
Mexcalibur |

So, in a few hours it'll be my first time DMing in ever (I'm not the usual DM for our group, there is more of a round-robin thing going on and sessions are quite irregular). Because I didn't want any misunderstandings to occur during play I distributed a document containing some houserules and clarification on some core rules which- in my assumption- had been misinterpreted in our past sessions.
Not everyone agreed with my interpretation, and I would like to see this cleared up before our session begins:
If a character (let's call him Alex) moves out of a square (using a move action, not a 5-foot step) threatened by someone wielding a reach weapon (let's call him Bob) in order to move next to Bob and to attack Bob, does Bob get an attack of opportunity or not?
It is my understanding that Bob does indeed get an attack of opportunity against Alex, whereas it is my players' understanding this would only be covered by Bob readying an attack action (presumably with the trigger "Alex moves into range")- which I presume to be an entirely separate mechanic and does not interact with Bob getting an Attack of Opportunity on Alex.

Speaker for the Dead |

Yep. As soon as 'Alex' moves out of a square that 'Bob' threatens, regardless of the direction he moves, 'Bob' gets an AoO. The exception is if 'Alex' takes a 5' step to close, or a withdraw action to move away.

Remy Balster |

The AoO interrupts his attempt to move out of the square, and happens while he is still in the square 10' away.
It is the attempt to move out (not the completion of moving out) that provokes the attack, and the attack is resolved before his attempt is resolved.
You are indeed correct. You get to stick a dude who comes at ya if you have a reach weapon.

Remy Balster |

If Bob readied an attack to hit Alex when he got close enough...
Alex gets within 10', Bob's readied action goes off. Bob gets an attack. Alex then continues his move action and attempts to move in closer... this provokes an AoO and Bob get a second attack against Alex. Then Alex finally moves into range, assuming he has survived.

![]() |

By the way, something to think about:
If Bob is charging Alex in this sequence of events, Alex could use either his readied attack (if he had one) OR the AoO provoked by the charge itself, and do a trip, disarm, or sunder attack in place of the melee attack that Bob provoked.
So, Bob charges, Alex trips or disarms. While Alex may provoke an AoO for using a combaty maneuver without the Improved <maneuver> feat, unless Bob has reach, Bob won't be able to take his AoO. If Alex succeeds, remember that Bob will then provoke, again, when he stands up if he was tripped, or tries to pick up his weapon if he was disarmed.
So, Bob, have a nice day.