Summons casting Antimagic


Rules Questions


Let's say that my DM or the deity my character worships grants me a summon-able monster that can cast Antimagic Field. It casts AF on itself, but being a summoned creature it blinks out? Can it move or take actions? Can it even take the free action to dispel its own field?

That brings me to another more applicable question. Many of the higher CR monsters on the list have Dispel Magic and Banishment. If they are fed up with the summoner can they cast it on themselves?


Furthermore, what is the creature is colossal and larger than the 10 foot radius circle? Is it's outer edge the only part of it that's visible? Do it's internal organs still function?


1) Hmm, good question. I would definately blink out, because of the AMF. Then the anti-magic field would disappear, and they blink back in. The AMF returns, and it repeats.
- Ruleswise we've got a paradox. As a GM, I would probably rule that the creature can't take any actions, and the area is affected by a 50% miss chance for spells.

2) Summoned creatures do the summoners bidding. They don't get tired and run away. So no casting dispel or displacement on themselves.

3) As long as a part of creature is covered by by an area spell, the creature is affected 100%. So it would blink out completely.


HaraldKlak wrote:
3) As long as a part of creature is covered by by an area spell, the creature is affected 100%. So it would blink out completely.
Normally yes, but for Antimagic Field this isn't true.
Antimagic Field wrote:
Should a creature be larger than the area enclosed by the barrier, any part of it that lies outside the barrier is unaffected by the field.

One more paradox,

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summons casting Antimagic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.