
Barachiel Shina |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
As the title says.
What happened last night was the party Wizard was being targeted by Power Word Stun spell-like ability by a glabrezu demon. As an immediate action he casted Celerity, which grants him an immediate Standard Action, which he then used to cast Dimension Door.
So, my question is, since the glabrezu lost his target for Power Word Stun, is it now wasted or can he redirect to another target?

Gauss |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Simple answer: Yes, they can.
Complicated answer: in the specific situation you presented it depends on whether or not the immediate action occurred at the start of the spell or at the end.
All spell variables (including targeting) are not decided until the spell is completed. Because of that the Glabrezu can redirect.
However, if the wizard waits until the Glabrezu completes the spell and targets the wizard then the wizard is still going to suffer being stunned but can dimension door beforehand.
Note: Immediate actions are very much left to interpretation. Expect table variance.

![]() |

This is something that I've been curious about myself.
Let's use Emergency Force Sphere as an example with someone shooting a Scorching Ray at you.
If they shoot the Scorching Ray at you, are you able to take an immediate action to cast the EMS before the ray(s) hit(s) you but after a missile has specifically been shot at you?

Gauss |

DinosaursOnIce, as I stated, it is very much left to interpretation.
If you interpret it as 'You start casting Scorching Ray, I use immediate action' then you are on solid ground that no GM should be able to argue with.
However, if you interpret it as 'I wait to see who is targeted THEN I use immediate action' expect table variance. It will depend on how the GM views the resolution.
Frankly, I see it more via player intent. Do they want to see who is going to suffer the consequences (by suffering the consequences) or do they want to pre-empt the spell's effects.

j b 200 |

my understanding is that an immediate action works similar to an "interuption" type card from Magic the Gathering (haven't played in a long time, might not exist any more, but definitely a thing in the late 90s). Opponent begins to act, and you get you slip in in front of him, getting your action off a hair before he does, so it could prevent the action from happening.

Ravingdork |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

"All spell variables (including targeting) are not decided until the spell is completed. Because of that the Glabrezu can redirect."
Do you have support for this? Not questioning it, just want to show it to others. Just tell me CRB/FAQ if you like, I don't need you to cut/paste it.
Thanks.
Core Rulebook, Magic Chapter, under Casting Time, last sentence: You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect.
If the wizard's been targeted, then the spell has come into effect. If the spell hasn't come into effect, then the target hasn't been decided yet.
There is no point in time at which the final decision of the target has been made but the spell has not come into effect.
EDIT: Ninja'd.

![]() |

I have a quick question.
I was playing in eyes of the ten last year. One of our opponents was casting a spell. After a successful spell craft roll to identify the spell as a fire ball, One of the other casters in the group said I cast Emergency Force Shield. The GM ruled that the emergency force shield wouldn't form in time to protect the party from a fire ball.
What do you all think?
Thank you

![]() |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |
I have a quick question.
I was playing in eyes of the ten last year. One of our opponents was casting a spell. After a successful spell craft roll to identify the spell as a fire ball, One of the other casters in the group said I cast Emergency Force Shield. The GM ruled that the emergency force shield wouldn't form in time to protect the party from a fire ball.
What do you all think?
Thank you
I think your GM made a poor ruling.

Gauss |

Barachiel Shina, did the wizard activate the immediate action before, or after the spell was completed?
If after then the wizard would be stunned after casting D-Door.
If before then the glabrezu could have selected another target.
ElyasRavenwood, your GM had no basis in the rules to rule that way.
Opponent casts fireball.
Spellcraft check is made to identify Fireball.
Before Fireball is completed PC uses immediate action to cast Emergency Force Sphere.
Everyone in the force sphere is now protected against the Fireball.
The opponent completes the fireball and may drop it anywhere he wants (except inside the Force Sphere).

![]() |

I have a quick question.
I was playing in eyes of the ten last year. One of our opponents was casting a spell. After a successful spell craft roll to identify the spell as a fire ball, One of the other casters in the group said I cast Emergency Force Shield. The GM ruled that the emergency force shield wouldn't form in time to protect the party from a fire ball.
What do you all think?
Thank you
I think your GM either doesn't know what an immediate action is (unlikely) or doesn't like emergency force sphere (very likely).

Ravingdork |

ElyasRavenwood wrote:I think your GM made a poor ruling.I have a quick question.
I was playing in eyes of the ten last year. One of our opponents was casting a spell. After a successful spell craft roll to identify the spell as a fire ball, One of the other casters in the group said I cast Emergency Force Shield. The GM ruled that the emergency force shield wouldn't form in time to protect the party from a fire ball.
What do you all think?
Thank you
Agreed.

Barachiel Shina |
Since the spell/spell-like ability can have a new target, that's been solved.
What about melee/ranged attack rolls?
Say the Wizard was getting attacked in melee. Now, he's a Conjurer so he has Abrupt Jaunt as an immediate action. (Teleport 10 ft.) When a creature attacks him and he abrupt jaunts out of its reach, is the attack wasted or can the attack be redirected to another target within range?

![]() |

Since the spell/spell-like ability can have a new target, that's been solved.
What about melee/ranged attack rolls?
Say the Wizard was getting attacked in melee. Now, he's a Conjurer so he has Abrupt Jaunt as an immediate action. (Teleport 10 ft.) When a creature attacks him and he abrupt jaunts out of its reach, is the attack wasted or can the attack be redirected to another target within range?
The attack is wasted. Attacks, unlike spells, are targeted at the beginning of the action. Thus the interruption occurs after targeting is complete and if the attack is neutralized it cannot be retargeted.
If the creature is making a full attack and has further attacks remaining, he can redirect the additional attacks towards any targets in range (and may make a 5ft step to approach such targets if the creature hasn't already done so).

wraithstrike |

For attacks I would say that if the player makes the decision as soon as the character would realize an attack is coming it would work. If he waits until the die are rolled then no. I dont know if RAW answers it either way but with immediate actions being able to be taken at anytime it makes sense so long as the results are not seen yet.

![]() |
5 people marked this as a favorite. |

Weirdo wrote:Attacks, unlike spells, are targeted at the beginning of the action.Do we actually know that for certain? I couldn't find it. Where should I be looking?
It's not explicit. I'm working off effects such as Snake Style and the second wording of Crane Wing.
While using the Snake Style feat, when an opponent targets you with a melee or ranged attack, you can spend an immediate action to make a Sense Motive check. You can use the result as your AC or touch AC against that attack.
Once per round, when fighting defensively with at least one hand free, you can designate one melee attack being made against you before the roll is made. You receive a +4 dodge bonus to AC against that attack.
Both of these feats interrupt an attack after the targeting phase but before the hit phase. Combat maneuvers also provoke AoO from the target of the maneuver prior to determining whether they hit. I can also find effects that interrupt an attack after a hit but before resolution (for example, Divine Interference forces a reroll on a hit) but nothing that definitely interrupts an attack before targeting.
Archon Style has a slightly different warning that suggests targeting and attacking might not be synonymous...
You must declare that you are using this feat after your opponent has declared the target of its melee attack but before it makes its attack roll.
...that is, it says "declare the target of its melee attack" rather than "declare its attack." However, it's not conclusive and this forum discussion of Snake Style uses the latter which suggests that in typical play the two are used interchangeably. Barring an example of something interrupting an attack between the "declare attack" and "declare target" phase or a clear ruling that this is possible I am inclined to say it can't be done.
And in any case, if it's possible to interrupt an attack between "declare target" and "hit," why would you choose to interrupt it earlier when your enemy would be capable of redirecting their attack? Spells are redirectable only because
There is no point in time at which the final decision of the target has been made but the spell has not come into effect.
and that's clearly not the case with attacks.

Just a Guess |

Since the spell/spell-like ability can have a new target, that's been solved.
What about melee/ranged attack rolls?
Say the Wizard was getting attacked in melee. Now, he's a Conjurer so he has Abrupt Jaunt as an immediate action. (Teleport 10 ft.) When a creature attacks him and he abrupt jaunts out of its reach, is the attack wasted or can the attack be redirected to another target within range?
As weirdo said the attack is wasted. That is supported by the swashbuckler's dodging panache deed explicitly stating that in this case the attack is not negated. Which is, by the way a great deed for evading full attacks. Use this deed on the first attack (which will still be able to hit) but the iteratives do not because now you're out of reach.

Raziel Hethune |

I had a player with a monk specifically designed to take advantage of this. He was a Master of Many Styles Monk with the Panther and Snake style trees and Improved/Greater Sunder. He would use Panther Parry to break enemies weapons before the had a chance to hit him (panther parry attacks hit BEFORE the attack of opportunity does) and Snake Style to cause enemies to miss, followed by Snake Fang to break their weapon. Since he was a lv12 monk and had Monk's Robes and Stonefist Gloves, this meant he was doing 3d8 base damage for Unarmed Strikes, non-magical weapons break pretty easy at that point.

![]() |

Jiggy wrote:Weirdo wrote:Attacks, unlike spells, are targeted at the beginning of the action.Do we actually know that for certain? I couldn't find it. Where should I be looking?It's not explicit. I'm working off effects such as Snake Style and the second wording of Crane Wing.
Snake Style wrote:While using the Snake Style feat, when an opponent targets you with a melee or ranged attack, you can spend an immediate action to make a Sense Motive check. You can use the result as your AC or touch AC against that attack.Crane Wing (second wording) wrote:Once per round, when fighting defensively with at least one hand free, you can designate one melee attack being made against you before the roll is made. You receive a +4 dodge bonus to AC against that attack.Both of these feats interrupt an attack after the targeting phase but before the hit phase. Combat maneuvers also provoke AoO from the target of the maneuver prior to determining whether they hit. I can also find effects that interrupt an attack after a hit but before resolution (for example, Divine Interference forces a reroll on a hit) but nothing that definitely interrupts an attack before targeting.
Archon Style has a slightly different warning that suggests targeting and attacking might not be synonymous...
Archon Style wrote:You must declare that you are using this feat after your opponent has declared the target of its melee attack but before it makes its attack roll....that is, it says "declare the target of its melee attack" rather than "declare its attack." However, it's not conclusive and this forum discussion of Snake Style uses the latter which suggests that in typical play...
Wow, you really did your homework there. Looks pretty compelling to me. :)

ConfusedPeon |
Jiggy wrote:It's not explicit. I'm working off effects such as Snake Style and the second wording of Crane Wing.Weirdo wrote:Attacks, unlike spells, are targeted at the beginning of the action.Do we actually know that for certain? I couldn't find it. Where should I be looking?
Hmm, interesting. I wonder, does this also imply that spells that require an attack roll can be interrupted by an immediate action after the target is decided?

![]() |

I don't think you can voluntarily lower your caster level for a spell.
You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect.
"Effect" and "version" probably refer to things like whether you are blinding or deafening someone with Blindness/Deafness, what you're summoning with a Summon spell, which curse you're using for Bestow Curse, which energy type Resist Energy protects from.
Weirdo wrote:Hmm, interesting. I wonder, does this also imply that spells that require an attack roll can be interrupted by an immediate action after the target is decided?Jiggy wrote:It's not explicit. I'm working off effects such as Snake Style and the second wording of Crane Wing.Weirdo wrote:Attacks, unlike spells, are targeted at the beginning of the action.Do we actually know that for certain? I couldn't find it. Where should I be looking?
I think so. The attack roll should still come after the target is selected which means there's space to interrupt between targeting and attack roll, just like a non-magic attack.
@Jiggy, thanks! Means a lot coming from you.

wraithstrike |

I don't think you can voluntarily lower your caster level for a spell.
Yes you can. That is how you can create a level 1 scroll as a level 12 caster to keep the cost down.
The rules also say that you only have to use a high enough caster level for the spell to be cast.
You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

wraithstrike |

Related question
If someone grapples you, and you cast Liberating Command on yourself as an immediate action, do you need to make the concentration check for being grappled?
Yes you do. There is no rule that gives immediate or swift actions an way to bypass concentration checks while being grappled.
PS: There might be some feat or mythic feat, but if so I don't know about it.

![]() |

You can't effectively cast Liberating Command on yourself. Casting the spell is an immediate action, and then the Escape Artist check must also be made as an immediate action but after casting you do not have an immediate action to burn.
If you somehow had an extra immediate action, then yes you'd have to be grappled and make the concentration check for such because if you cast before you were grappled you would also make the Escape Artist check before being grappled - and then you would become grappled.
Weirdo wrote:I don't think you can voluntarily lower your caster level for a spell.
Yes you can. That is how you can create a level 1 scroll as a level 12 caster to keep the cost down.
The rules also say that you only have to use a high enough caster level for the spell to be cast.
PRD wrote:You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.
I thought that was only for item creation - guess it works for casting a spell normally as well.
In that case, yes, it should be one of the pertinent variables chosen when the spell goes into effect.

RumpinRufus |

You can't effectively cast Liberating Command on yourself. Casting the spell is an immediate action, and then the Escape Artist check must also be made as an immediate action but after casting you do not have an immediate action to burn.
Oh wow, I never noticed that. That really takes the spell down a notch, although it is still a pretty good one.