
LoSpo |
Good morning everybody, i need to know what do you think about this situation:
with my PC i declared a movement from A to B (9 mt).
when i move in the first 1.5 i suffer an attack from a hidden creature.
So i decide to change my action from movement to attack.
Do you think that could be right?
Thanks

seebs |
If the attack did not change things so that you couldn't move-and-attack, then yes, that seems fine.
You're allowed to change actions in a number of circumstances. For instance, if you have made a single attack, and haven't used your move action, you can decide to full-attack, or decide to move, after knowing how that first attack resolves.

blahpers |

You do not regain lost actions, but if you were going to move using both your move action and your standard action, you can stop moving before you get to the second half of your total movement and still retain your standard action. Then you can use that to attack.
So, basically, yes. "Double move" isn't an action, it's two actions.
If you decide to stop moving during the second (standard) action, you can do so, but you'll have expended the action. No attack in that case.

Chemlak |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Looks like a metric conversion to me. Here's the translation:
Good morning everybody, i need to know what do you think about this situation:
with my PC i declared a movement from A to B (9 mt) (30 ft, 6 squares).
when i move in the first 1.5 (5 ft, 1 square) i suffer an attack from a hidden creature.
So i decide to change my action from movement to attack.Do you think that could be right?
Thanks
The answer is "yes". If you are still within your first move action (6 squares, 30 feet, 9m) then you can choose when to stop moving and take your standard action. Also, you can continue moving after the attack, up to your normal speed (6 squares, 30 feet, 9 metres), and still attack. You would only be restricted if you had moved more than your normal speed, since you would have converted your standard action into a move action, and would therefore not be able to attack.

SiliconDon |
In Pathfinder, you don't set a course and hit go and watch what happens to your character completely hands-off during that movement. You move your character individual square by individual square. In order to speed up play, the vast majority of players will "plot a course" like you described in the original post. If anything happens during that movement, such as triggering a trap, revealing a hidden monster, or you just happen to fancy it, you can change your mind in the middle of the movement.
The only time I would prohibit this is if you were attacked by a monster or trap and wanted to rewind to a point before when you were attacked.

![]() |

Yes. I see no problem this.
But you have to consider that the AoO only occur because she trigged 30ft movement, if it was only a 5rt-step she will not recieve any AoO. For this, I guess the fair is consider the move-action spent in the 5ft even if you stop there.
Up to your GM.
---Homebrew rule---
In our games (me as GM), we declare our action. And if by any reason change our mind in the middle of action, we assume a -2 on rolls by change the planned actions. Still respecting the action economy.
We understand that action are not sudden but planned during the turn, if you sudden change mind of actions, you cannot be in the best innertia/position to do that. For exemple, swinging a sword in snother diretion, turn the body to back to point properly the ranged touch. Still we permit those on-the-fly change of actions, like the move-action to free-5ft-step.
Per exemple, in this case. PC declared his movement do point B and attack. If she decides to stop with 5ft and full attack (possible), he would suffer -2 on these attacks. But she's not prohibited to do anything nor have this debuff outside her round (AoO or Imediate Actions).

Elbedor |

The AoO was triggered from the character attempting to leave a threatened square after the 5ft step was made.
Intent is to move 6 squares.
Character moves 1 square.
Character tries to move another square. AoO triggers.
So now does the 2nd square movement take place automatically because its declaration is what provoked?
Or can the character stop movement and Full Attack since they only really moved 5ft?
The same would be true with me wanting to drink a potion. I say I'm going to drink it which then provokes an AoO from someone hidden nearby. Then after the AoO, I decide that I'm not going to drink, but withdraw instead.
Is this legal? Or do I have to complete the action I declared since the AoO was provoked from it?

LoSpo |
Chemlak, you are right, i'm italian, so i use metrical scale :D
The intent is to move 6 squares.
Character moves 1 square.
Character tries to move another square. AoO triggers.
in my opinion the third is not correct, because in my opinion AoO arrives when i left the threatened area of my enemy.
Thanks!

Remy Balster |

The AoO was triggered from the character attempting to leave a threatened square after the 5ft step was made.
Intent is to move 6 squares.
Character moves 1 square.
Character tries to move another square. AoO triggers.So now does the 2nd square movement take place automatically because its declaration is what provoked?
Or can the character stop movement and Full Attack since they only really moved 5ft?The same would be true with me wanting to drink a potion. I say I'm going to drink it which then provokes an AoO from someone hidden nearby. Then after the AoO, I decide that I'm not going to drink, but withdraw instead.
Is this legal? Or do I have to complete the action I declared since the AoO was provoked from it?
The way I parse events is that declaring an action locks you into it. Declaring that 2nd 5ft of movement locks you into it, even if you opt out or it becomes impossible; you have used the 'action' or energy to perform it.
So, you could choose to not take that 2nd square, but you've already paid for it. So, you could stop, and perform your standard, but not a full, because you've used 10ft of your movement.
Same with the potion... you've used the action already, you can choose to not drink it if you like, but you don't get to salvage the action for it if you do, you just waste it.
But, as I'm increasingly aware of, not everyone on these boards reads rules as I do so ymmv.

Remy Balster |

Chemlak, you are right, i'm italian, so i use metrical scale :DThe intent is to move 6 squares.
Character moves 1 square.
Character tries to move another square. AoO triggers.in my opinion the third is not correct, because in my opinion AoO arrives when i left the threatened area of my enemy.
Thanks!
It depends on where that enemy was in relation to your position, and when.
Was it next to your starting position? It'd have recieved the AoO from your first square of movement.
Then again, if you moved through more than one of the squares it threatens, it could decide to take it in any of those squares, it doesn't have to take the first provoked opportunity. It is only limited in that it can only take one, but which one is up to it.
If you first provoked by trying to take the second square of movement, then the AoO happens before you leave the square... but you are already midstep, so to speak, and thus have spent the square of movement already. Meaning, you could stop, or complete that square of move, but either way, so far this turn you have used 2 squares of movement. You can continue up to your speed in move and/or use a standard action. But you're no longer eligible for a full action or a 5ft step.

Ravingdork |

You can't 5' step and then move. Moving 5' is not a 5' step. That first step is not a 5' step even if you stop moving.
Quite right. Beat me to it.
You need to declare a 5-foot step. If you don't then it is just regular movement, even if you only move 5 feet.

fretgod99 |

LoSpo wrote:
Chemlak, you are right, i'm italian, so i use metrical scale :DThe intent is to move 6 squares.
Character moves 1 square.
Character tries to move another square. AoO triggers.in my opinion the third is not correct, because in my opinion AoO arrives when i left the threatened area of my enemy.
Thanks!
It depends on where that enemy was in relation to your position, and when.
Was it next to your starting position? It'd have recieved the AoO from your first square of movement.
Then again, if you moved through more than one of the squares it threatens, it could decide to take it in any of those squares, it doesn't have to take the first provoked opportunity. It is only limited in that it can only take one, but which one is up to it.
If you first provoked by trying to take the second square of movement, then the AoO happens before you leave the square... but you are already midstep, so to speak, and thus have spent the square of movement already. Meaning, you could stop, or complete that square of move, but either way, so far this turn you have used 2 squares of movement. You can continue up to your speed in move and/or use a standard action. But you're no longer eligible for a full action or a 5ft step.
This is correct.