How other characters can assist when attempting a check


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Grand Lodge

Just to make sure I have this right, the language on the card would specify whether we can play a card to assist someone else at our same location, correct?

- You cannot play cards when they say "your check" (such as weapons which start with "For your combat check" and allies that have language like "...to your noncombat ________ check")
- You can play cards that say "a check" (such as the Tome of Knowledge, which says "Reveal this card to add 1d6 to a Knowledge check" or many Blessing cards). And in general, you need to be at the same location to do this?

Is this all correct?

Thanks!


You do NOT have to be at the same location unless the card or power specifically says "at your location". If no restriction is specified, then no restriction exists. The exception to this is the rule that says you may not play a card that defeats a bane, acquires a boon, succeeds at a check, or evades an encounter for someone else. Some cards that do these things say "a", but they should all say "your".

Grand Lodge

Thanks. That other rule makes sense. But otherwise, the "a" versus "your" language helps identify cards you can and can't play (respectively) to assist another on their turn, correct?


Yes, but remember it's not necessarily about turns. It's about checks. Certain situations can find a player making off-turn checks.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

You might find this helpful. I think quite a bit changed from the playtest, so that might explain why some of it seems unfamiliar.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / How other characters can assist when attempting a check All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion