Minimum Caster Level for spell effects


Rules Questions


I dimly recall a ruling/FAQ entry that suggested you could cast/create a magic item with a caster level below the minimum for a spell. Am I remembering correctly?

For example, a fireball spell is 3ed level, and can be cast by a 5th level wizard, at a caster level of 5. Similarly he can prepare a scroll of Fireball at caster level 5. However, if the wizard so chose he could use a caster level 2 (2d6 dmg, range 480 ft. vs 5d6 dmg and range 600 ft) because he wanted not to kill all the people exposed to the blast or because he wanted to make the scroll cheaper (2*3*25 = 150 gp < 5*3*25 =375 gp )

This is particularly relevant recently due to the Consume Magic Item exploit of the Arcanist...


You can make a magic item at a less caster level then show. Pearl of power, caster level 9 all you need though is CL 1 for the spell, so you could make it lower. For things that use a spell it needs to be high enough to cast the spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Minimum Caster Level for spell effects All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.