
daimaru |
Does a 5 foot step count as a move action? If it does, and you have quick draw, I think you can do this.
When he closes with you, this provokes an AoO. Release your reach weapon with one hand as a free action, draw your close range weapon as a free action and hit him.
He gets a shot at you.
Take a 5 foot step away, combining the sheathing of your close weapon with the move action, put your free hand back on the reach weapon as a free action and hit him again.
Keep repeating as long as he moves up, getting two shots for every one of his. So long as you can keep backing.
Unless he can use a 5 foot step to close with you so as to not provoke? Does anyone know if this works?

![]() |

Keep repeating as long as he moves up, getting two shots for every one of his. So long as you can keep backing.
Unless he can use a 5 foot step to close with you so as to not provoke? Does anyone know if this works?
If you take Pushing Assault you can move your enemy backwards 5ft (after you step back to create a 5ft gap), so they have to take more than a 5ft step to close and will provoke.

dragonhunterq |

so would it be viable to have a reach weapon and reach evo? so thats a 5-15ft range right?
so a combat reflexes reach synthesis summoner build isnt completely out of the question?
Not quite. If you are wielding the weapon in the same limbs as your reach evolution you only threaten at 10'-15'. To threaten at 5' at the same time you need an additional natural attack without reach.

![]() |

Here's an example of reach tactics, which includes a comparison of the least effective and the most effective ways to use a reach weapon.

![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |

so would it be viable to have a reach weapon and reach evo? so thats a 5-15ft range right?
so a combat reflexes reach synthesis summoner build isnt completely out of the question?
Only if you jump through very specific hoops.
Aside from the whip, reach weapons are held in two hands. The reach evolution applies not to one attack form, but one attack: if you take reach (claw) you only gain reach with one claw. Assuming that the reach on a natural attack is transferred to any manufactured weapon held in the associated arm, and that you need natural reach with both arms to apply that reach to a two-handed weapon, you would need to take the slam evolution (which uses both arms) and then reach (slam). In order to still threaten at 5ft, you'd probably want a bite evolution as well. Note that you can't take the reach evolution twice so 2 x reach(claw) doesn't work.
Alternatively you can use a whip (which threatens at 5ft itself, assuming you have Improved Whip Mastery). Not a great option for a summoner, though.