Magic Item Creation and availability


Rules Questions


I'm running into an issue with the GM.

He states that since it takes 1 day/per 1,000gp to make an item that the item isn't completed and useable till the end of the day or 24 hours.

Here is a quote from him

"Only one magic item can be worked on or created per day. The magic item is not completed until at least 24 hours have passed regardless of whether it takes 2 hours or 8 hours to make. Magic items that take more than a day are not completed until the end of that 24 hour block. Each magic item requires at least one day to complete, but only 8 hours of actual dedication for most magic items. One day is the minimum to complete a magic item."

Now he is aware of the this text in the book.

Creating an item requires 8 hours of work per 1,000 gp in the item's base price (or fraction thereof), with a minimum of at least 8 hours.

But even with that he is sticking to his guns of it taking 1 day to complete.

This is last stand on the matter.

"I challenge you to find where it states the item is completed and ready for use after the dedication time has elasped. The dedication time is usually 8 hours per day for most magic items."


So what is your question? Are you wanting to "Use" your item the same day you make it? You are not allowed to "adventure" on that same day, since the 8-hours of fabrication cut into your 8-hours of adventuring.


Being the DM, it's his call to make, but I would also question how a magic item wouldn't be ready before the end of the day once you've completed it unless it has a daily use attached to it.

I also have to ask why it's important that it be done in the middle of the day. Generally things like this occur in safe environs so there's no real rush to have the item function that day.


As the GM he can require a cool down period before an item is usable if he sees fit. (It's not an un-interesting concept.)

The rules state it takes 8 hours of crafting per 1000 base price, and that no more than 8 hours per day can be used for crafting. Therefore the shorthand 1 day/1000 gp is used. Because for the purpose of crafting items: 8 hours crafting = 1 day crafting.

It also states a minimum of 8 hours (with some exceptions), which he has changed to a minimum of 24 hours (with no exceptions).

To me, his ruling on this is a houserule.

Source: CRB, p. 548-549 "Magic item creation"


Brf wrote:
So what is your question? Are you wanting to "Use" your item the same day you make it? You are not allowed to "adventure" on that same day, since the 8-hours of fabrication cut into your 8-hours of adventuring.

Yes! I want to use the scroll of magic missle that it took me 2 hours to make while adventuring. Now I know that it takes longer to make an item if you are adventuring that's fine. I just want to be able to use it and not wait 1 day to use a scroll that has mechanics in the book for this purpose.

DonDuckie wrote:
It also states a minimum of 8 hours (with some exceptions), which he has changed to a minimum of 24 hours (with no exceptions). To me, his ruling on this is a houserule.

I agree. It would be a house rule because he changed the minimum.

Fenny wrote:
I also have to ask why it's important that it be done in the middle of the day. Generally things like this occur in safe environs so there's no real rush to have the item function that day.

I believe scrolls with less than 250gp were ruled to work this way. So you can create a low level scroll and use it the same day it was created. I believe that if I had been working on a magic item and it needed 10 hours to create. I could work 8 hours the first day and 2 hours the next then I should be able to put the armor on and get the benefits without having to wait another 24 hours.

Thanks for your feedback.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Item Creation and availability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions