Market Patron

Lord Nimm's page

40 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Shadeworld has it right. The MT does not have it's own spellcasting, it just increases the spell progression of other classes. It says so right in the class description.

Mystic Theurge wrote:


Spells per Day: When a new mystic theurge level is gained, the character gains new spells per day as if he had also gained a level in any one arcane spellcasting class he belonged to before he added the prestige class and any one divine spellcasting class he belonged to previously.


Instead of casting Permanency yourself, consider buying CL 20 scroll so it's harder to dispel.


I recently started a campaign and had the same issue. I decided that Perform may not be taken as background skill by bards and made the same limitation for Craft(Alchemy) concerning alchemists.

Unchained is specifically meant to be adjusted at some point, so don't feel bad if making such decisions.


It won't work with 2 levels of ranger. You can only get it as a combat style feat at ranger level 6,10,14 or 18.

Zen Archer will give you the feat at lv 3, but you also get Weapon Focus and two archery bonus feats along the way.


Yes.
Extra Revelation requires you only to have the Revelation class feature; you don't need to have oracle class levels.


You can't prepare a 9th level spell with only INT 18.

Wizard wrote:
To learn, prepare, or cast a spell, the wizard must have an Intelligence score equal to at least 10 + the spell level.

However you have still have the slot, so you can use it to prepare a lower spell or a metamagic spell (except Heighten) using a 9th level slot.


It's not listed in the universal special qualities but here: http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/monsters/cat.html#cat-cheetah

Quote:
Sprint (Ex) Once per hour, a cheetah can move at 10 times its normal speed (500 feet) when it makes a charge.


Yes. When attacking objects, this is worth mentioning.

Quote:


Energy attacks deal half damage to most objects. Divide the damage by 2 before applying the object's hardness. Some energy types might be particularly effective against certain objects, subject to GM discretion. For example, fire might do full damage against parchment, cloth, and other objects that burn easily. Sonic might do full damage against glass and crystal objects.


Yes. Not the strongest class feature, but all things considered I don't think the kensai is left behind.


The 7th level features is not just an advance, it allows the Kensai to take Fighter feats normally unavailable to the Magus (like Greater Weapon Specialsization).


The way I read it, the Kensai gets two differnt kinds of weapon Fighter Training.

At 7th level he gets the Fighter Training related to his favored weapon at his magus level -3.
However, there is no mention that he loses the normal Fighter Training gained at level 10, allowing him to pick up Disruptive or other Fighter-only feats.


Technically, I don't think that's right.
While the rules for crafting magic items and constructs might be quite similar they are not the same. Creating constructs is not covered by magic item rules, but has it's own mechanics. Also keep in mind that the result is a creature, not an item.

That being said, I see no problem in handling it the same way - but that would be my house rule. Still, I wouldn't allow the craft skill to be replaced by spellcraft.


fretgod99 wrote:
If you can't get the bonus, then you're suffering the AC penalty for no benefit.

Well, you still got extended move range, but I see your point.


Rapanuii wrote:
Maybe I missed something, or perhaps you did, but last I knew, you could replace an attack roll for a trip, disarm, or sunder combat maneuver, so wouldn't it apply here?

You're right, I missed that.

Mauril wrote:
I've always ruled that the +2 applies to any attack available on a charge, which includes trip, disarm and sunder (as they replace regular attacks) as well as bull rush and overrun (as it is explicitly useable in a charge).

While overrun is useable in a charge, there is no mention of the +2 bonus associated with the charge. They explicitly noted it for bull rush, so I can't imagine Paizo just forgetting about it.


The +2 bonus only applies only to the attack after the charge and the penalty to AC lasts until the start of your next turn. The only combat maneuver for which the +2 bonus also applies is bull rush, so you get no bonus for AoOs,(greater) trip or anything else.

The pounce ability is somehow unspecified. The normal charge rules don't consider multiple attacks (the attack roll is singular), so strictly speaking it would only apply to the first attack. Bu I would house rule that every attack gets the +2.


Majuba wrote:
I would not think so, based on the last sentence, "This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage." If it were only adding a choice, with some other listed modifications, it wouldn't need to say that.

To me, that last sentence just clarifies that all other rules (like being fatigued after rage, number of rounds per day and so on) still apply. If Paizo wanted the urban barbarian not to use normal rage, they would have phrased something like "Instead of a normal rage..".

Generally speaking, in most of the cases I would go with Zhayne

Zhayne wrote:
May means 'you can, but you do not have to'.

But since I'm not a native speaker, I might be wrong :-)


I don't see any rule against being teleported by someone else. It just can't use its own teleportation, summon or planar travel abilities.


Yes, you get a +2 resistance bonus.

Protection from Evil wrote:
First, the subject gains a +2 deflection bonus to AC and a +2 resistance bonus on saves. Both these bonuses apply against attacks made or effects created by evil creatures.


No. Trip and disarm work only in melee.


You can combine different archetypes

Archetypes wrote:
A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the base class as another alternate class feature. For example, a fighter could not be both an armor master and a brawler, since both archetypes replace the weapon training 1 class feature with something different.

So Bladebound Kensai (nice combo btw) works fine but you can't combine Bladebound and Staff Magus


The Water Elemental is not immune to the Fire Elementals burn ability, so it takes the damage. But thanks to it's Drench ability it should easily be able to extinguish the flames if it catches on fire.
And yes, Water Elementals take damage if they walk over lava. See Lava Rules


It's not a magical fire like a Produce Flame Wall of Fire , it's a creature. So no dispelling.
If I'm wrong on this DC schould be 11 + [CL of the summonning effect], not the fire elemental's hd.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

There is a weapon enhancement called Redeemed . That's, if the weapon is really unholy.


Democratus wrote:

Do you have to prepare/pray for an Su ability? It just says X feet per day. Nothing about having to pray to get the ability back.

Am I missing a rule in the Magic section of the OGC?

No. No special rule, just my assumption. It's a domain power, so I figured it replenishes when you regain your daily spells. DM call I'd say.

But whatever time of the day it may be, with no duration whatsoever an activation and use till expended is pointless.

Btw, it's Sp, not Su.


Democratus wrote:
Very interesting interpretation. I think I could live with 'activate once, use till expended'.

There is no point to that if you could activate it after preparing spells/praying and then use it as you like.

Democratus wrote:
So does the bit about "5-foot increments" mean you briefly appear in each square between you and your destination? Is the purpose here to keep you from teleporting across a chasm or other dangerous terrain?

It's a teleportation effect and "Teleportation is instantaneous travel through the Astral Plane"(Quote from magic rules). If you have line of sight and effect you may use it as you like.

The 5-foot increments just follows the usual rules for mimimum movement, preventing exploits like "I take five 14-foot teleports; saves me 5 foot"


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Rather than assuming an activation time of a standard action and an undefined duration, I'd stick to the text and leave it a move action.


Xaratherus wrote:

The general rule is that a spell-like ability takes a standard action to use. That's why they list it on the table under standard actions. In some specific circumstances, because the rules for Sps say that they can take more or less time (as described in either the Sp itself or in the equivalent spell) - but in that instance the only thing that changes is the action economy.

Well, most of the spells have a casting time of one standard action, so that should go as a general rule. Moreover, since full-round or longer casting times are not listed, one could otherwise rule they don't provoke AoO. So spells or spell-likes cast as a move action provoke AoO.

But going back to Dimensional Hop, I don't clearly see a spell referenced. In some ways it behaves like dimension door, but is clearly different (no loss of actions, needs line of sight, different range). It's more like an unique spell-like ability with no spell equivalent. Would all above still apply?

Sorry if I may seem stubborn, but I've been having difficulties with this for a long time now.


Xaratherus wrote:


The general rule is that casting a spell or using a spell-like ability provokes. Unless there is a rule that says otherwise, they always provoke.

That's what I was looking for. Where is this general rule? My only reference until now is the table "Actions in Combat"

Xaratherus wrote:
Using a spell as a swift action (using Quicken specifically) doesn't provoke because Quicken explicitly says it doesn't. No such text exists for spells (or spell-like abilities) as move or standard actions; therefore they provoke (unless the specific spell or spell-like ability you're using states otherwise).

It does say so in the Quicken rules, but it kinda just repeats a general rule. In the casting time of the magic section it is already made clear.

Quote:
Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

Also note, that there are spells with a casting time of a swift action without being quickened


Xaratherus wrote:
Because it's a spell-like ability, and in the general rules for Sps in universal creature abilities, it says this: "Using all other spell-like abilities is a standard action unless noted otherwise, and doing so provokes attacks of opportunity."

I didn't look at the universal monster rules (thx for that hint), but this is a strong incidication.

Xaratherus wrote:
Additionally, in the Combat section on the Table: Actions in Combat, "Use spell-like ability" shows that it provokes when used.

As I pointed out, it is listed under standard actions, not move actions.

This might be off-topic, but I think the universal monster rules are a contradiction to the magic rules where it reads

Quote:
A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.

So what action would a creatures Lesser Restoration spell-like take? Three rounds as indicated in the spell description or a standard action following the universal monster rules?


I may be blind, but I still don't get it.
The footnote reads

Quote:
Attack of Opportunity: Does using the ability provoke attacks of opportunity the way that casting a spell does?

So spell-like and spells are treated equally when it comes to AoO. Now I'm looking at spells.

If you cast a spell as a standard action, it does provoke one.
If you do so as a swift (or immediate) acion it doesn't.
Where is the reference to spells being cast as a move action?

Btw, the paladins detect evil, when concentrating on a single target would also be a sp as a move action.


I'm not focusing on the movement involved with dimensional hop. I pointed out that there is no table for spells or spell-like abilities cast as a move action. Another example would be the Copycat abilty from the Trickery domain. How would you handle that?

Xaratherus wrote:
So even though the ability does not provoke based on the movement, it does not state that it grants immunity from provoking due to using the Sp.

But why does it provoke an AoO in the first place?


I don't think the table mentioned above has the answer to this. When looking at the Actions in Combat table it is clear that casting a spell or spell-like ability as a standard action provokes an attack of opportunity - as a swift action it doesn't. There is no mention of a spell being cast as a move action so a faq to clarify would be great.


Burst of Speed and Nimble Striker do not stack by themselves because they do not give a bonus but only remove penalties.
They should work with Savage Charge for a total reduction of [half your fighter level] - 4.

Pretty strong IMO. There better be no pounce...


I would rule that a fighter with both archetypes would take penalty equal to half his fighter level - 2. Althoug you could rule otherwise, I don't think the designers thought of a Dervish of Dawn also being a Savage Warrior.


It should work. With the lore keeper revelation, you may add your CHA bonus instead of INT, but since you don't need to, it is still an INT-based skill.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

With Sniper's Eye you can sneak attack your opponent, even if if he has concealment. Normally you wouldn't be able to do so, as clarified in the rules.

Sneak Attack wrote:
A rogue cannot sneak attack while striking a creature with concealment.

Sneak attack however requires the target to be denied its Dexterity bonus to AC. This prerequisite is still in effect, the talent does nothing to omit that.


HaraldKlak wrote:
3) As long as a part of creature is covered by by an area spell, the creature is affected 100%. So it would blink out completely.
Normally yes, but for Antimagic Field this isn't true.
Antimagic Field wrote:
Should a creature be larger than the area enclosed by the barrier, any part of it that lies outside the barrier is unaffected by the field.

One more paradox,


HaraldKlak wrote:

So he rolls two pairs of d20, choosing that lowest of the pair. Afterwards he get that highest result between the two pairs.

This works too, but a 10th-level zen archer ends up with rolling two sets of 3d20, so chances are high for getting a decent result. Plus, you have to roll 6 dice for a single attack. Might be closer to the rules, however.


Rynjin wrote:

Guy rolls attack.

Guy re-rolls attack from Perfect Strike. He takes the higher number.

Guy re-rolls because of Misfortune. He takes the lowest number of the three.

I thouhgt of that, but you could also argue it's the other way around. First re-roll because of Perfect Strike and then because of Misfortune.

Rynjin wrote:
My personal houserule would be that they cancel each other out. Guy rolls once, normally.

This sounds like a good idea.


What happens if a charakter is affected by a misfortune hex and uses Perfect Strike?
How many attack rolls would a 10th-level zen archer or weapon adept make and which one applies?