Do Metamagic feats add together?


Rules Questions


It's probably a stupid question, but I was reading threads for something else related to them and I thought '....waiiiit do they add? If so, I've been doing this ALL wrong!'

So my character has Magic Lineage Shocking Grasp.
I took Metamagic: Elemental Spell
Metamagic: Intensify Spell
Metamagic: Empower Spell

Because of Magic Lineage, the first two are left at level 1 and Empower is left at level two. Do these three add up to a level 4 spell slot?

Like I said, probably a stupid question, but this is my first caster type character.


Spell is level 1
You have 4 Metamagic levels (for lack of a better term).
You then subtract 1 for Magicsl Lineage.

1+4-1=4.

Your Elemental Intensified Empowered Shocking Grasp requires a level 4 slot.

How did you think it worked?


Yes, they do all add together to make a spell requiring a 5th level slot. Magical Lineage reduces that to a 4th level slot.


Well that makes things easier (or harder).
I'm not sure exactly how I thought it worked. All I know is I thought they didn't add together.
However I make my character now, it will only have one metamagic feat.

Was there something written down someplace that I missed this? I am guessing there was. I am pretty good at missing the obvious.

Edit: found where it says they are cumulative.


Don't fret. There is an item you can get to make use of those feats and you can apply them on the fly.

Staff of the Master:
Staff of the Master (Necromancy)
Aura moderate necromancy; CL 8th
Slot none; Price 30,000 gp; Weight 5 lbs.

Description
Often given as gifts to apprentices upon reaching the rank of master, these staves come in eight different varieties, one for each school of magic. This particular staff is for the school of necromancy. Aside from acting as a +1/+1 quarterstaff, this staff allows use of the following spells:

Ray of enfeeblement (1 charge)
Spectral hand (1 charge)
Vampiric touch (2 charges)
In addition, this staff can be used to cast spells using any metamagic feats known by the wielder without increasing the spell’s level. This consumes a number of charges equal to the number of spell levels increased by the feat. No more than one feat can be applied to a spell cast by the wielder in this way. Using the staff for this purpose does not increase the casting time of the spell.

Construction Requirements
Craft Magic Arms and Armor, Craft Staff, ray of enfeeblement, spectral hand, vampiric touch; Cost 15,300 gp.


Staff of the Master


Robert A Matthews wrote:

Don't fret. There is an item you can get to make use of those feats and you can apply them on the fly.

** spoiler omitted **
Staff of the Master

Speaking as someone who got one of these staves in a home game, whoever wrote it didn't know what he was doing - that 'secondary' power is worth far far more than the whole price of the staff, and even it's other powers are underpriced by 6000gp.

However, for the OP's purpose, it's useless -- "No more than one feat can be applied to a spell cast by the wielder in this way. "

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do Metamagic feats add together? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.