Wands, rods, etc


Rules Questions


hey all

another noob question..

im not quite sure how magic wands,rods and scrolls work...

can all classes pick them up and use them?


A scroll is a "spell completion" item and it works like this:

Spell Completion: This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that's left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can't already cast the spell, there's a chance he'll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action (or the spell's casting time, whichever is longer) and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.

While a wand is a spell trigger item and works like this:

Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

Scolls are 'spell completion items'. They can only be used by characters with that spell on their class spell list, or who make a successful Use Magic Device check. They also have some rules that come into effect if you are not of high enough level to use the spell.

Wands are 'spell trigger items'. They can only be used by characters with that spell on their class spell list, though, like scrolls, a successful Use Magic Device check bypasses that limit.

Rods are unique items, so that depends on the rod. Usually, anyone can use them, though it might not do any good. (For instance, a rogue can carry a Metamagic rod, but they won't get much use out of it.)


So lets go through this step by step because it is VERY weird.

Step 0 Decipher the scroll: this lets you know what is on the scroll so you can use it. It takes the use of the Read Magic spell or a spellcraft check (DC 20 + level of the spell) to decipher the scroll. You can do this ahead of time, outside of combat etc. Its essentially like identifying an item.

Step 1: Is the spell on your class's spell list? If no, you can't use this scroll without a Use Magic Device Check (more on that later). If yes, go to step 2.

Step 2a: Can you cast spells of equal or higher level than the spell on the scroll?

Step 2b: Do you have a high enough ability score to cast a spell of this level? (E.G. to cast spells a Wizard needs his primary casting stat (int) to be at least 10 plus the spell level, so 13 for 3rd level spells, 17 for 7th level spells and so on) If you said yes to both 2a and 2b move to step 4. If you said no to either step 2a or 2b, go to step 3.

Step 3: You couldn't normally cast this spell either because your caster level is too low or your casting stat is too low. To successfully activate the scroll you need to roll a Caster Level Check (DC=scroll's caster level+1). If you fail this check, the scroll does not activate, go to step 3a. If you succeed, go to step 4.

Step 3a: You failed to activate the scroll, so there might be a "mishap". Make a Wisdom Check (d20 + wisdom modifier) vs DC 5 (natural 1s always fail). If you succeed, there is no mishap and the scroll is not expended. If you fail, the scroll is expended and there is a mishap. There are several example mishaps given in the section on scrolls, which occurs is up to your GM.

Step 4: You successfully activated the scroll and the spell is cast just as if you had cast it like a normal spell on your list, however, instead of your own caster level, you determine the effects of the spell using the caster level of the scroll (if not specified, assume the minimum caster level required to cast the spell).

Grand Lodge

mark scully wrote:

hey all

another noob question..

im not quite sure how magic wands,rods and scrolls work...

can all classes pick them up and use them?

No, and yes, but there are rods, such as the metamagic rods, that will only benefit casters.

They work just as the books say they do. What exactly is confusing you about the specific rules text?


thanks lord malkov, that helped..

1)u have to have the use magical device skill to use a rod or wand?
2)and u have to have a pc class that can cast spells to use a scroll?

so say a rogue "finds" a wand/rod in a mansion, said rogue cannot use it unles it has the use magic device skill?

Grand Lodge

mark scully wrote:

thanks lord malkov, that helped..

1)u have to have the use magical device skill to use a rod or wand?
2)and u have to have a pc class that can cast spells to use a scroll?

so say a rogue "finds" a wand/rod in a mansion, said rogue cannot use it unles it has the use magic device skill?

Rods are of two types, general use, like the rod of lordly might, which anyone can use, and metamagic rods which are useless to non-casters.

Wands are spells in a stick, and you either have to have the spell within on your class list, or resort to use magic device which is a class skill to certain classes including rogues.


so thats a yes to nr1?

just to clear things up

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

I think some examples are in order.

Wands

A wizard can use a wand of magic missile - magic missile is on his spell list.

A cleric can use a wand of cure light wounds for the same reason.

If they traded wands, though, they'd need to use the Use Magic Device skill, because a wizard does not have cure light wounds on his class list and the cleric does not have magic missile on his list.

A rogue doesn't have a spell list at all - he needs Use Magic Device to use ANY wand.

Rods

Anyone can use a Rod - they're activated by Command Word (which means they're voice activated) or by some type of control on the rod itself (like how the Rod of Lordly Might has buttons.) You do not need Use Magic Device to activate a rod.

Some types of Rod are special purpose, like Metamagic rods. Nothing stops a rogue (for instance) from carrying one, but since he cannot cast spells, he gets no benefits from doing so.

Scrolls

Scrolls work like wands, just with the chance of mishap discussed a few posts ago.


thanks man...

that just made everything clear...:)
this really helped..

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32

Glad to help.


Lord_Malkov wrote:

So lets go through this step by step because it is VERY weird.

<stuff>

You missed a bit.

CRB p490 wrote:

To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.

• The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)
• The user must have the spell on her class list.
• The user must have the requisite ability score.

Scrolls are arcane or divine. If you are an arcane caster with a divine scroll, you need UMD even if the spell is on your list and you have the stat for it. Caught me recently.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wands, rods, etc All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.