Animate Rope: Rules Clarification


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I've been considering making a Transmutation Wizard. He's basically going to be a fat lazy dude that will use anything at his disposal to avoid fighting, moving, touching things, etc. As part of this, I want to be using animate rope to get out of combat. So, my questions relate specifically to this paragraph in the spell description:

"The rope can enwrap only a creature or an object within 1 foot of it—it does not snake outward—so it must be thrown near the intended target. Doing so requires a successful ranged touch attack roll (range increment 10 feet). A typical 1-inch-diameter hemp rope has 2 hit points, AC 10, and requires a DC 23 Strength check to burst it. The rope does not deal damage, but it can be used as a trip line or to cause a single opponent that fails a Reflex saving throw to become entangled. A creature capable of spellcasting that is bound by this spell must make a concentration check with a DC of 15 + the spell's level to cast a spell. An entangled creature can slip free with a DC 20 Escape Artist check." --Core Rulebook

So, from this description, does it mean it would take two standard actions(one to throw the rope and two to cast the spell assuming the rope stays on/near the target), two different rolls(a ranged touch and a reflex save), just to get someone entangled? (If this is the case, its a sad, sad day for the usefulness of this spell.)

Secondly, what is the reflex save DC? Is it based on the player's level 1 spell DC? Would this be modified by the player's spell focus in Transmutation? (I only ask, because the spell itself does not require a save.)

Lastly, (this is based on the first question in a way) if an opponent is in a square adjacent to the player, could the player simply drop a readied rope into that opponent's square, 5-foot adjust back, then cast animate rope to entangle the opponent? Would this work to defeat the need for two standard actions? Would this then be a ranged touch attack or just a reflex save?

P.S. Sorry, for the long first post, but I've been searching the forums and there seems to be many conflicting answers on how the spell operates.


1) It is two standard actions, I'd probably cast first, then throw the rope. You lose a round, but they don't have time to walk away.

2) It would be the normal DC for that spell unless stated otherwise. Spell focus would apply.

3) It is a free action to drop something, but that drops it in your square. To hit a square even 5' from you requires a touch attack. Don't forget hitting a square is ridiculously easy AC5.

Liberty's Edge

dragonhunterq wrote:

1) It is two standard actions, I'd probably cast first, then throw the rope. You lose a round, but they don't have time to walk away.

2) It would be the normal DC for that spell unless stated otherwise. Spell focus would apply.

3) It is a free action to drop something, but that drops it in your square. To hit a square even 5' from you requires a touch attack. Don't forget hitting a square is ridiculously easy AC5.

Well, shoot. I kinda figured that was the case for all of that. I might be able to pull it off once or twice at level 1 with a GM not privy to my idea. But once they figure out my tactic the chances of doing it more often are slim, at least until I can control the rope for more than one round. Thanks for responding though.


Glad I found this. I have a player of a low-level wizard in my group who insists that Animate Rope is his primary (and preferred) attack spell.

He keeps expecting to cast it and have a rope snake out of his pack, wander over to an enemy, and auto-entangle it (with no attack roll, CMB check, OR save, because "it's magic, that's what the spell does").

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Animate Rope: Rules Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions