Does Burning Arc do damage to a fifth target?


Rules Questions


Here is Burning arc for reference;

Spoiler:
Burning Arc

School evocation [fire]; Level sorcerer/wizard 2
CASTING

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
EFFECT

Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Targets one primary target plus one additional target/3 levels (each of which must be within 15 ft. of the primary target)
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Reflex half; Spell Resistance yes

DESCRIPTION

This spell causes an arc of flame to leap from your fingers, burning a number of enemies nearby. It deals 1d6 points of fire damage per caster level (maximum 10d6). For every additional target the discharge arcs to, reduce the number of damage dice by half (rounded down). Therefore, at 9th level, your burning arc deals 9d6 points of fire damage to the primary target, then 4d6 points of fire damage to a secondary target, then 2d6 points of fire damage to an additional target.

Each target can attempt a Reflex saving throw for half damage. The Reflex DC to halve the damage of the secondary bolts is 2 lower than the DC to halve the damage of the primary bolt. You may choose secondary targets as you like, but they must all be within 15 feet of the primary target, and no target can be struck more than once. You can choose to affect fewer secondary targets than the maximum.

My question is, the caster is now level 15, and deals 10d6 to the first target, 5d6 to the second, 2d6 to the third, 1d6 to the fourth. Does the caster deal 1d6 to the fifth (and sixth at 18) target, or does the caster not deal any damage to targets past the fourth because of rounding down?


Glutton wrote:

Here is Burning arc for reference;

** spoiler omitted **

My question is, the caster is now level 15, and deals 10d6 to the first target, 5d6 to the second, 2d6 to the third, 1d6 to the fourth. Does the caster deal 1d6 to the fifth (and sixth at 18) target, or does the caster not deal any damage to targets past the fourth because of rounding down?

No more than four targets, due to rounding down. Even an intensified burning arc is going to cap at four targets (15, 7, 3, 1).


HaraldKlak wrote:
Glutton wrote:

Here is Burning arc for reference;

** spoiler omitted **

My question is, the caster is now level 15, and deals 10d6 to the first target, 5d6 to the second, 2d6 to the third, 1d6 to the fourth. Does the caster deal 1d6 to the fifth (and sixth at 18) target, or does the caster not deal any damage to targets past the fourth because of rounding down?

No more than four targets, due to rounding down. Even an intensified burning arc is going to cap at four targets (15, 7, 3, 1).

Intensify + Empower can get you a 5th target.


Depends on how your table runs, some DM's would make an intensified, empowered burning arc 22d6, but I think by RAW it's actually 15d6 X 1.5 (say the result was 45 for the d6's, then 67 is the result), so the 4th target is still 1d6.


Glutton wrote:
Depends on how your table runs, some DM's would make an intensified, empowered burning arc 22d6, but I think by RAW it's actually 15d6 X 1.5 (say the result was 45 for the d6's, then 67 is the result), so the 4th target is still 1d6.

I think by RAW it's quite the opposite. Empower gives 50% to the variable numeric effects (dice rolled) not the total damage.

That's also why:

From Maximize Spell feat:

"An empowered, maximized spell gains the separate benefits of each feat: the maximum result plus half the normally rolled result."


Arch_Bishop wrote:
Glutton wrote:
Depends on how your table runs, some DM's would make an intensified, empowered burning arc 22d6, but I think by RAW it's actually 15d6 X 1.5 (say the result was 45 for the d6's, then 67 is the result), so the 4th target is still 1d6.

I think by RAW it's quite the opposite. Empower gives 50% to the variable numeric effects (dice rolled) not the total damage.

That's also why:

From Maximize Spell feat:

"An empowered, maximized spell gains the separate benefits of each feat: the maximum result plus half the normally rolled result."

That actually backs it up.

Example

10d6 fireball, maximized and empowered

take 60

roll 10d6 and add "half the normally rolled result."

I used to think it was roll 50% more dice until I saw some threads about empowered Magic Missile.


Also this was pointed out to me in that thread

All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by half including bonuses to those dice rolls.

So an empowered magic missile does 1d4+1 + 50% not 1d4 + 50% +1. Which I assume a Draconic bloodline Sorc's 10d6+10 fire ball is fully enhanced by empower.

That's what I read anyway.


I fully support what Glutton already said there is no 5th target not by any means I can think of. Still it is a nifty spell.


Glutton wrote:

Also this was pointed out to me in that thread

All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by half including bonuses to those dice rolls.

So an empowered magic missile does 1d4+1 + 50% not 1d4 + 50% +1. Which I assume a Draconic bloodline Sorc's 10d6+10 fire ball is fully enhanced by empower.

That's what I read anyway.

The thing is when you maximize a spell there are no variable numeric effects anymore. So a maximized empower fireball, for example, does 60+5d6 (at caster level 10).

An intesified empowered Burning Arc would do 10d6+5d6(intesified)+5d6/7d6 (depended on where you think the empower goes) resulting in 20d6/22d6
So 1st target 20/22 d6, 2nd 10/11d6, 3rd5d6, 4th2d6, 5th 1d6.

Do you a link of said thread? Cause every one I've read go by what i said.


Arch_Bishop wrote:
Glutton wrote:

Also this was pointed out to me in that thread

All variable, numeric effects of an empowered spell are increased by half including bonuses to those dice rolls.

So an empowered magic missile does 1d4+1 + 50% not 1d4 + 50% +1. Which I assume a Draconic bloodline Sorc's 10d6+10 fire ball is fully enhanced by empower.

That's what I read anyway.

The thing is when you maximize a spell there are no variable numeric effects anymore. So a maximized empower fireball, for example, does 60+5d6 (at caster level 10).

An intesified empowered Burning Arc would do 10d6+5d6(intesified)+5d6/7d6 (depended on where you think the empower goes) resulting in 20d6/22d6
So 1st target 20/22 d6, 2nd 10/11d6, 3rd5d6, 4th2d6, 5th 1d6.

Do you a link of said thread? Cause every one I've read go by what i said.

Empower spell doesn't give you additional dice it just increases the variable results by 50%, couldn't give a link directly it has been that way in 3.5 and I am failry certain the pathfinder devs have commented on it before though. Intensify does give additional dice though.


It doesn't say Variable results, it says Variable EFFECTS are increased 50%


Talcrion wrote:
It doesn't say Variable results, it says Variable EFFECTS are increased 50%

Same thing, the dice is not an effect the damage is.


here is the thread i was referring to

As to fireball like I said I think you roll the 10d6 (lets say you get 40), then you take 50% of that (20) and add it to 60, for 80. I think a lot of DM's just shorten that to 60 + 5d6 for simplicity, but in burning arcs case its important to find out if you get the dice, or merely enhance the dice.

Thats what I assume though, dangerous as that is.


Glutton wrote:

here is the thread i was referring to

As to fireball like I said I think you roll the 10d6 (lets say you get 40), then you take 50% of that (20) and add it to 60, for 80. I think a lot of DM's just shorten that to 60 + 5d6 for simplicity, but in burning arcs case its important to find out if you get the dice, or merely enhance the dice.

Thats what I assume though, dangerous as that is.

I see...

So, Empowered Burning Arc (Cstr lvl10)should be 10d6(+1/2 of what you rolled), then 5d6(+1/2 of what you rolled) then 2d6(+1/2 of what you rolled and 1d6(+1/2 of what you rolled)?

And as for your first question, the spell description needs some things I believe. Things like "For every additional target the discharge arcs to, reduce the number of damage dice by half (rounded down minimum 1d6) or "one primary target plus one additional target/3 levels (maximum 4). Since it doesn't say and its rounded down, you have to assume the later.

Silver Crusade

I am gonna ask a different question about BA since this thread isn't too old...

If I am 4th level and I have spell specialization Burning Arc I have a 6 CL. That still means I can only do 3 targets since 6d6 -> 3d6 -> 1d6

But if I am 4th level and I only have Varasian Tatoo for a 5 CL then I can only do 2 targets 5d6 -> 2d6

I don't get that final 1d6 since I can only get 1 additional target per the restriction

Is this correct?

Scarab Sages

The Target section contradicts the example given in the spell.

The Target section says

"Targets one primary target plus one additional target/3 levels (each of which must be within 15 ft. of the primary target)"

That would mean with a CL 6 you would have 3 targets.

BUT...

The example says

"Therefore, at 9th level, your burning arc deals 9d6 points of fire damage to the primary target, then 4d6 points of fire damage to a secondary target, then 2d6 points of fire damage to an additional target."

So that would mean you only get 3 targets at 9th level. Which would mean the targets section should say one addition target per 3 levels above 3rd.

When the targets section contradicts the descriptive text which takes precedence?

The Exchange

did the correct number of targets ever get resolved?

was there ever an answer to the question "When the targets section contradicts the descriptive text which takes precedence?"


Doesn't need to, I'd say - example text is not rule text. Otherwise, the spell would behave different at 9th level than at any other level, just because it happens to use that level for the example - that makes no sense.

So, a total of four targets at 9th level it is.

Liberty's Edge

It caps at 10d6, so, at most, it goes 10d6, 5d6, 2d6, 1d6. Even when it can target more targets, those after the 4th take 0d6, i.e no damage.

An intensified version doing 15d6 will go 15d6, 7d6, 3d6, 1d6. Still 4 targets.

To get 5 targets you need a version that does 16d6 or more.

It is a 2nd level spell, it already does more damage than normal. Ultimate magic table 2-5 gives 10 dices as the maximum damage for a single target spell, 5 dices as the maximum damage for a multi targets spell. A CL 10 Burning arc does 10 dices of damage to a target and 5d, 3d, 1d to another 3 targets. Those extra dices are a bonus above the maximum intended damage for a 2nd level spell.
It is not the only one doing that, but it put it in the "better than average" list.

The Exchange

so a 3rd level caster (lowest possible) would do
3rd level caster would do 3d6 vs. Primary Target, and 1d6 vs. the secondary target.

a 4th level caster would do 4d6, then 2d6...

6th level would do 6d6, 3d6 and 1d6 (adding in a 3rd target)

at 9th level it would do 9d6, 4d6, 2d6 and 1d6...

so the descriptive text should say... "Therefore, at 9th level, your burning arc deals 9d6 points of fire damage to the primary target, then 4d6 points of fire damage to a secondary target, then 2d6 points of fire damage to another target and then 1d6 point of fire to a fourth target."

(I am assuming you can NOT target the same creature more than once? and a Primary Target can't be targeted again as a secondary target? Having the spell bounce back and forth between two targets hitting one for 9d6 and then 2d6 and the other for 4d6 and then 1d6.)

Liberty's Edge

nosig wrote:

so a 3rd level caster (lowest possible) would do

3rd level caster would do 3d6 vs. Primary Target, and 1d6 vs. the secondary target.

a 4th level caster would do 4d6, then 2d6...

6th level would do 6d6, 3d6 and 1d6 (adding in a 3rd target)

at 9th level it would do 9d6, 4d6, 2d6 and 1d6...

so the descriptive text should say... "Therefore, at 9th level, your burning arc deals 9d6 points of fire damage to the primary target, then 4d6 points of fire damage to a secondary target, then 2d6 points of fire damage to another target and then 1d6 point of fire to a fourth target."

Yes.

nosig wrote:


(I am assuming you can NOT target the same creature more than once? and a Primary Target can't be targeted again as a secondary target? Having the spell bounce back and forth between two targets hitting one for 9d6 and then 2d6 and the other for 4d6 and then 1d6.)

Your assumption is correct, it is at the end of the spell description:

Quote:
You may choose secondary targets as you like, but they must all be within 15 feet of the primary target, and no target can be struck more than once.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Burning Arc do damage to a fifth target? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.