
![]() |

First, a link to the spell.
and... the spell... spoilered to reduce space
Shield Other
School abjuration; Level cleric 2, paladin 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, F (a pair of platinum rings worth 50 gp worn by both you and the target)
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one creature
Duration 1 hour/level (D)
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)
This spell wards the subject and creates a mystic connection between you and the subject so that some of its wounds are transferred to you. The subject gains a +1 deflection bonus to AC and a +1 resistance bonus on saves. Additionally, the subject takes only half damage from all wounds and attacks (including those dealt by special abilities) that deal hit point damage. The amount of damage not taken by the warded creature is taken by you. Forms of harm that do not involve hit points, such as charm effects, temporary ability damage, level draining, and death effects, are not affected. If the subject suffers a reduction of hit points from a lowered Constitution score, the reduction is not split with you because it is not hit point damage. When the spell ends, subsequent damage is no longer divided between the subject and you, but damage already split is not reassigned to the subject.
If you and the subject of the spell move out of range of each other, the spell ends.
So, last week, I was running a game where a "healbot" cleric had set up Shield Other on the group's barbarian. In the course of the adventure, they had to go through a tight, curving corridor, where line-of-sight would be broken.
I ruled, at that time, that the stone walls blocking Line-of-Sight and Line-of-Effect would break the spell, based on the line "If you and the subject move out of range of each other, the spells ends". So, the barbarian had to move, and then ready a second move triggering on the Cleric moving closer to him.
I still think that I have the intent of the spell correct. However, when you read "Line Of Effect" it talks about only the initial casting. So, the reason for this post... to follow up, and make sure that I made the correct ruling. I think I did, but you never know...

![]() |

You have a 'mystic connection' between yourself and the subject, and have the platinum rings to help make that. I would rule that line of effect doesn't apply here, or any time you turn a corner, it is potentially broken. The spell is already very restrictive in that it requires a close range, which at tenth level still limits how far that barbarian can charge.

Mojorat |

Line of effect only matters when cast. The only reason the spell ends when the range is exceeded is because it says it does. Think of it this way.
I cast Haste on the barbarian, he then moves through tghe door and around a corner. You dont expect haste to stop working do you?
Shield other only stops working in the above situation if you cast it ont he barbarian and he went around a corner and out of range. If all he did was stand on the other side of a door while you were safe it would stiill work.

Darksol the Painbringer |

Straight line is the best option to calculate distance, because the raw distance from the caster to the target is what the spell's range is talking about. Going another method is not only incorrect by the rules, but is also illogical when a spell does not require a Line of Effect when it is already cast and active on a target. Regardless of such, walls are not applicable when discussing a case of space between Point A and Point B (the method in which spell range applies).
Also take note that Line of Sight only applies upon casting of the spell on the target, since it requires seeing the target to cast the spell upon them; however, after this, the spell is ticking in duration and does its own thing, so requiring Line of Sight or Effect makes no sense since the character does not have to actively concentrate on the target to apply the spell's effects.
So by rights, the spell does have a leash, but you simply did not calculate its effects correctly.