
Mage Evolving |

We ran into a bit of confusion last night and I would really appreciate any input that you all might offer.
A 13th level sorcerer holds his action so that he can fire off 2 lightning bolts when the PCs open the door. One of the lightning bolts is a quickened lightning bolt.
The door opens and the sorcerer fires his standard lightning bolt.
1. Can the PC wizard who has already taken a move action to open the door casts a quickened dispell magic and cancel the lightning bolt?
2. Can the sorcerers second quickened lightning bolt be canceled with a regular dispell magic?
3. Can the sorcerer even cast a quickened lightning bolt since he held his action?

wraithstrike |

1. You can not dispel instantaneous spells so no.
The effect of a spell with an instantaneous duration can't be dispelled, because the magical effect is already over before the dispel magic can take effect.
Also there is a difference between holding an action and readying an action.
The sorcerer should have been using a ready action because he was waiting for a condition to be met, not hold action. If the sorcerer readies an action he can interrupt the wizard's turn to cast his spells. If he is only holding his action then he has to wait for the wizard's turn to complete.
So let's say the sorcerer had actually readied his action, then he would get his turn and the wizard could not do anything about it, even if the sorcerer had cast a spell that was not instantaneous.

Dasrak |

1) No; lightning bolt can only be stopped via a counterspell. While dispel magic is a valid counterspell option, you need a readied action to do so. The quicken metamagic is not helpful here, as counterspelling always takes a readied action regardless of which spell you use to do it. There is an Abjurer Wizard archetype that would let you counterspell as an immediate action, but that's it.
2) If you've readied an action, then yes you can counterspell even a quickened spell. Keep in mind that since you can only ready one action per round, you could only counterspell one or the other of the Sorcerer's spells.
3) The answer depends on the exact way in which things happened, and your post isn't quite descriptive enough for me to figure out which is the case. There are a few possibilities:
A) The GM declared a surprise round when the door was opened, giving the Sorcerer a free turn to attack. Casting both spells is legal in this case.
B) The GM asked for an initiative roll after the door was opened, and the Sorcerer won and can take his turn first. Casting both spells is legal in this case.
C) The Sorcerer took a readied action to cast lightning bolt if anyone opened the door. Casting the regular speed spell is legal in this case, but he could NOT cast the quickened spell.
D) The Sorcerer took a delay action to shift his turn in initiative order. If the Wizard has already begun his turn (taking a move action to open the door) the Sorcerer cannot interrupt and must wait until the end of the Wizard's turn to cast any spells (at which point he could take his turn as normal and cast both).
So depending on the precise scenario, the Sorcerer might be able to cast both, one, or neither of his spells.

TGMaxMaxer |
Ummm... he can use swift actions (such as a quickened spell) during either the surprise round if he won initiative, and also when he readied a standard action.
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).
Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.
You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.
So whether the sorcerer won initiative when the door was opened, or whether he had readied an action for when the door was opened, he gets both of the lightning bolts, so long as he was aware of the wizard before the door was opened.
The only way that doesn't work, is if the sorcerer was actually delaying, since the wizard opened the door, he gets to finish his turn before the sorcerer gets either shot.
Now, for the counterspell, you could must ready an action to counterspell, and you could do so with either another lightning bolt spell or dispel magic. You can't counterspell a quickened spell though, so no to that option.

seebs |
I was always under the impression that readied actions were limited to a standard action, and that you couldn't add additional actions.
You can absolutely counterspell instantaneous spells with dispel magic; you can't dispel them, but you don't have to. But! You have to have a readied action to do it, I think. (Interestingly, so far as I can tell, you can't counterspell other people on your own turn.)
EDIT: To clarify, you can ready a standard, swift, or free action. That doesn't necessarily mean that, when the readied standard action fires, you can also take additional actions with it, even if they're swift or free.

wraithstrike |

You can not use dispel magic on an instantaneous spell.<---That is stated at the beginning. Then the spell goes on to the using it as a counterspell or dispelling action.
Dispel magic(the spell)* can dispel (but not counter) spell-like effects just as it does spells. The effect of a spell with an instantaneous duration can't be dispelled, because the magical effect is already over before the dispel magic can take effect.
Below that verbage it breaks down dispelling and countering.
*added by me for emphasis.

wraithstrike |

I was always under the impression that readied actions were limited to a standard action, and that you couldn't add additional actions.
You can absolutely counterspell instantaneous spells with dispel magic; you can't dispel them, but you don't have to. But! You have to have a readied action to do it, I think. (Interestingly, so far as I can tell, you can't counterspell other people on your own turn.)
Readying an action does not remove you other actions, but you do need a readied action to counterspell.

seebs |
Readying actions allows you to ready "a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action". Then the readied action fires, and your initiative count changes, and next turn you can take a full normal turn on your shiny new initiative count. But so far as I can tell, you can only take one action, period, as your readied action. It doesn't say "you can ready a standard action or a move action, plus a swift action or any additional free actions". I would say the readied action rules specifically restricting you to picking a single action trumps the general rules on being able to take free actions when you take actions.

![]() |

1. Can the PC wizard who has already taken a move action to open the door casts a quickened dispell magic and cancel the lightning bolt?
2. Can the sorcerers second quickened lightning bolt be canceled with a regular dispell magic?
3. Can the sorcerer even cast a quickened lightning bolt since he held his action?
1) Wizard can't counterspell without readying to counter, which he hasn't done. He got hit immediately when opening the door.
2) See #1 above
3) No. "You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action." So he may ready the Swift or the Standard but not both. Swift can only be taken on a ready or on your turn. Free actions however can be taken any time you are taking other actions.

TGMaxMaxer |
See my link above.
Swift actions can be taken any time you could take a free action.
You can take free actions anytime on your turn.
A readied action is still your turn.
Hence, you can take a swift along with your readied action.
Unless, you would argue that you can't drop a weapon or fall prone after a readied action, after taking your standard that you had readied?

seebs |
See my link above.
Swift actions can be taken any time you could take a free action.
You can take free actions anytime on your turn.
A readied action is still your turn.
Hence, you can take a swift along with your readied action.Unless, you would argue that you can't drop a weapon or fall prone after a readied action, after taking your standard that you had readied?
The readied action is not your turn. Your turn is still back when you took the standard action of "ready an action". If the readied action never goes off, your initiative count stays when it was. You can take move and swift and free actions on your turn, then ready an action, because readying is just a standard action you take.
If you take, on your turn, the "ready action" standard action, then a special thing happens where you get to take a single preselected action out of the normal combat sequence, after which your initiative count changes.
If the readied thing were "your turn", you could take a standard and a move action both, because that's what you can do on your turn.
Consider: "You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round."
If you were generally allowed to do other things during a readied action, this wording wouldn't be needed.
So, no, I wouldn't let you take any other actions along with a readied action, and definitely not swift actions, because that makes readied actions far more powerful than they appear to me to be intended to be.

wraithstrike |

Readying actions allows you to ready "a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action". Then the readied action fires, and your initiative count changes, and next turn you can take a full normal turn on your shiny new initiative count. But so far as I can tell, you can only take one action, period, as your readied action. It doesn't say "you can ready a standard action or a move action, plus a swift action or any additional free actions". I would say the readied action rules specifically restricting you to picking a single action trumps the general rules on being able to take free actions when you take actions.
The readied action says you use a standard action to setup another action based on certain conditions. That is all it really says. It does not say you lose the other actions, and there is no verbage to support it.
You could move, and they use your standard action to ready another standard action, so why cant you ready an action and then use a move action?
The only consequence listed and the word "consequence" is used is that your initiative changes.

seebs |
The reason you can't ready an action and then use a move action is that the readied action says you ready an action and then that action happens as an interrupt. It says nothing about other actions also being taken or available to you. Since normally you can't take other actions outside your turn, I generally wouldn't let you unless there were some specific wording allowing you to take additional actions with a readied action.

TGMaxMaxer |
The fact that you could ready a Swift or Free action does not change the fact that they can also be taken when you can take other actions. I could readily see readying a quickened invisibility, or other such spell as your action, or even dropping prone if they start shooting at you. Those are worthwhile actions to ready, especially if you are not in a position to first attack before doing so or what have you. However, if you are staggered, you can also legally ready a charge(albeit at single movement range), which is a full round action. The rules do not always cover every possibility, and I think this is one of them. They wrote that it included the option to ready the 4 action types that could be done as a standard action or less. Not to limit you, but to show that they were all viable even though it is a standard action in itself.
Now, if that is your stance, that is your stance. I disagree, and do not read it the same as you do.
RAW is a flighty b!+@# after all, and neither scenario being declared "right" or "wrong" will surprise me.

wraithstrike |

The reason you can't ready an action and then use a move action is that the readied action says you ready an action and then that action happens as an interrupt. It says nothing about other actions also being taken or available to you. Since normally you can't take other actions outside your turn, I generally wouldn't let you unless there were some specific wording allowing you to take additional actions with a readied action.
When you ready an action your initiative changes so that is actually your turn when your init is in play. In order for you to lose actions on your turn the rules would have to say you lose them.
The Combat Round
Each round represents 6 seconds in the game world; there are 10 rounds in a minute of combat. A round normally allows each character involved in a combat situation to act.Each round's activity begins with the character with the highest initiative result and then proceeds in order. When a character's turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round's worth of actions. (For exceptions, see Attacks of Opportunity and Special Initiative Actions.)
Initiative Consequences of Readying: Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the readied action. If you come to your next action and have not yet performed your readied action, you don't get to take the readied action (though you can ready the same action again). If you take your readied action in the next round, before your regular turn comes up, your initiative count rises to that new point in the order of battle, and you do not get your regular action that round.

Mage Evolving |

1. You can not dispel instantaneous spells so no.
prd wrote:The effect of a spell with an instantaneous duration can't be dispelled, because the magical effect is already over before the dispel magic can take effect.Also there is a difference between holding an action and readying an action.
The sorcerer should have been using a ready action because he was waiting for a condition to be met, not hold action. If the sorcerer readies an action he can interrupt the wizard's turn to cast his spells. If he is only holding his action then he has to wait for the wizard's turn to complete.
So let's say the sorcerer had actually readied his action, then he would get his turn and the wizard could not do anything about it, even if the sorcerer had cast a spell that was not instantaneous.
For clarification: The sorcerer was in fact readying an action. They were in rounds and he had run from the fight 2 rounds prior knowing that the PCs would follow him down the tight corridor and into his lab.
My logic at the time for why he could fire off the second quickened lightning bolt was the line:
Swift actions can be taken any time you could take a free action.
Since during a readied action you can in fact take a free action I saw it as legal.

Gilarius |

Now the question becomes can you even use dispell magic to counter a spell with instantaneous duration?
Yes. Counterspelling is not the same thing as dispelling.
To dispel, you need to be able to target an ongoing magical effect. Lightning Bolt and other instantaneous spells don't have an ongoing effect and cannot be dispelled.
Counterspelling disrupts the magical energies as they are forming during the actual casting, thus the spell never completes being cast if it is successfully countered. This is also why you need to use a readied action to do it (or be the abjuration specialist).

Enomiel |
Now the question becomes can you even use dispell magic to counter a spell with instantaneous duration?
You sure can.
The effect of a spell with an instantaneous duration can't be dispelled, because the magical effect is already over before the dispel magic can take effect.
Counterspell: When dispel magic is used in this way, the spell targets a spellcaster and is cast as a counterspell. Unlike a true counterspell, however, dispel magic may not work; you must make a dispel check to counter the other spellcaster's spell.
So as the counterspell option isn't a dispel attempt (even if a dispel check is requiered) it certainly can counter instantaneous spells.
(and ninajed).

TGMaxMaxer |
Unless the wizard had stated he was readying an action to counterspell before opening the door, he couldn't have countered either of the lightning bolts at all.
People are confusing Dispel Magic (targeting an ongoing effect) with Counterspelling.
You can cast Dispel Magic to stop a spell that is already in effect. This is not a counterspell, it is dispelling an ongoing effect after it is in place. The line about not being able to Dispel an instantaneous duration refers to this use.
In order to
It is possible to cast any spell as a counterspell. By doing so, you are using the spell's energy to disrupt the casting of the same spell by another character. Counterspelling works even if one spell is divine and the other arcane.
How Counterspells Work: To use a counterspell, you must select an opponent as the target of the counterspell. You do this by choosing to ready an action. In doing so, you elect to wait to complete your action until your opponent tries to cast a spell. You may still move at your normal speed, since ready is a standard action.
If the target of your counterspell tries to cast a spell, make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + the spell's level). This check is a free action. If the check succeeds, you correctly identify the opponent's spell and can attempt to counter it. If the check fails, you can't do either of these things.
To complete the action, you must then cast an appropriate spell. As a general rule, a spell can only counter itself. If you are able to cast the same spell and you have it prepared (or have a slot of the appropriate level available), you cast it, creating a counterspell effect. If the target is within range, both spells automatically negate each other with no other results.
Counterspelling Metamagic Spells: Metamagic feats are not taken into account when determining whether a spell can be countered.
Specific Exceptions: Some spells can counter other specific spells, often those with diametrically opposed effects.
Dispel Magic as a Counterspell: You can usually use dispel magic to counterspell another spell being cast without needing to identify the spell being cast. Dispel magic doesn't always work as a counterspell (see the spell description).
a spell with Dispel Magic, you must have a readied action. The wizard, had he readied an action to counterspell before opening the door, could certainly have made a caster level check for Dispel Magic against the DC of the sorcerer's lightning bolt, and if successful, stopped one of the lightning bolts from going off. Alternatively, if the wizard had prepared Lightning Bolt, and succeeded on a spellcraft check to identify the spell as it was cast, he could have simply used his own lightning bolt to negate the sorcerer's, no caster level check needed.
He could have picked the normal one, or the quickened one, but due to the specific wording of counterspell requiring the Ready Action (which means only 1 per round), could not have gotten both even with a quickened Dispel Magic prepared.
Personally, I would allow someone with a Quickened Dispel Magic (or a quickened version of the same spell) the chance to counterspell the second bolt, but that would be my own houserule.
Edit: Double Ninja'd

Callum |

This is a very interesting discussion. Personally, I always used to rule it the way that seebs is - you can only perform the readied action, and nothing else. Having read the other views, I can now see it both ways. I guess, RAW, whether or not you can use a swift action depends on whether it is your turn during your readied action or not. This may be worth suggesting as a FAQ.

Gilarius |

This is a very interesting discussion. Personally, I always used to rule it the way that seebs is - you can only perform the readied action, and nothing else. Having read the other views, I can now see it both ways. I guess, RAW, whether or not you can use a swift action depends on whether it is your turn during your readied action or not. This may be worth suggesting as a FAQ.
And I have also done it this way. But now I'm not so sure.