| Kildaere |
| 3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
In discussing a recent game where I allowed a teleport into an anti-life shell, I was told that should not have worked as the PC was "entering" the area of the shell. The spell defines the shell as a "a mobile, hemispherical energy field that prevents the entrance of most types of living creatures." I always interpreted that as "entering" as trying to move across the energy field. As a hemisphere, a critter with burrow could always go under it, for example, so why would a teleport not work?
| mplindustries |
You are assuming that the hemisphere is a plane, and not filling the entire area. I mean, technically, a hemisphere is a 3-D object with volume, not just the outer bounds of that object as you're assuming.
In either case, the GM is correct, because there's no clear rule on it in the spell description itself.
| Kildaere |
Interesting. For some reason I thought it was a "shell" not a volume. I don't believe it would have changed the fight as the Anti-Magic Field would have killed it (along with the more troubleing "Fickle winds") on the next round. But the "volume" thing is good to know. Would that ruling stand in PFS?
| Speaker for the Dead |
It's called a "shell" in it's name but described as "hemispherical" in the spell description. The dictionary definition for hemispherical is half of a sphere, and a sphere has volume. Which they meant is open to interpretation <shrug>. I suppose it could be argued that it's a shell since it would be rather uncomfortable to be the caster in the center of such a field :-)
| seebs |
Re-reading things:
A hemisphere is not necessarily solid.
See Wikipedia's entry for "sphere":
Like a circle, which, in geometrical contexts, is in two dimensions, a sphere is the set of points that are all the same distance r from a given point in space.
Note: This describes the surface only, not the interior volume. The interior volume is all points less than r from that given point.
A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can't see. It can't affect creatures with total cover from its point of origin (in other words, its effects don't extend around corners). The default shape for a burst effect is a sphere, but some burst spells are specifically described as cone-shaped. a burst's area defines how far from the point of origin the spell's effect extends.
An emanation spell functions like a burst spell, except that the effect continues to radiate from the point of origin for the duration of the spell. Most emanations are cones or spheres.
The emanation is clearly solid, as described here. And as such, a living caster using it ought to instantly break it, because:
Forcing an abjuration barrier against creatures that the spell keeps at bay collapses the barrier.
But since it's centered on you, it clearly has to pass through you to get to its 10' radius, and that means you are perpetually forced against it.
... But obviously that can't possibly be intended, right? And indeed, "barrier" makes it seem very likely that they mean the surface of the sphere, not its volume.
If I were running this: I would completely ignore the definition of "emanation", and just rule that it's the surface of a 10' radius sphere, centered on you. Although I'm not sure how to handle the cover thing. For instance, does a tower shield block it? It doesn't block spells targeting you, but an emanation isn't targeting. What about a wall, or door?
Say you have anti-life shell up, and you are standing by a door, and there's a person on the other side. The door blocks the emanation, by default, so they can be within 10' of you. Now, you open the door. What happens? Pretty sure the barrier collapses, because it can't force them (or you) to move.
So imagine a 5' wide wall. You are on one side of the wall, caster is on the other. The emanation clearly radiates past the wall, but you're not inside it. The question is, can you then sneak in by walking past the wall, but well less than 10' from the caster? I don't think so.
So basically, imagine an emanation out from the caster, and assume that its surface is the barrier. Things cannot cross that barrier, but I think they can teleport in, because it doesn't say the barrier prevents the presence of such creatures, only their entry.
| Kildaere |
See. I think I am in more agreement with Seebs. Without getting into complicated emination issues, for me it simply comes down to the fact that it is described as a hemispherical shell that prevents entry. If if was not ment to be a shell and instead be a volume would not the spell be better named as Antilife Field (simlar to Antimagic Field, and include similar languge about the spells Area?) And why make it a hemisphere shell if you are not ment to be able to go under it?
I am back to thinking I ruled correctly. Convice me otherwise again. Maybe we need to FAQ this one?
| wraithstrike |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
See. I think I am in more agreement with Seebs. Without getting into complicated emination issues, for me it simply comes down to the fact that it is described as a hemispherical shell that prevents entry. If if was not ment to be a shell and instead be a volume would not the spell be better named as Antilife Field (simlar to Antimagic Field, and include similar languge about the spells Area?) And why make it a hemisphere shell if you are not ment to be able to go under it?
I am back to thinking I ruled correctly. Convice me otherwise again. Maybe we need to FAQ this one?
The spell is an emanation so it has to be 3d. It just happens to take the form of a half circle. It is not so much a solid object as it is energy, much like protect from evil that stops summoned creatures from touching you.
You are not allowed to occupy the same space as that emanation, and if you try to burrow you will still run into the emanation once you reach above ground.
Now if it was like the domed version of Ice where it created an outer shell, but the inside was empty then it would work but it is not a solid object with an empty interior. It is not an object at all.
A hemisphere only means a half circle. It does does not default to an empty shell, and going back to the emanations:
Burst, Emanation, or Spread: Most spells that affect an area function as a burst, an emanation, or a spread. In each case, you select the spell's point of origin and measure its effect from that point.
A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can't see. It can't affect creatures with total cover from its point of origin (in other words, its effects don't extend around corners). The default shape for a burst effect is a sphere, but some burst spells are specifically described as cone-shaped. A burst's area defines how far from the point of origin the spell's effect extends.
An emanation spell functions like a burst spell, except that the effect continues to radiate from the point of origin for the duration of the spell. Most emanations are cones or spheres.
It is radiating energy the center to the outer edge, much like invisibility purge.
In short emanation are AoE spells by the book so the entire area is affected.
edit:
The earth is divided into to hemispheres
hemisphere
A half of a symmetrical, approximately spherical object as divided by a plane of symmetry.
sphere (sfr)
n.
1. Mathematics A three-dimensional surface, all points of which are equidistant from a fixed point.
So all you did was cut the 3d object's volume in half. That does not mean it is no longer a 3d measurement. Go cut an apple in half, and it is still has volume.
| Azothath |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
... Convince me otherwise again.
You ruled correctly and incorrectly.
The hemispherical emanation "prevents the entrance of most types of living creatures". Thus on of the types of living creatures listed could not "enter" the area. This implies movement (speed, swim, fly, burrow...). If you consider Teleport spell a form of movement, then you ruled incorrectly.
Teleport says it transports you and is of the conjuration school.
By example a Summon Monster(conjuration) creature would be suppressed by the area of effect(AoE) of a Antimagic Field (AoE emanation) until the field and the summon monster effect were no longer overlapping.
So we could assume that the teleport transports you to square "B" within the Antilife shell AoE, but since you did not "enter" the area you may stand in your new square. You cannot move as you cannot enter any areas in the AoE, though I would allow retreat (it is an Abjuration) directly away from the center of the emanation. Antilife is passive and does not push you out of the AoE.
A second interpretation based on a more common sense approach has you in a teleportation incident where you are shunted to an open area adjacent to the AoE. A.k.a. close but no cigar.
On going under... to me, clearly the AoE is bounded by the ground surface, as solid objects stop emanations and bursts. If you were flying the AoE should be a complete sphere. You can burrow under it as you are NOT in the AoE of Antilife Shell. If you try to burrow up through it you are stopped at the perimeter(surface of the AoE) as you cannot "enter" the area.
Protection from Evil, Magic Circle against Evil, Antimagic Field, Repulsion would be a good set of example spells.
| Azothath |
to support "enter an area" as requiring movement.
A door or wall prevents entrance into a room, but you can teleport into the room.
A Glyph of Warding "harms those who enter, pass, or open the warded area or object", "Glyphs respond to invisible creatures normally but are not triggered by those who travel past them ethereally." Similarly one could teleport into a warded area and so long as you didn't move, be okay (this is an interpretation). If the glyph was on the portal, teleporting into the room successfully bypasses it.
| blahpers |
Kildaere wrote:See. I think I am in more agreement with Seebs. Without getting into complicated emination issues, for me it simply comes down to the fact that it is described as a hemispherical shell that prevents entry. If if was not ment to be a shell and instead be a volume would not the spell be better named as Antilife Field (simlar to Antimagic Field, and include similar languge about the spells Area?) And why make it a hemisphere shell if you are not ment to be able to go under it?
I am back to thinking I ruled correctly. Convice me otherwise again. Maybe we need to FAQ this one?
The spell is an emanation so it has to be 3d. It just happens to take the form of a half circle. It is not so much a solid object as it is energy, much like protect from evil that stops summoned creatures from touching you.
You are not allowed to occupy the same space as that emanation, and if you try to burrow you will still run into the emanation once you reach above ground.
Now if it was like the domed version of Ice where it created an outer shell, but the inside was empty then it would work but it is not a solid object with an empty interior. It is not an object at all.
A hemisphere only means a half circle. It does does not default to an empty shell, and going back to the emanations:
Quote:...Burst, Emanation, or Spread: Most spells that affect an area function as a burst, an emanation, or a spread. In each case, you select the spell's point of origin and measure its effect from that point.
A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can't see. It can't affect creatures with total cover from its point of origin (in other words, its effects don't extend around corners). The default shape for a burst effect is a sphere, but some burst spells are specifically described as cone-shaped. A burst's area defines how far from the point of origin the spell's effect extends.
An emanation spell functions like a burst spell, except that the
Your dictionary quote supports the shell argument, not the volume argument. A sphere is a three-dimensional surface. It is not the area enclosed by that surface. That is specifically defined as a ball, just as a circle is the outer perimeter and a disk is the area enclosed.
| Azothath |
...sphere, ball, shell...
I understand the more rigid mathematical definitions and you and Majuba put forward, and yall are correct and I agree with you, but I think arguing about them is unproductive and does not address the point at hand. People either know them or do not. If anything this is a game manual and we should assume common english definitions to be primary and the fact that it is a solid or not to be undefined. If we saddle the writers with the knowledge of mathematics we will have to assume that they forgot them in other sections... lol... like why Antilife "Shell" when the AoE is clearly NOT a shell by the mathematical definition... lol, ok onto other things...
I tend to think of the rules as descriptive and not rigid definitions. Taking them literally can get you into a mess of contradictions. Things have certainly improved since the AD&D days, but I still don't think writers are physicists or mathematicians. Probably a good thing as most people fall asleep after 15 pages of most physics textbooks. <EG>
| Majuba |
I tend to think of the rules as descriptive and not rigid definitions. Taking them literally can get you into a mess of contradictions.
I feel the same actually, which is why I feel the spell, which is described as a "Shell" and a "Barrier" that "hedges out" and "prevents entrance", won't do more than it says. Nothing mathematical about it, other than correcting the definition of a hemisphere.
| blahpers |
Got it. So, either the words "sphere" and "ball" are either off-limits for rules text or have to be redundantly defined each time they are used? Frankly, I'd hope that the writers could assume that the reader was familiar with elementary school shape definitions.
The rules are schizophrenic. Some of them are meant to be taken descriptively, and some are meant to be taken literally. When asked to clarify which are which, well, ... Good luck with that one.
| seebs |
If we assume it's solid, then the caster breaks it instantly if the caster is "alive". There's no general rule that you can't be affected by your own spells.
And if it's blocked by solid objects, then tunneling into it ... well, I'm not sure what happens. Until you break through, you are clearly not in the area of effect, because emanations don't go through solid things.
When you break through, what happens? You can't be forced to move. I think one of two things happens:
1. The barrier crosses you as it expands towards its 10' radius. This pushes it against you and breaks the spell.
2. The barrier reappears at its full radius, and you are now inside it.
| Cevah |
Components V, S, DF
Casting Time 1 round
Range 10 ft.
Area 10-ft.-radius emanation, centered on you
Duration 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes
You bring into being a mobile, hemispherical energy field that prevents the entrance of most types of living creatures.
The effect hedges out animals, aberrations, dragons, fey, giants, humanoids, magical beasts, monstrous humanoids, oozes, plants, and vermin, but not constructs, elementals, outsiders, or undead.
This spell may be used only defensively, not aggressively. Forcing an abjuration barrier against creatures that the spell keeps at bay collapses the barrier.
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M/DF (pinch of powdered iron or iron filings)
Range 10 ft.
Area 10-ft.-radius emanation, centered on you
Duration 10 min./level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance see text
An invisible barrier surrounds you and moves with you. The space within this barrier is impervious to most magical effects, including spells, spell-like abilities, and supernatural abilities. Likewise, it prevents the functioning of any magic items or spells within its confines.
An antimagic field suppresses any spell or magical effect used within, brought into, or cast into the area, but does not dispel it.
Time spent within an antimagic field counts against the suppressed spell’s duration.
Summoned creatures of any type and incorporeal undead wink out if they enter an antimagic field. They reappear in the same spot once the field goes away. Time spent winked out counts normally against the duration of the conjuration that is maintaining the creature. If you cast antimagic field in an area occupied by a summoned creature that has spell resistance, you must make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) against the creature’s spell resistance to make it wink out. (The effects of instantaneous conjurations are not affected by an antimagic field because the conjuration itself is no longer in effect, only its result.)
A normal creature can enter the area, as can normal missiles. Furthermore, while a magic sword does not function magically within the area, it is still a sword (and a masterwork sword at that). The spell has no effect on golems and other constructs that are imbued with magic during their creation process and are thereafter self-supporting (unless they have been summoned, in which case they are treated like any other summoned creatures). Elementals, corporeal undead, and outsiders are likewise unaffected unless summoned. These creatures’ spell-like or supernatural abilities may be temporarily nullified by the field. Dispel magic does not remove the field.
Two or more antimagic fields sharing any of the same space have no effect on each other. Certain spells, such as wall of force, prismatic sphere, and prismatic wall, remain unaffected by antimagic field. Artifacts and deities are unaffected by mortal magic such as this.
Should a creature be larger than the area enclosed by the barrier, any part of it that lies outside the barrier is unaffected by the field.
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, DF
Range 10 ft.
Area 10-ft.-radius emanation, centered on you
Duration 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes
The antiplant shell spell creates an invisible, mobile barrier that keeps all creatures within the shell protected from attacks by plant creatures or animated plants. As with many abjuration spells, forcing the barrier against creatures that the spell keeps at bay strains and collapses the field.
All are 10' radius emanations. Here is the diagram (CRB p215):
_ _ _ _ _ _
_ _ X X _ _
_ X X,X X _
_ X X X X _
_ _ X X _ _
_ _ _ _ _ _
They center on the intersection (the comma in the pic), where you clearly cannot stand. This is a problem. Do you shift the field 2.5' up and over so it centers on your square, or do you increase the radius by that much? I vote the latter.
I agree with Wraithstrike that the entire volume is affected, however, I think the effect of the two "shell" spells is a surface barrier due to words like "entrance", "hedges out", and "barrier" in the antilife shell, and words like "barrier" in the antiplant spell, but "within", "brought into", and "cast into" for antimagic field.
Lastly, note that an antiplant field does not prevent a plant creature from starting in the field, but does prevent it from attacking. How that works is another matter. :-)
/cevah
| spalding |
Did everyone ignore Wraithstrike? I'd read his post again and look at the wording on Emanations. Makes it pretty clear that its everything between the caster and the edge of the spell.
he lost me at 3 dimensional surface, then claiming a surface is a solid.
however the emanation point is really the important on in my opinion.
of course simply standardizing the formatting of spells and terms then enforcing that standardization across all spells would help.
| Scavion |
I saw the thing about emanations, I just think that it's almost certainly an oversight rather than an intended meaning, because otherwise the spell description makes no sense.
That somewhat makes all emanations funky dontcha think? Why reference the area type of the spell if you weren't going to use it?
Mosaic
|
Going in another direction... what about just using a Large reach weapon? A nice 20' spear, for example. Anti-Life Shell only has a 10' radius. The spear isn't alive. The living attacked stands 15' away from the caster and pokes her with the spear.
| wraithstrike |
wraithstrike wrote:...Kildaere wrote:See. I think I am in more agreement with Seebs. Without getting into complicated emination issues, for me it simply comes down to the fact that it is described as a hemispherical shell that prevents entry. If if was not ment to be a shell and instead be a volume would not the spell be better named as Antilife Field (simlar to Antimagic Field, and include similar languge about the spells Area?) And why make it a hemisphere shell if you are not ment to be able to go under it?
I am back to thinking I ruled correctly. Convice me otherwise again. Maybe we need to FAQ this one?
The spell is an emanation so it has to be 3d. It just happens to take the form of a half circle. It is not so much a solid object as it is energy, much like protect from evil that stops summoned creatures from touching you.
You are not allowed to occupy the same space as that emanation, and if you try to burrow you will still run into the emanation once you reach above ground.
Now if it was like the domed version of Ice where it created an outer shell, but the inside was empty then it would work but it is not a solid object with an empty interior. It is not an object at all.
A hemisphere only means a half circle. It does does not default to an empty shell, and going back to the emanations:
Quote:Burst, Emanation, or Spread: Most spells that affect an area function as a burst, an emanation, or a spread. In each case, you select the spell's point of origin and measure its effect from that point.
A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can't see. It can't affect creatures with total cover from its point of origin (in other words, its effects don't extend around corners). The default shape for a burst effect is a sphere, but some burst spells are specifically described as cone-shaped. A burst's area defines how far from the point of origin the spell's effect extends.
An emanation spell functions like a
An emanation takes up an area by the rules. This spell has no rules exception to say otherwise.
| wraithstrike |
Going in another direction... what about just using a Large reach weapon? A nice 20' spear, for example. Anti-Life Shell only has a 10' radius. The spear isn't alive. The living attacked stands 15' away from the caster and pokes her with the spear.
The living creature is not entering the area so I think that would work.