Amazing Initiative: Can the extra standard action be part of a full round action?


Rules Questions


Quote:
At 2nd tier, you gain a bonus on initiative checks equal to your mythic tier. In addition, as a free action on your turn, you can expend one use of mythic power to take an additional standard action during that turn. This additional standard action can't be used to cast a spell. You can't gain an extra action in this way more than once per round.

Can a character use their normal standard to cast a spell, use this, then make a full attack (for example)?

I'm leaning yes, as Monk of the Four Winds lists not being able to do this as an exception, not a reminder.

Quote:
At 12th level, a monk of the four winds can use his ki to slow time or quicken his movements, depending on the observer. As a swift action, the monk can expend 6 ki points to gain three standard actions during his turn instead of just one. The monk can use these actions to do the following: take a melee attack action, use a skill, use an extraordinary ability, or take a move action. The monk cannot use these actions to cast spells or use spell-like abilities, and cannot combine them to take full-attack actions.

For non-mythic, this is still somewhat relevant with Quick Runners shirt if you decide to use it after using your normal move action (for example, you move up to a guy and the damage you take against his readied action makes you want to end the fight quick, so you activate the shirt and combine the bonus move action with your standard action to full attack).


There is no rule for combining.

For the quick runner's vest, you can use the ability before making your full-attack. Same with Hero points.


There's no real difference, except that you might not know that you wanted to full attack until after you used your "real" standard action. Otherwise, you could have used your AI action to cast the spell then full-attacked normally.

RAW, no, but 90% of the time you can make it work the way you want without conversions.


deuxhero wrote:

Can a character use their normal standard to cast a spell, use this, then make a full attack (for example)?

For non-mythic, this is still somewhat relevant with Quick Runners shirt if you decide to use it after using your normal move action (for example, you move up to a guy and the damage you take against his readied action makes you want to end the fight quick, so you activate the shirt and combine the bonus move action with your standard action to full attack).

1. From my reading of it, a full round action isn't a move and a standard action together so much as its own action that precludes the use of either, so no in my opinion. As HectorVivis said, there is not a rule for combining them as such regardless.

2. With your second example, blahpers pretty much sums it up by saying that most of the time you can have the same effect without a "you can trade a move and a standard for a full round" rule, but yeah I can see the corner cases where it could be handy.

3. I don't really think the Monk example should be used to set any sort of precedent. It is a decidedly odd ability that works its own way; it has to say the limitations of the ability because there is nothing to compare it to.

Grand Lodge

I'd say no. The RAI is obviously to disallow casting 2 spells (because op without spending the extra spell levels on quicken) or casting a spell and making a full attack, since that is the Magus' entire 'thing'.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Amazing Initiative: Can the extra standard action be part of a full round action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.