"Consume Magic Items" and Staves


Rules Questions


Hi Folks!

I have a rules question and wanted to ask for advice.

First the rules question:

Quote:
Consume Magic Items (Su): The arcanist can consume the power of potions, scrolls, staves, and wands, using them to fill her arcane reservoir. Using this ability is a move action that provokes an attack of opportunity. When using this exploit, the arcanist adds a number of points to her arcane reservoir equal to 1/2 the level of the spell contained in the item (o-level and 1st-level spells do not recharge the arcanist's arcane reservoir). If used on a potion or scroll, the item is destroyed. If used on a wand, the wand loses 5 charges; if it has fewer than 5 charges, the wand is destroyed and the arcanist gains no benefit. If used on a staff, it loses 1 charge and the arcanist gains a number of points to his arcane reservoir equal to the level of the highest-level spell the staff can cast using only 1 charge; if the staff has no spells that require only 1 charge, the arcanist cannot consume that staff 's magic. No more than 1 charge can be drawn from a staff each day in this way. Points gained in excess of the arcanist's reservoir's maximum are lost. This exploit has no effect on magic armor, weapons, rings, rods, wondrous items, or other magic items besides those noted above.

Does it really mean, that staves are not subject to the "you get points equal to 1/2 of the spell level"? So, a Staff of Minor Arcana (Shield 1 Charge) can supply Arcane points?

And secondly, if a have days with combat and days without, is this really such a bad deal?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Remember that arcane reservoir points reset at the start of every day. At most you are getting a single point out of the staff per day, which really isn't a lot all up.

For a comparison, a scroll is worth 150 GP per arcane point. Considering the staff costs 8000 GP, You would have to use your staff 54 times to outcost a bunch of scrolls. If you pick up scribe scroll, suddenly you need to use that staff 108 times to outcost the scrolls. On top of that, the scrolls can be used as many times per day as you need them.

Basically, it's not worth it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oh, I will have every crafting feat soon. Mythic game.

But yeah, thats a good consideration. I'm just wired to think that using consumables is bad. I always finished CRPGs with TONS of potions and scrolls.
I think I will go with the staff because I like the feeling and don't want to start sky-high with the character (creating a new one on level 7). But I have also planned to buy scrolls in bulk and later make them in bulk.


Me too, Jeremias. Me too.


Jeremias wrote:

Oh, I will have every crafting feat soon. Mythic game.

But yeah, thats a good consideration. I'm just wired to think that using consumables is bad. I always finished CRPGs with TONS of potions and scrolls.
I think I will go with the staff because I like the feeling and don't want to start sky-high with the character (creating a new one on level 7). But I have also planned to buy scrolls in bulk and later make them in bulk.

Can you bypass the level restrictions for craft staff with mythic feats? Otherwise your level 7 character cannot craft a staff.

Even if you have both crafting feats, that's 54 times you have to use the staff before you break even - and remember the staff can only be used 1/day. I highly doubt you are going to have 54 adventuring days after 11th level, let alone 54 where you use up all of your reservoir. Although I guess I could be wrong?

Still, it's your choice.


Mythic crafting just allows you to use any craft feat.

But thats alright. I don't plan on crafting staves for something else.

I just calculated a little more: Scrolls get much more cost-effective if you have time for the consuming... At least 2nd-Level-Scrolls. :)

Hm, my rules question stands unanswered? Is it really so easy and I am right?


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Blakmane wrote:

Even if you have both crafting feats, that's 54 times you have to use the staff before you break even - and remember the staff can only be used 1/day. I highly doubt you are going to have 54 adventuring days after 11th level, let alone 54 where you use up all of your reservoir. Although I guess I could be wrong?

Still, it's your choice.

You do know you can only make one magic item each day, right? You can't use 54 scrolls in a day unless you spent 54 days to make those scrolls first. The staff, in contrast, can be created in half the time as those same number of scrolls. That makes the staff look a little less crappy in comparison

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Consume Magic Items" and Staves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.