
![]() |

Can someone please find the text, or explain clearly, When and/or If I can make a Full Round Action and a Swift?
A. Can I do a Swift before I, 5 foot step and full attack?
B. Can I 5 foot step full attack and then Swift?
C. Can I 5 foot step, swift, then full attack?
D. Can I Full attack, then 5 foot step and then swift.
E. Can I Full Attack, Swift then 5 foot step?
F. Can I Swift, interrupting my Full Attack?
G. Can I only do a Swift and not an Immediate or do I get both?
H. When could a swift be denied for a player other than said conditions (Dazed, Stunned etc.)?
The Reason why I have the same questions asked different ways to to make sure and I want to be 100% clear. Please explain why or why not I cant do said action in each step, in case something changes.
Sorry if this questions is specific, but I need almost a lawyer like level of breaking it down and explaining things. (My friends and I have been going over this constantly.)

Sushewakka |
From the PRD:
Swift ActionsA swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.
For all intents and purposes, if you can perform a free action, you can perform a swift action. The only difference is that swift actions are restricted to once per turn.
So A), B), C), D), and E) are all valid.
F): If you perform an inmediate action, you lose the chance to perform a swift during your next turn. PRD quote:
Immediate ActionsMuch like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.
Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
H) Whenever you would deny a free action, a swift action is also denied.
Lemme guess: Someone's playing an Inquisitor.

Gauss |

A. Yes
B. Yes
C. Yes
D. Yes
E. Yes
F. It is not an interrupt but yes you can perform a swift action anytime you can perform a free action. You can perform a free action during another action.
G. You can only do a Swift or an Immediate. You cannot do both.
If it is your turn your immediate action counts as your swift action for that turn.
If it is not your turn an immediate actions uses up your next turn's swift action.
H. If you are able to perform an action and have a swift action available you can perform a swift action.
Relevant quotes:
Swift Actions
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.
Immediate Actions
Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it’s not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
Damn, ninja'd.

gnomersy |
A - E ) Yes you can always do your actions in any order you choose and you possess 1 swift one move and one standard per round a 5 ft step is a non action which is exclusive of other movement that round, and a full attack takes one move and one standard action, hence any combination of those is valid.
"You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round." (d20pfsrd.com)
You can also 5 ft step during your full attack should you choose if say you kill the enemy next to you and want to resolve the rest on a nearby enemy.
F) Probably? "A full-round action consumes all your effort during a round. The only movement you can take during a full-round action is a 5-foot step before, during, or after the action. You can also perform free actions and swift actions (see below). See Table: Actions in Combat for a list of full-round actions."
G) Only one swift or Immediate they are called out in the core rules as being the same thing only the Immediate can be done outside of your turn and takes up your next round's swift action.
H) If they used another swift already or an immediate in the previous round. Or surprise rounds/ other times you lose actions.

gnomersy |
Sushewakka wrote:Lemme guess: Someone's playing an Inquisitor.Which brings us to the next question......how can an inquisitor get MORE swift actions???
AFAIK he can't. The game doesn't support downgrading moves or standards into swifts so that isn't an option ... I suppose if he could get access to timestop somehow he'd have a couple bonus rounds to use swifts in but overall it's not an option unless I missed something.

![]() |

I'm fairly certain part of the strategy to playing an inquisitor is figuring out how to best use your one swift action a turn. Between bane, activating judgments, changing judgments, and litany spells there is a lot competing for that action slot. This does have the effect of it requiring several rounds to ramp an inquisitor up to full speed. That's not a bad thing, they are very strong once they get going.
Luckily you can also take other, normal actions, while you're doing all that self-buffing.