
Nymisis |
While the explanation in the FAQ leaves little room for doubt:
"No—the spell must be played as part of the current check for Blessing of Pharasma to add 2 dice."
The resolution leaves room for abuse in my opinion:
On the blessing Blessing of Pharasma, in the second power, replace "to add 2 dice to a check when playing a spell" with "to add 2 dice to a check if a spell was played during that check." (Note: This card also appears in the Character Add-On Deck.)
So character A encounters a monster that threatens to stomp him into oblivion and his draw pile is woefully short. Character B at his location decides to toss a cure his way to bolster up his deck. (The timing on this has always seemed a little odd to me but I've found nothing to indicate it isn't legal). Character A then plays a Blessing of Pharasma to add 2 dice to the check since a spell was played during the check. Obviously this isn't the intent as the explanation specifies that a spell must be played as a part of the current check and this certainly wouldn't apply but using the suggested wording it could certainly be argued could it not?

Nymisis |
You cannot play cure during an encounter. When you encounter a card, only cards and powers that affect each step or check of the encounter may be played.
Where is that specified? I have yet to be able to find anything that says when a cure can be played other than it can't be played to prevent damage because that isn't what it does.

Nymisis |
http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gk#v5748eaic9ral
Ah, I see it finally. " Players may not play any cards or activate any powers between these steps." Thanks.
I do agree that it seems odd that Pharasma should count with Guidance or Strength though.

csouth154 |
csouth154 wrote:http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gk#v5748eaic9ralAh, I see it finally. " Players may not play any cards or activate any powers between these steps." Thanks.
I do agree that it seems odd that Pharasma should count with Guidance or Strength though.
Yeah, you'd think it should be more like a Blessing of Gorum or Erastil for combat check spells.

Nefrubyr |

This worked out well for me in a recent game. I was playing solo, controlling three characters. Sajan ran into the villain - standard unarmed combat check of 1d10 + 2 (including skill feats). Lem (with weapons proficiency) discarded his Shock Longbow + 1 to add 1d4. Seelah could then play Fiery Weapon to add another 1d4, and Lem then followed with Blessing of Pharasma for 2d10. Quite the profitable sequence of events.

Kryron |

This worked out well for me in a recent game. I was playing solo, controlling three characters. Sajan ran into the villain - standard unarmed combat check of 1d10 + 2 (including skill feats). Lem (with weapons proficiency) discarded his Shock Longbow + 1 to add 1d4. Seelah could then play Fiery Weapon to add another 1d4, and Lem then followed with Blessing of Pharasma for 2d10. Quite the profitable sequence of events.
I don't believe that is correct. Pharasma affects Fiery Weapon, not the main die roll which is unarmed combat. So I think it should be 2d4, not 2d10...

csouth154 |
Nefrubyr wrote:This worked out well for me in a recent game. I was playing solo, controlling three characters. Sajan ran into the villain - standard unarmed combat check of 1d10 + 2 (including skill feats). Lem (with weapons proficiency) discarded his Shock Longbow + 1 to add 1d4. Seelah could then play Fiery Weapon to add another 1d4, and Lem then followed with Blessing of Pharasma for 2d10. Quite the profitable sequence of events.I don't believe that is correct. Pharasma affects Fiery Weapon, not the main die roll which is unarmed combat. So I think it should be 2d4, not 2d10...
No, it works just like anything else that adds dice to a check. The dice that get added are the same type as the base die.

![]() |

Kryron wrote:No, it works just like anything else that adds dice to a check. The dice that get added are the same type as the base die.Nefrubyr wrote:This worked out well for me in a recent game. I was playing solo, controlling three characters. Sajan ran into the villain - standard unarmed combat check of 1d10 + 2 (including skill feats). Lem (with weapons proficiency) discarded his Shock Longbow + 1 to add 1d4. Seelah could then play Fiery Weapon to add another 1d4, and Lem then followed with Blessing of Pharasma for 2d10. Quite the profitable sequence of events.I don't believe that is correct. Pharasma affects Fiery Weapon, not the main die roll which is unarmed combat. So I think it should be 2d4, not 2d10...
I don't agree as pharasma affects the spell check not the other die. If it effected the base die then Seoni's ability as a celestial sorcerer to let her use d12s instead of the normal die with a blessing of pharasma would not make sense. It would be redundant.

csouth154 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
csouth154 wrote:I don't agree as pharasma affects the spell check not the other die. If it effected the base die then Seoni's ability as a celestial sorcerer to let her use d12s instead of the normal die with a blessing of pharasma would not make sense. It would be redundant.Kryron wrote:No, it works just like anything else that adds dice to a check. The dice that get added are the same type as the base die.Nefrubyr wrote:This worked out well for me in a recent game. I was playing solo, controlling three characters. Sajan ran into the villain - standard unarmed combat check of 1d10 + 2 (including skill feats). Lem (with weapons proficiency) discarded his Shock Longbow + 1 to add 1d4. Seelah could then play Fiery Weapon to add another 1d4, and Lem then followed with Blessing of Pharasma for 2d10. Quite the profitable sequence of events.I don't believe that is correct. Pharasma affects Fiery Weapon, not the main die roll which is unarmed combat. So I think it should be 2d4, not 2d10...
I believe you are misunderstanding, or I should say not FULLY understanding, Seoni's role ability that you refer to. Why that ability is special is because it lets her add d12 to ANY check she plays a Pharasma on. Remember that any blessing can add a die to any check. So Seoni could use that ability to add d12 to a check for which the base die is a d4. When a card says that it "adds a die", it always adds the base die...unless that is overridden by a power like Seoni's. Understand?