SiliconDon's page

Organized Play Member. 27 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.


RSS


The current rules for calculating effective encounter difficulty is as follows:

Quote:
If the PCs have more than one starship, use the highest-tier ship’s tier as a base and add 1 to this value for each additional starship within at least 2 tiers of that starship. If none are within 2 tiers, add up the tiers of all the additional starships and add 1 to the base value if the total is equals or exceeds the base starship’s tier. Use this modified value when determining the encounter’s difficulty.

However, the way this is worded, as long as there are at least one ship within two tiers of the highest tier ship, then you are free to add as many ships that are more than two tiers lowers than the highest ship as possible without changing the encounter difficulty.

For example, you could have two tier 4 ships and 174 tier 1 ships and the official way to calculate the appropriate challenge level would be to add one to the highest tier ship for the one other ship within two tiers for a total of tier 5. Obviously this is ludicrous and any GM worth their salt would never let the players get away with it, but I think it would make sense to clarify this section. Here is my proposal.

Quote:
If the PCs have more than one starship, use the highest-tier ship’s tier as a base and add 1 to this value for each additional starship within at least 2 tiers of that starship. If there are starships not within 2 tiers, add up the tiers of all the additional starships and add 1 to the base value for each multiple of the highest starship's tier (rounded down). Use this modified value when determining the encounter’s difficulty.

Example:

Two tier 5 ships and six tier 2 ships.

- Highest tier starship is (5)
- There is one starship within two tiers of the for a (+1)
- The sum of the additional starships not within 2 tiers is 12, which is two multiples (rounded down) for a (+2)

This would give an effective Starship level of (8)


If you age to venerable, get the appropriate bonuses, and Soul Transfer into a younger body, would you then get the bonuses to mental scores from aging again?


Chess Pwn wrote:

You add the damage to one of the blasts.

"Whenever you cast an evocation spell that deals hit point damage, add 1/2 your wizard level to the damage (minimum +1). This bonus only applies once to a spell, not once per missile or ray, and cannot be split between multiple missiles or rays. "

FAQ that show same rule.

The fact that this is specifically called out in the Intense Spells power would suggest that it is added in other situations where it is not called out.

Also, that FAQ is specifically for Sneak Attack, which is a whole other beast. In fact, it used to be the opposite, where you would apply Sneak Attack to multiple rays.


Okay, so how is that damage assigned?

Why is it different from Fireball?

Again, please cite a rule or ruling if available.


Sorry, the Black Powder Alchemical Reagent.

http://archivesofnethys.com/AlchemicalReagents.aspx


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

How is added spell damage calculated when added to magic missile, such as through Elemental Spell + Black Powder? Does it add to each missile or to only one?

Please source all rulings related to your answer.

1/5

Nefreet wrote:
SiliconDon wrote:
Since the condition would not have been gained during the adventure, there is no need to retire.

Your emphAsis is on the wrong syllAble.

"Conditions", as far as Pathfinder defines them, are things like Poison, Disease, Blindness, Deafness, Death, and so forth. Having one arm isn't a "condition". Since you can only gain conditions during a scenario, that's what the section you quoted is referring to.

If you can find a mechanical way to obtain a physical handicap, such as through an Oracle curse, then by all means feel free to go that route.

I would caution against going about it in any other way. Say your "one-armed" character is dominated, and ordered to attack the party. Although you've been flavoring your handicap as roleplay, now it's granting you a mechanical benefit. Same thing for claiming your character is blind, making them thus immune to sight-based effects.

But if you can find a mechanical way of going about it, go nuts.

What the difference between saying "I stab my eyes out during downtime" and "I was born blind"?

1/5

Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Just out of curiosity... what class are you looking to play? I'm going to presume... not Zen Archer Monk.

This is more just a rules clarification. I have a concept or two bouncing around I'd like to make sure aren't going to get signed into retirement their first game.

1/5

Is it possible to start play with a character that is somehow disabled with a distinct mechanical effect?

For example, I'd like to start play with a one-armed character. Page 23 of the guide says:

Quote:
All conditions gained during an adventure, except for permanent negative levels, ability drain that does not reduce an ability score to 0, and conditions that provide no mechanical effect, must be resolved before the end of the session; if these are not resolved the character should be reported as ‘dead.’

Emphasis mine. Since the condition would not have been gained during the adventure, there is no need to retire. If character creation doesn't support creating disabled characters, then you can simply gain the disability during downtime. You're still not gaining it "during the adventure", so perhaps there is some leeway in the rules.


Makes sense. Thanks for all your help.


I am a Brawler 2/Magus 2 with both the Brawler's Flurry, Spell Combat, and Spellstrike. Am I able to combine Spell Combat, Spellstrike, and Brawler's Flurry in a single full-round action.

http://www.archivesofnethys.com/ClassDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Magus wrote:

Spell Combat (Ex): At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty). If he casts this spell defensively, he can decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls, up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount as a circumstance bonus on his concentration check. If the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon attacks.

Spellstrike (Su): At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell. If successful, this melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the effects of the spell. If the magus makes this attack in concert with spell combat, this melee attack takes all the penalties accrued by spell combat melee attacks. This attack uses the weapon's critical range (20, 19–20, or 18–20 and modified by the keen weapon property or similar effects), but the spell effect only deals ×2 damage on a successful critical hit, while the weapon damage uses its own critical modifier.

http://www.archivesofnethys.com/ClassDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Brawler wrote:

Brawler’s Flurry (Ex): Starting at 2nd level, a brawler can make a brawler’s flurry as a full-attack action. When doing so, a brawler has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat when attacking with any combination of unarmed strikes, weapons from the close fighter weapon group, or weapons with the “monk” special feature. She does not need to use two different weapons to use this ability.

A brawler applies her full Strength modifier to her damage rolls for all attacks made with brawler’s flurry, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand weapon or a weapon wielded in both hands. A brawler can substitute disarm, sunder, and trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks as part of brawler’s f lurry. A brawler with natural weapons can’t use such weapons as part of brawler’s flurry, nor can she make natural weapon attacks in addition to her brawler’s flurry attacks.

My initial reflex is to say no, because Spellstrike and Full-attacks are two distinct full-attack actions, but I believe you can combine them based on this FAQ:

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fz#v5748eaic9r45 wrote:

Magus, Spell Combat: If I use spell combat, how many weapon attacks can I make?

You can make as many weapon attacks as you would normally be able to make if you were making a full attack with that weapon. For example, if you are an 8th-level magus (BAB +6/+1), you could make two weapon attacks when using spell combat.

Edit 9/9/13: This is a revised ruling about how haste interacts with effects that are essentially a full attack, even though the creature isn't specifically using the full attack action (as required by haste). The earlier ruling implied that spell combat did not allow the extra attack from haste (because spell combat was not using the full attack action).

So, what do you believe is correct? Can I combine all 3 to make a total of 3 attacks per round at -4?


Chess Pwn wrote:
somewhere in the magic or magic item rules.

The only reference to Standard Actions is for casting spells or command words for activating magic items. I am doing neither of those things. As far as I can tell, Retrieve Item sets conditions that are triggered by speaking a word and snapping your fingers (both free actions). Similar to how Explosive Rune can be triggered by reading it (also a free action).


shroudb wrote:

unless specified otherwise, it reverts to standart action.

also:
apeaking a specific word and doing a specific gesture sounds awefully similar to command word activation either way

Is there a specific resource that says this is the default?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I have a question about the spell Retrieve Item.

http://www.archivesofnethys.com/SpellDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Retrieve%20Item

In the description, it says to summon the item that it was cast on, the spellcaster must say a word and snap his fingers. I assume this is a free action. I have a GM that argues that it is a Standard Action because it is similar to a Command Word. As far as I know, a Command Word is a very specific mechanic that is related to activating magic items that is considered a Standard Action. If there any official resource that clarifies what kind of action this is?

Somewhat similar to this discussion, is there any way I can cast Retrieve Item on a regular basis as an Investigator? Retrieve Item has a duration of permanent, but it does not persist between scenarios like Continual Flame. For this reason I need to be able to cast it without spending money or materials to keep it up on a number of items between scenarios.


Andrew Christian wrote:

The only restriction is likely to be the size of the ties you are using to tie up the target.

If you are using 50' of rope, then you will likely need to take the -4 on your grapple check as you get the rope out of your backpack with the other hand, and are thus only grappling with one hand.

But if you just have 2 or 3' lengths of rope on your belt for just such an occasion that don't require you to take the -4, you likely don't have enough rope to tie up a large or huge creature.

In this case, I am grappling with the White Hair ability of the White Haired Witch and am pulling out a full 50' length of rope each time.


The Fox wrote:
Your VL is mistaken. Bull rush, overrun, and trip have size limitations (up to one category larger than you). Grapple has no such limitation. Source: Core Rulebook, Combat chapter.

He never had problems with the actual grappling, just the tie up action.


Very quick question here: when you make a grapple check to tie a creature up, is there anything preventing you from tying up a large or larger creature on a successful check?

If possible, please cite a source. It's my VL that just ruled I cannot tie up a huge creature while I was enlarged.


If I am wielding a two-handed monk weapon and using the Brawler's Flurry ability, do I get to make two attacks as if I am able to use two-weapon fighting?

AdvancedClassGuide wrote:

Brawler’s Flurry (Ex): Starting at 2nd level, a brawler can

make a brawler’s flurry as a full-attack action. When doing so,
a brawler has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat when attacking
with any combination of unarmed strikes, weapons from
the close fighter weapon group, or weapons with the “monk”
special feature. She does not need to use two different weapons
to use this ability.
A brawler applies her full Strength modifier to her damage
rolls for all attacks made with brawler’s flurry, whether the
attacks are made with an off-hand weapon or a weapon wielded
in both hands.
A brawler can substitute disarm, sunder, and
trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks as part of brawler’s
flurry. A brawler with natural weapons can’t use such weapons
as part of brawler’s flurry, nor can she make natural weapon
attacks in addition to her brawler’s flurry attacks.
At 8th level, the brawler gains use of the Improved Two-
Weapon Fighting feat when using brawler’s flurry. At 15th
level, she gains use of the Greater Two-Weapon Fighting
feat when using brawler’s flurry.

The bolded text above would indicate to me that you are. Could someone clarify?


RaizielDragon wrote:

I have three questions which pertain to grappling, two of which are specific to the Monk Archetype, Tetori.

1) The Tetori Monk has a class feature called Graceful Grappler that provides the Grab special attack at level 8. The class feature also states that they "...can use this ability against creatures his own size or smaller by spending 1 point from his ki pool, or against larger creatures by spending 2 points from his ki pool...". My question is: does the Monk have to use a point of ki in order to have/use Grab at all, or only if needing to grapple equal-sized or larger targets?

The Grab special attack was errata'd in Bestiary 2 to work against creatures up to your size. You do not need to spend Ki to use it against a creature up to medium size for a medium Tetori. You do need to spend Ki to grapple a large target, and you cannot grapple huge or larger.

RaizielDragon wrote:
2) For the same class feature, Graceful Grappler, has the update to Grab been taken into consideration? Specifically, Grab now allows the creature to use Grab on equal-sized targets. Was the 1 ki point for equal-sized targets supposed to be required in order to overcome the old version of Grab (in which you could only Grab smaller targets) or was it supposed to be required to use Grab at all?

The 1 Ki point expenditure was using the old Grab rules.

RaizielDragon wrote:
3) Grapple attempts gain bonuses that apply to attack rolls; does this have to be generic attack bonuses, or can it also be attack bonuses applied to Unarmed Strike attacks? For example, would Weapon Focus (Unarmed Strike) also give a +1 to Grapple attempts, in addition to +1 to attack rolls with Unarmed Strike? What about an Amulet of Mighty Fists +1-5? Would that give a corresponding bonus to Grapple attempts, or only to attack/damage rolls for Unarmed Strike attacks?

You do not add anything to your grapple check other than your Base Attack Bonus, Strength modifier, size modifier, or other specific feats or features that specifically modify your CMB.


It gets worse. My VC also just ruled that I do not get to use Flurry of Maneuvers while wearing armor, and that it cannot be used with non-monk weapons.


And as I posted the last comment, my VC ruled that it works the way the other GM thought.

Well, shit. Can we please mark my post as an FAQ? This is basically going to cripple a character that I have already sunk 4 levels worth of XP into.


dragonhunterq wrote:

Why on earth would it not work as flurry of blows? I doubt you'll find a definitive RAW as there is absolutely no reason for it to work differently i.e. add your monk level to your BAB from other classes. It directly replaces flurry of blows, shares the same wording, shares the same naming conventions...

If your DM can't see that, I think playing a maneouver master just became untenable.

In all honesty, I believe it's because I'm building this character:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1K356_GfIp4y3S29epR_2ZDMA9GhNanNnc8r uigVY7D4

and he believes it is too powerful. In a home game, I would respect his ruling and make a new character. However, this is a Pathfinder Societies character, and I don't believe he gets to make that call.


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I have a question about the ruling that you add your non-monk BAB to Flurry of Blows attacks. Does that same ruling apply to the Maneuver Master archetype's Flurry of Maneuvers ability that also substitutes your monk level for BAB? I have a GM that believes you use your monk level as your total BAB for the combat maneuver check in flurry of maneuvers, and that you don't add your other sources of BAB at all. For example, a Maneuver Master 1/Fighter 19 would have an effective BAB of +1 for flurry of maneuvers.

I believe it should work similarly to Flurry of Blows, where a Maneuver Master 1/Fighter 19 would have an effective BAB of +20 for flurry of maneuvers. What do you think and why? If you agree with me, how should I convince my GM? His objection is based on the fact that the ruling came out before the Maneuver Master was published in Ultimate Combat and therefore does not apply.

Relevant Links:

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9naz

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/monk#TOC-Flurry-of-Blows-Ex-

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/monk/archetypes/paizo---monk-a rchetypes/maneuver-master

1/5

Core Rulebook Page 39:

> While the vast majority of clerics revere a specific deity, a small number dedicate themselves to a divine concept worthy of devotion—such as battle, death, justice, or knowledge—free of a deific abstraction. (Work with your GM if you prefer this path to selecting a specific deity.)

I would assume the same applies to Warpriests as well. As always, double-check with your local GM and VC.


The relevant penalties are -3 for medium load and -6 for heavy load.


BeefSupreme wrote:
Hey, my friend wants to make a PC with a spiked chain & wants to know if there are rules about using the spiked chain as a strangulation device & for the life of me I can't find rules on the subject. Can someone help us find the rules please? Thank you.

I would argue that a Spiked Chain is not designed for that specific purpose, so the closest weapon would be an improvised Garrote. He would take a -4 penalty on all attack rolls (including Grapple checks) and it would deal non-lethal damage.


In Pathfinder, you don't set a course and hit go and watch what happens to your character completely hands-off during that movement. You move your character individual square by individual square. In order to speed up play, the vast majority of players will "plot a course" like you described in the original post. If anything happens during that movement, such as triggering a trap, revealing a hidden monster, or you just happen to fancy it, you can change your mind in the middle of the movement.

The only time I would prohibit this is if you were attacked by a monster or trap and wanted to rewind to a point before when you were attacked.