Drench vs Other Elementals


Rules Questions


Hello all,
I am currently running a standard Pathfinder game and have run into a situation concerning Drench (Ex).
The party activated a trap (set by a wizard [CL 9th]) that summoned a chamber guardian, a large fire elemental (CR 5, 8 HD). The party's druid (CL 4th) summoned a small water elemental (using summon nature's ally II) and then charged the fire elemental.
The player wants his elemental to use Drench as part of its attack, which is legitimate. Our issue is that, rules as written, Drench states it can put out magical fire as per dispel magic (with it's CL equaling it's HD [which is 2]).
The first part of my question is, as an extraplanar creature, can it's fire (i.e. body) be dispelled?

If so, according to the spell description for dispel magic, targeting the creature, the water elemental needs only to roll a dispel check: 1d20 + 2 (it's CL) vs DC 19 (11 + 8 [the fire elemental's HD/CL]), correct?

Thank you very much for your help!


It's not a magical fire like a Produce Flame Wall of Fire , it's a creature. So no dispelling.
If I'm wrong on this DC schould be 11 + [CL of the summonning effect], not the fire elemental's hd.

Sczarni

We ran into this problem during a PFS session when we summoned a Large Water Elemental to combat a Large Fire Elemental. We even argued about the Fire Elemental burning the other. At one point the Water pursued the Fire over a patch of Lava, and the GM ruled it still got burnt.

Would be nice to know what happens in these kinds of circumstances.


The Water Elemental is not immune to the Fire Elementals burn ability, so it takes the damage. But thanks to it's Drench ability it should easily be able to extinguish the flames if it catches on fire.
And yes, Water Elementals take damage if they walk over lava. See Lava Rules


Thanks Nimm! No dispelling makes sense. I appreciate the insight.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Drench vs Other Elementals All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.