
Tels |

Can style feats be used while flying? Mounted? Swimming? Burrowing? Crawling? Prone?
Recently the idea came up that because of this little bit in the Style feats section: "As a swift action, you can enter the stance employed by the fighting style a style feat embodies," that you can't use Style feats unless standing on the ground. The reason being that 'stance' is defined as standing, so if you are not standing, you can't use a stance.
I, personally, find this preposterous as it would even go so far as to imply you can't use style feats while moving either.
[Edit] Definitions.
Stance:
1. the position or bearing of the body while standing:
legs spread in a wide stance; the threatening stance of the bull.
2. a mental or emotional position adopted with respect to something:
They assumed an increasingly hostile stance in their foreign policy.
3. Sports. the relative position of the feet, as in addressing a golf ball or in making a stroke.Stand:
1. (of a person) to be in an upright position on the feet.
2. to rise to one's feet (often followed by up).
3. to have a specified height when in this position:
a basketball player who stands six feet seven inches.
4. to stop or remain motionless or steady on the feet.
5. to take a position or place as indicated:
to stand aside.
6. to remain firm or steadfast, as in a cause.
7. to take up or maintain a position or attitude with respect to a person, issue, or the like:
to stand as sponsor for a person.
Re-post.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Can style feats be used while flying? Mounted? Swimming? Burrowing? Crawling? Prone?
Recently the idea came up that because of this little bit in the Style feats section: "As a swift action, you can enter the stance employed by the fighting style a style feat embodies," that you can't use Style feats unless standing on the ground. The reason being that 'stance' is defined as standing, so if you are not standing, you can't use a stance.
I, personally, find this preposterous as it would even go so far as to imply you can't use style feats while moving either.
[Edit] Definitions.
Stance:
1. the position or bearing of the body while standing:
legs spread in a wide stance; the threatening stance of the bull.
2. a mental or emotional position adopted with respect to something:
They assumed an increasingly hostile stance in their foreign policy.
3. Sports. the relative position of the feet, as in addressing a golf ball or in making a stroke.Stand:
1. (of a person) to be in an upright position on the feet.
2. to rise to one's feet (often followed by up).
3. to have a specified height when in this position:
a basketball player who stands six feet seven inches.
4. to stop or remain motionless or steady on the feet.
5. to take a position or place as indicated:
to stand aside.
6. to remain firm or steadfast, as in a cause.
7. to take up or maintain a position or attitude with respect to a person, issue, or the like:
to stand as sponsor for a person.
I hadn't made it this far down yet due to Superstar and ACG errata, but here I am!
Clearly the idea that you can't use Style feats in a non-standing stance is ridiculous, given that the djinn would create a style that naturally involved flight, and the marid would create a style that naturally involved swimming. However, it's also certainly true that someone affected by a sleep effect is clearly not in the stance any more, since they fell asleep, and they'll need to enter it again when they wake up. It's going to be up to the GM what constitutes breaking a stance, though we could use some less wishy-washy rules for entering/exiting a stance in particular because a character with multiple stances is going to want to keep them from fight to fight (you can only enter a stance in combat, but if there are no rules for when you exit it...) and might do silly things like run to the next room on the last round of combat to keep it that way, depending on rulings.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Ultimate Magic introduced the Craft Reliquary Arms and Shields feat. What would be the way to annotate an item is a reliquary? I was thinking enhancement bonus, special quality, reliquary, special material, weapon = +1 flaming reliquary mithral starknife.
Any chance the reliquary quality can get added to a future list of special armor, shield, and weapon qualities in a future product? I have been dying to use it in PFS, but the feat that grants it is forbidden and no magic items use it. IST VERBOTEN!
I've never seen an example of a reliquary item, but I think it would go either before or after the special material. As to reliquary in total being banned in PFS, I hadn't thought of it before, but you're right that since crafting feats are always banned in PFS, and since the description for reliquary items only exists in that feat and nowhere else, it's banned in PFS even to purchase.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Query, Mark.
For the Naga Aspirant Druid Archetype, which gets this ability:
Quote:At 6th level, the naga aspirant can use her wild shape ability (gained at 4th level, as normal) to assume the form of a true naga. This effect functions in a similar manner to a shapechange spell with the following exception. The druid's true naga form is unique, representing her personal evolution. When taking naga form, the nagaji's body transforms into that of a large serpent, though she keeps her own head. The naga aspirant loses her limbs and her size increases by one category, granting her a +4 size bonus to Strength and Constitution, a –2 penalty to Dexterity, and a +2 enhancement bonus to her natural armor bonus. She gains a +10 enhancement bonus to land speed and a bite attack that deals 1d6 points of damage. She can cast verbal spells in this form, but cannot cast spells with other components without metamagic or feats such as Natural Spell.
This ability otherwise works like and replaces wild shape.
Does the Druid's wildshape ability progress past this point (i.e. do they gain huge animal wildshape?)
Cheers!
prototype00
It replaces wild shape, so they wouldn't get Huge animal, etc.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Hi Mark, question about the snapleaf item. I've heard people argue about whether the fact that it includes the effect of feather fall means you can't activate the item unless you're falling. I had thought the general consensus was that no, you can activate it any old time, you just sort of "expend" the FF effect for no benefit if you're not falling. But someone recently said they thought there was a FAQ or developer commentary saying that you DO have to be falling to activate a snapleaf. However, I can't seem to find any such FAQ/clarification.
Any insights?
You're not a valid target for feather fall if you are not a freefalling creature, so it would seem that you can't use the item if you aren't freefalling. Which is a good thing, especially in PFS where bad guys are less likely to have see invisibility than in a home campaign. 750 gp to interrupt and counter any triggering action would be poor design.

![]() |

Jiggy wrote:You're not a valid target for feather fall if you are not a freefalling creature, so it would seem that you can't use the item if you aren't freefalling. Which is a good thing, especially in PFS where bad guys are less likely to have see invisibility than in a home campaign. 750 gp to interrupt and counter any triggering action would be poor design.Hi Mark, question about the snapleaf item. I've heard people argue about whether the fact that it includes the effect of feather fall means you can't activate the item unless you're falling. I had thought the general consensus was that no, you can activate it any old time, you just sort of "expend" the FF effect for no benefit if you're not falling. But someone recently said they thought there was a FAQ or developer commentary saying that you DO have to be falling to activate a snapleaf. However, I can't seem to find any such FAQ/clarification.
Any insights?
Does targeting matter when the item says "gives the benefits of" rather than "casts" (or similar language)? Such a ruling would surprise me, and I can't help wondering if that could have some nasty ripple effects through the system.
Also, doesn't that produce silly situations like "I hop in place and activate my snapleaf on the way down"?
And does turning invisible as an immediate action really "counter" other actions? I mean, an attack would suddenly have a 50% miss chance (and only once, unless the bearer didn't want to do any attacking of their own), but wouldn't a targeted spell still go off anyway? I mean, haven't you already been targeted at that point? If not, then can't the caster choose to target someone else instead?
Granted I'm not the designer here, but I guess it just seems to me that (A) the text of snapleaf doesn't support the idea of targeting restrictions, and (B) I'm not sure your "countering" concern is how it would actually play out anyway.
Don't you love it when a question's answer is followed up with a barrage of new questions? ;)

Tels |

Jiggy wrote:You're not a valid target for feather fall if you are not a freefalling creature, so it would seem that you can't use the item if you aren't freefalling. Which is a good thing, especially in PFS where bad guys are less likely to have see invisibility than in a home campaign. 750 gp to interrupt and counter any triggering action would be poor design.Hi Mark, question about the snapleaf item. I've heard people argue about whether the fact that it includes the effect of feather fall means you can't activate the item unless you're falling. I had thought the general consensus was that no, you can activate it any old time, you just sort of "expend" the FF effect for no benefit if you're not falling. But someone recently said they thought there was a FAQ or developer commentary saying that you DO have to be falling to activate a snapleaf. However, I can't seem to find any such FAQ/clarification.
Any insights?
Is snapleaf supposed to be a consumable? Nothing in it's description states it's destroyed after being activated, or rendered non-magical, only that it's activated as an immediate action. The price indicates it should be one, but that's the only thing.
I mean, even if it requires you to be falling to activate, that's not an issue as one could simply jump and then activate it.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Mark Seifter wrote:Jiggy wrote:You're not a valid target for feather fall if you are not a freefalling creature, so it would seem that you can't use the item if you aren't freefalling. Which is a good thing, especially in PFS where bad guys are less likely to have see invisibility than in a home campaign. 750 gp to interrupt and counter any triggering action would be poor design.Hi Mark, question about the snapleaf item. I've heard people argue about whether the fact that it includes the effect of feather fall means you can't activate the item unless you're falling. I had thought the general consensus was that no, you can activate it any old time, you just sort of "expend" the FF effect for no benefit if you're not falling. But someone recently said they thought there was a FAQ or developer commentary saying that you DO have to be falling to activate a snapleaf. However, I can't seem to find any such FAQ/clarification.
Any insights?
Does targeting matter when the item says "gives the benefits of" rather than "casts" (or similar language)? Such a ruling would surprise me, and I can't help wondering if that could have some nasty ripple effects through the system.
Also, doesn't that produce silly situations like "I hop in place and activate my snapleaf on the way down"?
And does turning invisible as an immediate action really "counter" other actions? I mean, an attack would suddenly have a 50% miss chance (and only once, unless the bearer didn't want to do any attacking of their own), but wouldn't a targeted spell still go off anyway? I mean, haven't you already been targeted at that point? If not, then can't the caster choose to target someone else instead?
Granted I'm not the designer here, but I guess it just seems to me that (A) the text of snapleaf doesn't support the idea of targeting restrictions, and (B) I'm not sure your "countering" concern is how it would actually play out anyway.
Don't you love...
I'd think the item would need to change the wording slightly to avoid the issue of being an invalid target.
However, looking closely at the interactions of immediate actions, it does seem like it's ambiguous whether it would counter targeted actions, since without a specification, immediate actions don't say when they happen (I had thought there was a default that they resolved before the triggering action unless specified, but there turns out to be no default at all, d'oh!). That all being said, I'd be OK with FAQ/errata that slightly changed the wording to ensure that it worked when you aren't falling but also that it doesn't interrupt targeted actions.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Mark Seifter wrote:Jiggy wrote:You're not a valid target for feather fall if you are not a freefalling creature, so it would seem that you can't use the item if you aren't freefalling. Which is a good thing, especially in PFS where bad guys are less likely to have see invisibility than in a home campaign. 750 gp to interrupt and counter any triggering action would be poor design.Hi Mark, question about the snapleaf item. I've heard people argue about whether the fact that it includes the effect of feather fall means you can't activate the item unless you're falling. I had thought the general consensus was that no, you can activate it any old time, you just sort of "expend" the FF effect for no benefit if you're not falling. But someone recently said they thought there was a FAQ or developer commentary saying that you DO have to be falling to activate a snapleaf. However, I can't seem to find any such FAQ/clarification.
Any insights?
Is snapleaf supposed to be a consumable? Nothing in it's description states it's destroyed after being activated, or rendered non-magical, only that it's activated as an immediate action. The price indicates it should be one, but that's the only thing.
I mean, even if it requires you to be falling to activate, that's not an issue as one could simply jump and then activate it.
I'm sure it's meant to be a consumable, but yeah.

![]() |

I'd think the item would need to change the wording slightly to avoid the issue of being an invalid target.
How so?
However, looking closely at the interactions of immediate actions, it does seem like it's ambiguous whether it would counter targeted actions, since without a specification, immediate actions don't say when they happen (I had thought there was a default that they resolved before the triggering action unless specified, but there turns out to be no default at all, d'oh!).
I wasn't aware that immediate actions had "triggering actions" (at least, by default). I thought only readied actions, or specific immediate actions that specify when they can be used (i.e., "When you're missed by a melee attack," etc) had triggering actions.
What I pictured for something like snapleaf was that you could activate it pretty much whenever, but it had to be a discreet point in time: want to do it once you've been targeted? Then you're still the target when that action resolves (50% miss chance on attacks, possibly zero effect for targeted spells). Want to do it before you're "locked in" as being the target? Well, then, you're not locked in as a target, so they can do something else.
At least, that's what I pictured.
That all being said, I'd be OK with FAQ/errata that slightly changed the wording to ensure that it worked when you aren't falling but also that it doesn't interrupt targeted actions.
I'd be all over that; that's the difference between "solid but not overpowered item" and "one more thing I'll never use ever".

Alexander Augunas Contributor |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Here's a weird question that I think the answer to is, "Yes."
Is a specific rogue talent / alchemist discovery / investigator talent / etc considered a class feature?
Specifically, if I pick the Poison Use slayer talent, do I meet the prerequisite of "Poison Use class feature" of feats like Addler Strike?
Along those same lines, Is an archetype feature also a class feature?
For instance, if I gain the Slayer Talent ability from my Sanctified Slayer inquisitor archetype, do I qualify for the Extra Slayer Talent feat, which requires the slayer talent class feature?

Alexander Augunas Contributor |

Oh! Here's another oddball question for you that I ran into while building a multiclass slayer / shadow dancer:
Can a rogue talent be chosen multiple times by different classes that offer it? For example, can I select combat trick as both a slayer (in place of a slayer talent) and as a shadow dancer (as one of the shadowdancer's rogue talents)?

toxicpie |

Hi Wes, hope you're well!
I asked this question to James in his thread, and he directed me to you in case you has any information on the subject. :)
So:
Are you and the good folks at Paizo planning to release any more information/details about the Seventh Accord?
If not, do you have any personal ideas about what the Accord may have been? :)

![]() |

Mark Seifter wrote:I'd think the item would need to change the wording slightly to avoid the issue of being an invalid target.How so?
Quote:However, looking closely at the interactions of immediate actions, it does seem like it's ambiguous whether it would counter targeted actions, since without a specification, immediate actions don't say when they happen (I had thought there was a default that they resolved before the triggering action unless specified, but there turns out to be no default at all, d'oh!).I wasn't aware that immediate actions had "triggering actions" (at least, by default). I thought only readied actions, or specific immediate actions that specify when they can be used (i.e., "When you're missed by a melee attack," etc) had triggering actions.
What I pictured for something like snapleaf was that you could activate it pretty much whenever, but it had to be a discreet point in time: want to do it once you've been targeted? Then you're still the target when that action resolves (50% miss chance on attacks, possibly zero effect for targeted spells). Want to do it before you're "locked in" as being the target? Well, then, you're not locked in as a target, so they can do something else.
At least, that's what I pictured.
Quote:I'd be all over that; that's the difference between "solid but not overpowered item" and "one more thing I'll never use ever".That all being said, I'd be OK with FAQ/errata that slightly changed the wording to ensure that it worked when you aren't falling but also that it doesn't interrupt targeted actions.
Expanding on this and the issue of "countering" targeted spells with snapleaf, I went digging and found this in the Magic chapter of the CRB, under Casting Time:
You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect.
So unless I'm misunderstanding something, if you activate your snapleaf after you're declared the target, the spell has already come into effect. But if you activate it before the spell has come into effect, then they can just pick a different target.
So it seems to me (again, unless I missed something) that the existing rules already prevent the "countering" issue that you brought up. If I'm correct, then that means all that stands between snapleaf and usability is whether "grants the benefits of" includes the listed spells' targeting restrictions.
What do you think?

Matrix Dragon |

Hey Mark!
Just wanted to ask about a question that has been bugging me for a while. Say that you have a Witch with the Misfortune hex and an Oracle with the Misfortune revelation in the same party.... you probably already see where this is going.
The witch hexes an enemy with misfortune. If it has to roll for something, and rolls two 20s, what happens if the oracle THEN uses his misfortune ability on him? Does he reroll just one of the dice? Both? Does he reroll one die, but has to roll it twice and take the lowest because the witch's misfortune is still active?
I may as well also ask, what happens if something is affected by a Misfortune hex and Ill Omen at the same time? Does it have to roll 3 times, or do the abilities not stack?
Believe it or not, these are situations that may come up in a game we are playing pretty soon. Our GM is going to hate us XD

![]() |

Tels |

ZanThrax |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Mark, back when the NPC Codex came out, some people noticed that some of the animal companions with multiple primary attacks were given an iterative attack instead of the (useless to them) Multiattack feat that the RAW text says they should get. SKR explained that that's what's supposed to happen, a couple of posters pointed out that there's no way to come to that conclusion from reading the actual rules and asked if the rules would be updated to reflect that. And then nothing further came of it.
So my question is, will the animal companion rules be changed to make those companions in the NPC Codex legal (and incidentally power up claw/claw/bite companions in general) at some point? And if not, will the companions in the NPC Codex be nerfed to match RAW?

Mark Seifter Designer |
5 people marked this as a favorite. |

New FAQ today!
What makes something a fear effect? What about a morale effect?
Fear effects include spells with the fear descriptor, anything explicitly called out as a fear effect, anything that causes the shaken, frightened, or panicked condition, and all uses of the Intimidate skill. Intimidate, in particular, is a mind-affecting fear effect, so fearless and mindless creatures are immune to all uses of Intimidate.
Morale effects, unlike fear effects, so far have not had a descriptor or a call-out. Anything that grants a morale bonus is a morale effect. For example, the rage spell grants a morale bonus, so a creature immune to morale effects would be immune to the entire spell, including the –2 penalty to AC.

N N 959 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Shield Companion
On p. 25, Animal Archive lists this:
Shield Companion
School abjuration; Level antipaladin 1, druid 1, paladin 1, ranger 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, witch 1
Target your animal companion, familiar, or fiendish servant
This spell functions as shield other but affects only the caster’s animal companion or familiar. Spellcasters from classes that do not normally gain an animal companion, familiar, or fiendish servant but who gain one through an alternate class feature, archetype, or prestige class can prepare and cast this spell as a 1st-level spell if they are capable of casting spells.
The ACG changes the spell to this:
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advancedClassGuide/spells/shieldCompanio n.html#
The import part being this:
Level paladin 2, ranger 2, shaman 2, sorcerer/wizard 3, summoner 3
Completely changes the availability of this spell and for PFS totally screws over Rangers/Paladins in the fact that now they have to buy it as a 3rd level wand, raising the price from 750gp to 13,500gp. Please tell me this is an oversight. Pretty please?

Insain Dragoon |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Shield Companion
On p. 25, Animal Archive lists this:
Animal Archive wrote:Shield Companion
School abjuration; Level antipaladin 1, druid 1, paladin 1, ranger 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, witch 1
Target your animal companion, familiar, or fiendish servant
This spell functions as shield other but affects only the caster’s animal companion or familiar. Spellcasters from classes that do not normally gain an animal companion, familiar, or fiendish servant but who gain one through an alternate class feature, archetype, or prestige class can prepare and cast this spell as a 1st-level spell if they are capable of casting spells.
The ACG changes the spell to this:
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advancedClassGuide/spells/shieldCompanio n.html#
The import part being this:
PRD wrote:Level paladin 2, ranger 2, shaman 2, sorcerer/wizard 3, summoner 3Completely changes the availability of this spell and for PFS totally screws over Rangers/Paladins in the fact that now they have to buy it as a 3rd level wand, raising the price from 750gp to 13,500gp. Please tell me this is an oversight. Pretty please?
Actually looking at the spell text those are completely different spells with the same name.

christos gurd |

New FAQ today!
FAQ wrote:What makes something a fear effect? What about a morale effect?
Fear effects include spells with the fear descriptor, anything explicitly called out as a fear effect, anything that causes the shaken, frightened, or panicked condition, and all uses of the Intimidate skill. Intimidate, in particular, is a mind-affecting fear effect, so fearless and mindless creatures are immune to all uses of Intimidate.
Morale effects, unlike fear effects, so far have not had a descriptor or a call-out. Anything that grants a morale bonus is a morale effect. For example, the rage spell grants a morale bonus, so a creature immune to morale effects would be immune to the entire spell, including the –2 penalty to AC.
so my android wouldn't take the -2 from rage, interesting.

Tels |

Mark Seifter wrote:New FAQ today!
FAQ wrote:What makes something a fear effect? What about a morale effect?
Fear effects include spells with the fear descriptor, anything explicitly called out as a fear effect, anything that causes the shaken, frightened, or panicked condition, and all uses of the Intimidate skill. Intimidate, in particular, is a mind-affecting fear effect, so fearless and mindless creatures are immune to all uses of Intimidate.
Morale effects, unlike fear effects, so far have not had a descriptor or a call-out. Anything that grants a morale bonus is a morale effect. For example, the rage spell grants a morale bonus, so a creature immune to morale effects would be immune to the entire spell, including the –2 penalty to AC.
so my android wouldn't take the -2 from rage, interesting.
And android also would not benefit from Rage as Rage grants a morale bonus to strength. Androids don't benefit from morale bonuses.

DrakeRoberts |
Hey Mark, a few of us got into a big conversation today with no true outcome, and I was hoping that maybe you could help. We were trying to figure out what damage bonuses would be added to the splash damage of an Alchemist's Bomb. Point Blank Shot has an FAQ saying that it only applies to direct hits and not splash damage. Is this due to the non-targeted nature of splash damage? What about things like Inspire Courage, Freebooter's Bane, or Weapon Specialization? Is there a good way to know what will/won't apply? Thanks for any insight you can provide, the issue has caused a number of disputes over the past few weeks.

christos gurd |

christos gurd wrote:And android also would not benefit from Rage as Rage grants a morale bonus to strength. Androids don't benefit from morale bonuses.Mark Seifter wrote:New FAQ today!
FAQ wrote:What makes something a fear effect? What about a morale effect?
Fear effects include spells with the fear descriptor, anything explicitly called out as a fear effect, anything that causes the shaken, frightened, or panicked condition, and all uses of the Intimidate skill. Intimidate, in particular, is a mind-affecting fear effect, so fearless and mindless creatures are immune to all uses of Intimidate.
Morale effects, unlike fear effects, so far have not had a descriptor or a call-out. Anything that grants a morale bonus is a morale effect. For example, the rage spell grants a morale bonus, so a creature immune to morale effects would be immune to the entire spell, including the –2 penalty to AC.
so my android wouldn't take the -2 from rage, interesting.
that was known, but my grouped assumed you still had to take the -2 penalty to ac to get your rage powers.

N N 959 |
N N 959 wrote:Actually looking at the spell text those are completely different spells with the same name.Shield Companion
On p. 25, Animal Archive lists this:
Animal Archive wrote:Shield Companion
School abjuration; Level antipaladin 1, druid 1, paladin 1, ranger 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, witch 1
Target your animal companion, familiar, or fiendish servant
This spell functions as shield other but affects only the caster’s animal companion or familiar. Spellcasters from classes that do not normally gain an animal companion, familiar, or fiendish servant but who gain one through an alternate class feature, archetype, or prestige class can prepare and cast this spell as a 1st-level spell if they are capable of casting spells.
The ACG changes the spell to this:
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advancedClassGuide/spells/shieldCompanio n.html#
The import part being this:
PRD wrote:Level paladin 2, ranger 2, shaman 2, sorcerer/wizard 3, summoner 3Completely changes the availability of this spell and for PFS totally screws over Rangers/Paladins in the fact that now they have to buy it as a 3rd level wand, raising the price from 750gp to 13,500gp. Please tell me this is an oversight. Pretty please?
I would be happy with that as the un/official ruling.

Tels |

Insain Dragoon wrote:I would be happy with that as the un/official ruling.N N 959 wrote:Actually looking at the spell text those are completely different spells with the same name.Shield Companion
On p. 25, Animal Archive lists this:
Animal Archive wrote:Shield Companion
School abjuration; Level antipaladin 1, druid 1, paladin 1, ranger 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, witch 1
Target your animal companion, familiar, or fiendish servant
This spell functions as shield other but affects only the caster’s animal companion or familiar. Spellcasters from classes that do not normally gain an animal companion, familiar, or fiendish servant but who gain one through an alternate class feature, archetype, or prestige class can prepare and cast this spell as a 1st-level spell if they are capable of casting spells.
The ACG changes the spell to this:
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/advancedClassGuide/spells/shieldCompanio n.html#
The import part being this:
PRD wrote:Level paladin 2, ranger 2, shaman 2, sorcerer/wizard 3, summoner 3Completely changes the availability of this spell and for PFS totally screws over Rangers/Paladins in the fact that now they have to buy it as a 3rd level wand, raising the price from 750gp to 13,500gp. Please tell me this is an oversight. Pretty please?
Not really necessary, Paizo has released multiple things in the past under the same name.
I believe there is the Dervish Dancer Bard and Dervish Dancer Fighter; Dueling weapon property that adds a flat monetary increase in price, and then Dueling from the Pathfinder Society Field Guide that is a +1 increase in price; then there is Swashbuckler Rogue archetype and Swashbuckler class.
There's probably a few more, but those are the ones that come immediately to mind. So, just because they have the same name, doesn't mean they are the same spell. Chalk it up to a mistake in the naming and background checking on Paizo's end.

N N 959 |
You can usually tell when something is truly supposed to be the same rules element, like the grenadier archetype making it into Monster Codex. That said, The ACG version seems more balanced than the AA version.
Well, I'm glad to hear that the ACG version is not meant to replace the AA version. As far as "balanced" I don't know how one determines things are balanced without some metric for comparison. The AA version splits damage and the ACG version gives all of it to the caster. The ACG version seems to allow the caster to take the damage.
I'd be very interested to hear what methodology you use to determine that one is more balanced with any type of empirical certainty.

terry_t_uk |
Spring Attack and AoO's. I did a search and found lots of discussion but no FAQ. Does a Spring Attack user avoid any AoO's or only those that result from movement?
He will not provoke any AoO's for moving from the traget of his attack but will provoke from any other enemy combatants he passes by (and triggers an AoO from). However, his AC will be 4 higher due to Mobility which, I think, is required for Spring Attack.

N N 959 |
N N 959 wrote:Spring Attack and AoO's. I did a search and found lots of discussion but no FAQ. Does a Spring Attack user avoid any AoO's or only those that result from movement?He will not provoke any AoO's for moving from the traget of his attack but will provoke from any other enemy combatants he passes by (and triggers an AoO from). However, his AC will be 4 higher due to Mobility which, I think, is required for Spring Attack.
I meant from the person that is being attacked. For example, what if I attack someone with an unarmed attack?

x x 342 |
Hello MS,
I started a topic on a rules question here http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2ry2w?precise-shot-and-ranged-touch-spells . As you can see, I was directed to this topic to try to get a designer's take on two specific "problems" with game balance that I perceive with requiring Precise Shot to cast rays into melee without a penalty on the attack roll.
First: do the designers really intend to require casters to take two feats (Point Blank and Precise Shot) to avoid the shooting into melee penalty?
Second: do the designers really intend for the Lantern Archon to always take the penalty when attacking a foe who is in melee (perhaps with the archon itself)?

Mark Seifter Designer |

Here's a weird question that I think the answer to is, "Yes."
Is a specific rogue talent / alchemist discovery / investigator talent / etc considered a class feature?
Specifically, if I pick the Poison Use slayer talent, do I meet the prerequisite of "Poison Use class feature" of feats like Addler Strike?
Along those same lines, Is an archetype feature also a class feature?
For instance, if I gain the Slayer Talent ability from my Sanctified Slayer inquisitor archetype, do I qualify for the Extra Slayer Talent feat, which requires the slayer talent class feature?
I see a lot of rules questions, so this disclaimer can serve for this whole page or something:
As usual, nothing I post here is an official FAQ or anything. Just my thoughts.
With that out of the way, normally these would not count. Some archetypes went out of the way to make sure this is clear, like that bloodrager one that gains rage powers, and some don't. Very occasionally, they need to count to make something not do nothing, and all of those probably need a FAQ or such.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Does someone using a lance in one hand while mounted treat it as being in two hands for the 1.5X strength to damage, or just for the power attack?
I can't really answer this question, since our current ruling about mounted lances (and several other things about mounted combat) are too confusing and occasionally contradictory when compared to other ways to one-hand a two-handed weapon.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Oh! Here's another oddball question for you that I ran into while building a multiclass slayer / shadow dancer:
Can a rogue talent be chosen multiple times by different classes that offer it? For example, can I select combat trick as both a slayer (in place of a slayer talent) and as a shadow dancer (as one of the shadowdancer's rogue talents)?
No, but you can usually load up on feats in other ways with most of the sneaky "talent" classes.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Hey Mark!
Just wanted to ask about a question that has been bugging me for a while. Say that you have a Witch with the Misfortune hex and an Oracle with the Misfortune revelation in the same party.... you probably already see where this is going.
The witch hexes an enemy with misfortune. If it has to roll for something, and rolls two 20s, what happens if the oracle THEN uses his misfortune ability on him? Does he reroll just one of the dice? Both? Does he reroll one die, but has to roll it twice and take the lowest because the witch's misfortune is still active?
Pick one of them to reroll. I recommend the higher one. They don't have to roll the reroll twice; they've already done the rolling twice bit for this roll.
I may as well also ask, what happens if something is affected by a Misfortune hex and Ill Omen at the same time? Does it have to roll 3 times, or do the abilities not stack?
Believe it or not, these are situations that may come up in a game we are playing pretty soon. Our GM is going to hate us XD
This one's a little unclear and up to the GM. I would say that since they both say to roll twice and take the lower, they wouldn't stack (since rolling three times is not rolling twice), but if one of them said "roll another time and take the lowest of the rolls" it would be different.