| Human Fighter |
There is a -4 to grapple checks if you funny don't have at least two hands open. Does that only apply to the initial check, or every check to maintain and stuff?
I grapple with two free hands someone with a heavy shield equipped. Are they suffering this -4 penalty to grapple checks from here on as long as they have less than two hands free?
I'm playing pfs right now :/
| Cuuniyevo |
My reading of the rule is that the -4 is applied to the initiating grapple check if you don't have 2 hands free, but does not apply to any subsequent checks to maintain, reverse, etc. It specifies that this applies to humanoid creatures, so it's entirely reasonable to say that another type of creature could avoid that restriction. There are multiple monster abilities which can initiate a grapple, such as with a bite or tentacle attack, but those abilities specify that they work that way. If something doesn't have hands, tentacles, or a mouth, and no specific ability to grant grappling, I'm not actually seeing a rule that says they are incapable of it, but that certainly seems to be the intent.
| Scott Wilhelm |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
I was just reviewing the rules, and I'm pretty sure that you have to have 2 free hands to avoid the -4 penalty for every grapple check, not just the check to Initiate the Grapple.
Cuuniyevo's point about some creatures that don't even have hands can Grapple without a -4 penalty raises an interesting question. Let's say I am carrying a Shield in 1 hand and my other hand is empty. But I also have a couple of levels in Alchemist, and I have a Tentacle. Does the Tentacle count as a "hand?" It seems obvious that it should, it works like a hand in most ways, and just having a Tentacle gives you a +4 on Grapple checks. But it would be nice for someone official to out and out say it.
RedDogMT
|
If I have a creature grappled, can it claw claw bite me as part of is full attack with light or one handed full attack? Can it just be claw bite?
The grappled condition states the following:
...grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform.Your grappled creature could only perform a claw bite attack since performing a bite attack does not require a hand/claw and performing a single hand/claw attack can be done without an additional hand/claw. However, performing both hand/claw attacks requires the use of both hands/claws.
RedDogMT
|
Also, the -4 penalty to grapple checks for using less than two hands applies to the initial grapple as well as any subsequent checks since they are all considered to be grapple checks.
The books states the following:
If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds.
RedDogMT
|
I grapple with two free hands someone with a heavy shield equipped. Are they suffering this -4 penalty to grapple checks from here on as long as they have less than two hands free?
That is a very interesting point that I had not considered. If your opponent is armed with a weapon and or shield, he is at a disadvantage when trying to break or reverse the grapple.
Thanks for pointing that out. :)
| Gullyble Dwarf - Lvl 7 DM |
Additionally, you can not full attack. You make a grapple check to allow you to make a single attack with a small weapon, UAS, or Natural Attack. It's clearly stated under the Grapple rules what you can do. If you have the Core just open it and look them up. Someone should have the Core there.
RedDogMT
|
Additionally, you can not full attack. You make a grapple check to allow you to make a single attack with a small weapon, UAS, or Natural Attack. It's clearly stated under the Grapple rules what you can do. If you have the Core just open it and look them up. Someone should have the Core there.
Sorry, but that is incorrect. Here is what the book says:
If You Are Grappled: If you are grappled, you can attempt to break the grapple as a standard action by making a combat maneuver check (DC equal to your opponent's CMD; this does not provoke an attack of opportunity) or Escape Artist check (with a DC equal to your opponent's CMD). If you succeed, you break the grapple and can act normally. Alternatively, if you succeed, you can become the grappler, grappling the other creature (meaning that the other creature cannot freely release the grapple without making a combat maneuver check, while you can). Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn't require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you. See the grappled condition for additional details. If you are pinned, your actions are very limited. See the pinned condition in Conditions for additional details.You do not need to make a grapple check to earn yourself the chance to make attacks. It is simply a choice to grapple or not. Also, you can full attack when grappled, but in the case of the claw/claw/bite attacks, the full attack must be limited to claw/bite.
| Gullyble Dwarf - Lvl 7 DM |
Is he the grappler or the grappled? My reading is he was the grappler.
For damage the grappler can only make another grappling check as a standard to maintain and if successful inflict damage equal to an UAS, NA, or attack with armor spikes or a light weapon in hand.
If he doesn't maintain he has to let go (Free Action) and can do as he pleases with his actions.
RedDogMT
|
All natural attacks are light weapons right? Full attack option seems to be saying choose one light or one handed melee weapon, and you may full attack with it. Emphasis on "a", meaning choose one attack.
I do believe that natural weapons are considered to be light in most situations, but I was unable to find the source of this in the rules.
As far as using "an/an" attack, the rules do not state this. It states that grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. The phrase "two hands" is not referring to primary/secondary hands. It is referring to physical hands (or claws in your case). In the link that Nefreet provided, Jason Bulmahn states that since flurry does not require two hands to perform, a monk could flurry. This would be because a monk is able to use elbows, feet, knees and head to attack.
Also, do I even need hands to grapple? It says if I don't have at least two, I suffer the penalty. Doesn't that imply I don't even need hands and just take the penalty?
You could interpret it that way, but I am pretty sure your GM would want to know how you are pulling off a grapple without using any hands. In my game, your piercing stare just would not be enough to pull it off. :)
Pathfinder does not spell out every contingency. In many cases, the devs leave it to us players to use our common sense. They likely assume the attacker is using hands to grapple as that is generally what people think of when you use the word 'grapple'.