
Question |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Obscuring mist :
The vapor obscures all sight, including darkvision, beyond 5 feet. A creature 5 feet away has concealment (attacks have a 20% miss chance). Creatures farther away have total concealment (50% miss chance, and the attacker cannot use sight to locate the target).
http://imgur.com/3Vncyhz
Black box is the AOE of a obscuring mist spell, and the PC is at the edge.
Im assuming that he has concealment from enemy A, and total concealment against enemies B and C.
Is this correct?
Also, im guessing he can see enemy A, but not see enemies B and C as well?
For sanctuary/miserable pity, what counts as attacking for the purpose of breaking the spell?
Does the misfortune hex or any other debuff count as attacking? What about casting a AOE spell on an empty space with no targets inside (e.g. web)?
What happens if you use, say, misfortune or a hostile hex, then cast miserable pity/sanctuary on yourself and use cackle to extend the hex? Does cackling count as attacking to break the spell?
If you attempt to attack a creature under the effect of sanctuary and fail the save, can you choose to attack someone else?

Rynjin |

On the second one, basically anything that is detrimental to an enemy is an attack.
If it triggers a save vs an effect, it is an attack. If it has an attack roll, it is an attack. If it is an AoE that catches an enemy in its radius, it is an attack.
Casting an AoE on empty squares, however, is not an attack.
If you cast Web, and later someone walks into the Web, you're fine.
If you cast Web and it covers a square the guy is already in, it's an attack.

Kayerloth |
For me the way I've always done it the PC has 20% concealment from all 3 of his opponents (A,B and C,) and each of his foes have no concealment from the PC.
Edit:
To determine whether your target has concealment from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that provides concealment, the target has concealment.
When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has concealment if his space is entirely within an effect that grants concealment. When making a melee attack against a target that isn't adjacent to you, use the rules for determining concealment from ranged attacks.
In addition, some magical effects provide concealment against all attacks, regardless of whether any intervening concealment exists.

Kayerloth |
If you attempt to attack a creature under the effect of sanctuary and fail the save, can you choose to attack someone else?
Depends, do you have actions left? Full attacks with iterative attacks remaining and combat reflexes come to mind as times when you might get further attacks at other targets.
If the save fails, the opponent can't follow through with the attack, that part of its action is lost, and it can't directly attack the warded creature for the duration of the spell.
Can you still threaten someone for the purpose of flanking when under the effects of sanctuary, without breaking the spell?
The subject cannot attack without breaking the spell but may use non-attack spells or otherwise act.
If this is why you ask this last question then yes you still threaten if you are the caster of the Sanctuary provided you otherwise threaten the space (i.e. can attack the space) since you may elect to 'break the spell' and attack anyway. Least that is how I'd do it.

bigrig107 |

If you attempt to attack a creature under the effect of sanctuary and fail the save, can you choose to attack someone else?
Can you still threaten someone for the purpose of flanking when under the effects of sanctuary, without breaking the spell?
To the first, I would rule that you could redirect your first "attack" to a different, legal target.
The second, since the act of flanking doesn't require an attack, I would say yeah, you can flank without breaking Sanctuary.
This brings an interesting question though. Can you flank, or get the flanking bonus, while invisible?

Question |
Question wrote:Why, isnt the PC standing in obscuring mist?Yes, but he isn't standing deep enough into the obscuring mist to warrant total concealment.
Oh right, i meant wont the PC have at least normal concealment?
Im confused because the spell says "5 ft away" but it doesnt specify if it means 5 ft of mist between you and the target or something else.

Question |
For me the way I've always done it the PC has 20% concealment from all 3 of his opponents (A,B and C,) and each of his foes have no concealment from the PC.
Edit:
Concealment wrote:To determine whether your target has concealment from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that provides concealment, the target has concealment.
When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has concealment if his space is entirely within an effect that grants concealment. When making a melee attack against a target that isn't adjacent to you, use the rules for determining concealment from ranged attacks.
In addition, some magical effects provide concealment against all attacks, regardless of whether any intervening concealment exists.
Thanks for the quote, but im still confused as to how it applies to obscuring mist because of the wording.
A creature 5 ft away has concealment.
If two people are adjacent to each other, does that count as 5 ft away? Or is that counted as less than 5 ft?

![]() |

Thanks for the quote, but im still confused as to how it applies to obscuring mist because of the wording.
A creature 5 ft away has concealment.
If two people are adjacent to each other, does that count as 5 ft away? Or is that counted as less than 5 ft?
A creature 5 feet away is in an adjacent square. If there was a 5-foot square of mist between them, they would be 10 feet apart.

Ravingdork |

Okay...so if a PC is standing in mist, and a adjacent creature is not in the mist, would the PC have a miss chance against the adjacent creature?
I would say no. If the rolls were reversed, with the PC outside the mist attacking in, I'd say yes.

Elbedor |

Question wrote:Okay...so if a PC is standing in mist, and a adjacent creature is not in the mist, would the PC have a miss chance against the adjacent creature?I would say no. If the rolls were reversed, with the PC outside the mist attacking in, I'd say yes.
Yeah, that sounds like a GM call. I can see it going either way since you do technically have about 2.5 feet of mist between PC and A. If anything, I'd probably split the difference and call it a 10% miss. But then if it does fall to PC's favor, target A deserves what's coming since he's not stepping into the mist to avail himself of the concealment. :P

Kayerloth |
If the PC is attacking A,B or C he doesn't trace any line that goes through any squares containing Obscuring Mist no matter which corner of A,B or C's squares he traces that line to. Conversely when A,B or C attack the PC 2 of the lines they must trace pass through the square the PC is standing in (and hence that square counts for concealment, in this case 5 ft worth) ... make sense?