Do people track encumbrance in PFS?


Pathfinder Society

151 to 168 of 168 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Liberty's Edge 5/5

Starfinder Superscriber

As a player, I always track it for my characters and try to do it right. I really wish we'd get a ruling that one suit of clothing doesn't count towards encumbrance, because it makes things harder. (It's also something that, last I heard, Hero Labs does wrong-- they don't count the first suit of clothing towards encumbrance, but by the rules they should.)

As a GM, I almost never check. However, when somebody came to the table with a Strength 5 halfling swashbuckler, I looked very closely at the item list. No way is somebody going to get the points for dumping strength like that without having to pay the penalty....

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Arizona—Phoenix

I just add a second set of clothing for free to counter the lack of weight on the free outfit.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Mike Lindner wrote:
Jessex wrote:
Not to dare write something nice about HeroLab but this is something it does well. I never have to worry about tracking my characters encumbrance the program handles it quite well automatically.

There are some limitations to be aware of though.

HeroLab gets the weight wrong on many small sized items. It either halves the weight twice or applies the half weight when it shouldn't.

HeroLab also does not count the weight of the free outfit PCs get at first level.

You also need to remember to turn coin encumbrance off.


Kalahen wrote:

Has anyone noticed how many of the encumbrance boosting options aren't legal in Core? No masterwork backpacks, ant haul, muleback cords... Makes me wish handy haversacks were always available (or fame->price was more fine-grained)

I have a core Ranger with 14 strength. 58 lbs for light disappears after armor, a couple weapons and a small number of handy items (I have no room for silk rope). The good news is that I have several cheap items I can dump if I ever need to carry anything beyond my kit.

I track encumbrance for myself very carefully because I consider movement speed to be one of the most important combat abilities for all characters. Being in the right/wrong square can make a huge difference. Unfortunately this conflicts with my desire to carry some potentially useful/roleplay items on many of my characters at least until I can afford that haversack.

Wait, masterwork backpacks aren't PFS legal?

I need to make some serious adjustments to my characters.

5/5 5/55/55/5

They're PFS legal but not CORE campaign legal.

Silver Crusade 3/5

Vutava wrote:
Kalahen wrote:

Has anyone noticed how many of the encumbrance boosting options aren't legal in Core? No masterwork backpacks, ant haul, muleback cords... Makes me wish handy haversacks were always available (or fame->price was more fine-grained)

...

Wait, masterwork backpacks aren't PFS legal?

I need to make some serious adjustments to my characters.

Only for the CORE campaign. In the regular campaign, they are legal and always available (if you have an appropriate rules source).

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Vutava wrote:
Kalahen wrote:

Has anyone noticed how many of the encumbrance boosting options aren't legal in Core? No masterwork backpacks, ant haul, muleback cords... Makes me wish handy haversacks were always available (or fame->price was more fine-grained)

I have a core Ranger with 14 strength. 58 lbs for light disappears after armor, a couple weapons and a small number of handy items (I have no room for silk rope). The good news is that I have several cheap items I can dump if I ever need to carry anything beyond my kit.

I track encumbrance for myself very carefully because I consider movement speed to be one of the most important combat abilities for all characters. Being in the right/wrong square can make a huge difference. Unfortunately this conflicts with my desire to carry some potentially useful/roleplay items on many of my characters at least until I can afford that haversack.

Wait, masterwork backpacks aren't PFS legal?

I need to make some serious adjustments to my characters.

Been pushing the limit on encumbrance?

Silver Crusade 3/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

All of my characters push the limit on their emcumbrance.


The Fox wrote:
Vutava wrote:


Wait, masterwork backpacks aren't PFS legal?
I need to make some serious adjustments to my characters.

Only for the CORE campaign. In the regular campaign, they are legal and always available (if you have an appropriate rules source).

Oh thank Sarenrae.

Sovereign Court 4/5

My investigator goes for the whole James Bond crossed with McGuiver vibe, so on every scenario I'm starting out by seeing if this looks like a multi-day trek or a single day run of a few hours so I know how many ant haul extracts to prepare. I tend not to do masterwork backpacks since in my experience the characters who need the extra carrying capacity just lose it again in the extra weight of the backpack.

4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

okay - I'm so surprised...

Clearly you track encumbrance by following the trail of pound signs...

Grand Lodge 5/5 ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Tracking encumbrance had a major influence on my very first PFS character - Theodum - a Str 7 wizard

In the early level I was permanently 'overloaded'. This was by design. I carried everything really important with me to stay just at low encumbrance - everything else would go in a sack. I even had in addition to my miniature a miniature sack that I handed to a strong fighter or dwarf to carry for me.

A lot of roleplay resulted from this.

The problem eased when midlevel I finally was able to buy a handy haversack.

A little bit later I acquired a porter. This didn't work out and he actually died in one of the scenarios where I placed him in 'the wrong place at the wrong time'.

I branched out for a level in chronicler partly because of the carrying benefits.

An RP anthaul that I used from my bonded item was partly responsible for his only death - a better spell when needed might have turned it.

So yes - I had lots of fun (and major developments in my characters live) because I was following encumbrance.

I have to admit I look less religiously at most of my other characters whom I assume that they just have enough strength not to be overloaded.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I edited my ITS sheet to have 3 boxes next to each item: "bought", "sold", and "weight". If the item's in a Handy Haversack I put an "H" next to the box.

In the margins of each side of the ITS I calculate the weight carried for that side, and then total it on the front. I add a note saying "As of Chronicle #X".

It doesn't take that much time to add up, but it's more effort than I typically see from my fellow PFSers. Nobody questions whether a character of mine is overencumbered, tho!

4/5 *

Theodum wrote:
A little bit later I acquired a porter. This didn't work out and he actually died in one of the scenarios where I placed him in 'the wrong place at the wrong time'.

Porters can't die. At least, not if they're purchased through a vanity. I guess you could go and hire a guy to carry your stuff, and they could die.


I've got a STR 7 Arcanist. Tracking encumbrance is important to me. I've had to rework certain magic items and not use others because the cumulative encumbrance would put me in the "medium" category.

Also, its come into play when my character has had to try and help lift up someone or carry them while flying. Urg! no.. *huff huff* palaa-dinn... why... URG! do you need... ada-man... *urg* -tine.... plate?

In the end, too much meat in that shield. lol.

Liberty's Edge 2/5

As a GM, I check every STR-dumped character and a fair amount of the middling STR-ones.

Grand Lodge 5/5 ****

2 people marked this as a favorite.
GM Lamplighter wrote:
Theodum wrote:
A little bit later I acquired a porter. This didn't work out and he actually died in one of the scenarios where I placed him in 'the wrong place at the wrong time'.
Porters can't die. At least, not if they're purchased through a vanity. I guess you could go and hire a guy to carry your stuff, and they could die.

I expected someone adding this response. Technically yes - a vanity can't die. RP wise it didn't made any sense to let him survive apart of a Deus ex machina invention by the GM where I left him - so as a player I allowed the GM to 'kill him off'

4/5 *

I hoped for this response! You, sir, are all right in my books. :)

151 to 168 of 168 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Do people track encumbrance in PFS? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society
Paizo Blog: Quests are Back!