you your bonuses again. It doesn’t give you the skill associated with that die. It doesn’t give you the ability to recharge an Arcane spell if you don’t have the Arcane skill. When you play a Longbow to add your Strength die to a Combat check, you don’t get to play a Blessing of Gorum to add 2 dice, because you’re not attempting a Strength check. You just get a die.

When you play a blessing, it adds just the die, not the modifier. The die is the die (d4, d6, etc) the other part is a modifier (the +1, +2 etc).

This is somewhat confusing. If you were Valeros, for example, and you played a weapon that said to roll your Strength/Melee die + 1d8, you would sort of take that to mean "1d10 +3 + 1d8". But it doesn't quite technically mean that. Here is how it works:

Attempting a Check
Determine which die you’re using. Valeros plays a weapon that says to roll his Melee die + 1d8. But at this point, all that matters is he's using is his Melee die.
Determine the difficulty. Let's say it is 10.
Play cards and use powers that affect the check (optional). Valeros plays a Blessing of the Gods to add 1 die to his check.
Assemble your dice. Since he's using his Melee die, Valeros grabs a d10. He also grabs the d8 from playing the weapon. And since the BotG added a die, he grabs a second d10.
Attempt the roll. Valeros rolls all the dice. He gets 9 total from the dice. But this step also tells him to add in any "modifiers" that apply to the check. Since he used his Melee he has a +3 modifier that he adds in now. So the result is 12.
Take damage if you fail a check to defeat a monster. He didn't fail.

So basically your Melee skill consists of a die and a modifier. Skill feats are modifiers too. And some weapons have modifiers (i.e. 1d8+1). And any time you use your Melee die, you get to apply your Melee modifier. But you grab all your dice when you "assemble the dice" and you apply the modifier when you "attempt the roll." That subtle distinction in the steps is why it can tell you to roll your Melee die and at the same time tell you that when you add a die, you only get a die.

In Skull & Shackles, this is much more clear, since a greater distinction is made between skill and dice. Cards like the Longsword now say "Reveal this card to use your Strength skill...". That way when you are told to add a die, you know it is just a die. And when you are told to add your skill, you know it is the die + modifiers.

And yes, Amiri's power is for any check that is Strength, Melee or Constitution.

Good luck on your adventure.


As Mr. Hawkmoon already well explained, when a card tells you to add an extra dice to a check, you would only add the die without its modifiers.

You must have Rise of the Runelords cards, because they cleaned up the wording on cards in Skull & Shackles and the Class Decks. Lets look at the differences in wording for Longbow on both RotR and CD.

Rise of the Runelords Longbow wrote:
For your combat check, reveal this card to roll your Dexterity or Ranged die + your unmodified Strength die.
Class Deck Longbow wrote:
For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Dexterity or Ranged skill + your Strength die.

I bolded what has changed in the wording. On the Class deck version of Longbow, you can now notice the disparity between skill and die. It is much clearer which ones you would add modifiers to and which wouldn't.


Thanks guys. This is what I thought too. That one card that seemed to break convention pointing out the unmodified strength check made me second guess. I got it now


So for that longbow, using Damiel with 2 skill improvements applied to Strength, Strength is d6+2, Dexterity is d8 and Ranged is Dexterity+2
the roll would be d8+2+d6, meaning that the improvement of Strength is of no benefit in this instance?


Yup.

Though imagine playing as Damiel with Shapeshift in AP6. Suddenly longbows are viable. 2d12+2 base!


Dave Riley wrote:
Though imagine playing as Damiel with Shapeshift in AP6. Suddenly longbows are viable. 2d12+2 base!

Can't really do that as I have not encountered Shapeshift yet. :)


Dave Riley wrote:

Yup.

Though imagine playing as Damiel with Shapeshift in AP6. Suddenly longbows are viable. 2d12+2 base!

Shapeshift is ridiculous. Wait until you try Oloch with a 10 card hand.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

How do you get a hand size of 10 for Oloch?

Sovereign Court

There is a spell in either 5 or 6 that gives you a few hand sizes to choose from for a turn.


Andrew L Klein wrote:
There is a spell in either 5 or 6 that gives you a few hand sizes to choose from for a turn.

Shapeshift is an Adventure 6 spell and the power you choose to use actually lasts for the rest of the scenario. It's a pretty beefy spell.

Sovereign Court

Hmm, thought it was a turn. Scenario is awesome... or can go very bad if you go big!!


Well, instead of changing your hand size, you can always use the spell to turn all of your physical skills into d12+2. For most spellcasters that's bound to be a major upgrade all around.


pluvia33 wrote:
Well, instead of changing your hand size, you can always use the spell to turn all of your physical skills into d12+2. For most spellcasters that's bound to be a major upgrade all around.

Our Alahazra Star Gazer got Shapechange! It pretty much killed the adventure (I just say that cause I'm jaleous).

Not only she can explore all locations from a single point where she is not affected by the special effect of nasty locations, but she pretty much roll a d12+2 minimum to acquire any single boon.
Between her and Ranzak, we usually loot the whole scenario in no time, then Alahazra boost our hit points and powers by sending (yes she has Merchant Lord and Swab too, so she can rebuild her hand as she please) to the relevant fighters all the loot she got. And then she just cure and do temporary closing.
It needed an average 1.9 on the roll of 8 d12 to get her once.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
pluvia33 wrote:
Andrew L Klein wrote:
There is a spell in either 5 or 6 that gives you a few hand sizes to choose from for a turn.
Shapeshift is an Adventure 6 spell and the power you choose to use actually lasts for the rest of the scenario. It's a pretty beefy spell.

Ah, Interesting. I don't have my AD6 yet...


Now I REALLY want to try Alahazra.

Alahazra 2x shapeshift for both powers?


To get back to the question, kind of...
There is a new sidebar in the Skull & Shackels rulebook about Skills, Dice, and Modifiers.
Does the Rise of the runelords rulebook PDF say anything about reading the other one instead? I was wondering why some of the more important changes/clarifications haven't been copied to the ROTL rulebook. I mean I could imagaine that some people would still refer to that if they grabbed a copy lately.


See this post from Vic.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Michael Klaus wrote:

To get back to the question, kind of...

There is a new sidebar in the Skull & Shackels rulebook about Skills, Dice, and Modifiers.
Does the Rise of the runelords rulebook PDF say anything about reading the other one instead? I was wondering why some of the more important changes/clarifications haven't been copied to the ROTL rulebook. I mean I could imagaine that some people would still refer to that if they grabbed a copy lately.

It's important to note that that sidebar actually *redefines* terms, increasing the distinction between "skills" and "dice." If you use the definitions from that S&S sidebar with the Rise of the Runelords cards, you'd be getting things wrong.

Specifically, the sidebar says:

If your character card says “Strength d10,” and the “+1” box next to that has been checked, your Strength skill is d10+1, and your Strength die is d10.

If you combine that S&S rule with an RotR weapon, which says something like "reveal this card to roll your Strength or Melee die" instead of the S&S wording "reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill", when you chose Strength, you'd be rolling d10 instead of d10+1.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Rules Question:Adding Extra Dies & Skill Bonuses to Checks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion