Spell stacking


Rules Questions


Do multiple instances of the same spell (e.g. blindness) stack? In other words, do you need multiple cure spells to remove multiple applications? What if they're different spells, such as blindness and glitterdust? How about dispelling a blindness spell or spells?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"Remove blindness/deafness counters and dispels blindness/deafness."

I would say that means one casting dispels one casting. That said, this is "overlap", not "stack", because "stack" is the term for when multiple effects add up and have a greater impact than a single effect. You're either blind or not-blind, you don't get more-blind. But yes, it would take more cures to dispel more effects.

Sczarni

Wrong. When you are effected by another casting of the same spell, it resets the duration but otherwise does nothing (with execption of variable effects, then it can change the max effect if its larger). It then takes only a single counter to remove it.


Shfish wrote:
Wrong. When you are effected by another casting of the same spell, it resets the duration but otherwise does nothing (with execption of variable effects, then it can change the max effect if its larger). It then takes only a single counter to remove it.

Citation? I am not familiar with a rule for that, and in general I've always assumed that overlapping effects just overlapped.

The thing is, imagine if you will two effects which are variable. You're under an Extended resist energy, then you get a resist energy, not-extended, from a higher level caster. I would say that your energy resist goes from 10 to 20 for the duration of the higher caster level spell, then back down to 10 for the remaining duration of the lower caster level spell.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

seebs wrote:
Extended resist energy, then you get a resist energy, not-extended, from a higher level caster. I would say that your energy resist goes from 10 to 20 for the duration of the higher caster level spell, then back down to 10 for the remaining duration of the lower caster level spell.

Seebs is right.

They are separate and they overlap, and multiple Resist Energies don't stack (so you can't have Resist Fire and Resist Cold simultaneously.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell stacking All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions