Dismissing a spell


Rules Questions


PRD says wrote:


(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

I have a few questions about this :

1 - Who is allowed to dismiss the spell ?
1a - Only the caster
1b - The target
1c - Both
2 - You must be within spell range. Doest it mean that you have to touch all targets in order to dismiss a spell with range of "touch" ?
3 - Do you need to have line of effect / line of sight to dismiss spells with a range ?
4 - Wind Walk (maybe other spells) has (D) in duration meaning it's dismissable. As you can't talk while you are in gaseous form, does it mean you can't dismiss it and have to return to solid form before (which lower greatly the use of dismissing the spell, because one of its drawbacks is the 5-round delay to change form) ?

Thanks for your answers.

Dark Archive

1) The caster only.
2) Yes.
3) Technically no, but only because it doesn't say so. Most GM's will require this anyway as it is implied by the "within range" part that line of sight/effect is required.
4) Gaseous form does not say you can't talk, it says you can't cast spells with verbal components. Since you are not casting a spell, you are just dismissing one, you still can.


Thanks for the answers. However I still need precisions with yours.
1) It seems logic, but RAW it's not so clear. Any quote about this ? For me, and for some of my players, the target having control of the duration over a spell with (D) seems also very logical - much more if the target is also a spell caster.
2) I've read threads about this point that contradict this answer. While I agree with you, I'd like to know how other members treat this question.
3)So we still are in the "grey area" of DM rulings.
4) You're right, my wording was not correct. But as the wording of dismissal says "must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component" and the gaseous form spell says "It can't attack or cast spells with verbal, somatic, material, or focus components while in gaseous form", I'm not sure that a character in gseous form could be allowed to dismiss the spell.


1. There are non-harmless spells that are also dismissible. Would it make sense for the target to be able to just dismiss them?

2. If the range is "touch", how would one be in range without touching?

4. Probably an oversight. I doubt it was intended that gaseous form could not be dismissed without Silent Spell.


Also note 'usually', which is not the same as 'always'.

Silver Crusade

Zagyg wrote:
PRD says wrote:


(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

I have a few questions about this :

1 - Who is allowed to dismiss the spell ?
1a - Only the caster
1b - The target
1c - Both

Taking that quote out of context, this does seem a valid question. However, the whole section of the text is about the casting of spells, and applies to the caster. 1a is the correct answer here.

I am uncertain of the other answers, but I would think you do need to touch targets to dismiss a touch range spell, and you can do it on one or some of the targets. I think you do need to have line of effect and line of sight, again, I am uncertain.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dismissing a spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions