rolling one


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


I'm sure that I'm bring dumb but if you roll one one a skill check is that always a fail even when your skill bonuses are more than the DC of the check


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

That seems right.


No, as far as the rules go, you cant crit fail a skill check. The same goes for a 20: a 20 on a skill check does not auto-succeed.

This was the rule in 3.5:
"Unlike with attack rolls and saving throws, a natural roll of 20 on the d20 is not an automatic success, and a natural roll of 1 is not an automatic failure."

They dont have anything official in pathfinder, beyond this:
"If the result of your skill check is equal to or greater than the difficulty class (or DC) of the task you are attempting to accomplish, you succeed. If it is less than the DC, you fail."

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/skills#TOC-Ability-Checks-and-Caster-Level-Che

There's even a post by SKR specifying that routine tasks should become "routine" after a while, especially if you invest a lot of points in it:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2lhlz?Natural-1-on-skill-checks#13

Although if your GM is making you roll like that on EVERYTHING, that might become a bit tedious. Although never forget, circumstances can make the DC vary quite a lot.
Although I have heard of people houseruling crit-fails on skill checks.


The 1 and 20 rules apply to attack rolls and saving throws. Nothing else. If you need a DC 15, and you have +14 to the skill (and no penalties), you cannot fail.

Grand Lodge

tony gent wrote:
I'm sure that I'm bring dumb but if you roll one one a skill check is that always a fail even when your skill bonuses are more than the DC of the check

Skill checks are the only D20 roll where One isn't an auto fail, Nor is 20 an auto-success.


Not the only one. For example, there's no rule saying a concentration check auto-fails on a natural one.

Grand Lodge

Automatic Misses and Hits wrote:
A natural 1 (the d20 comes up 1) on an attack roll is always a miss. A natural 20 (the d20 comes up 20) is always a hit. A natural 20 is also a threat—a possible critical hit (see the attack action).
Automatic Failures and Successes wrote:
A natural 1 (the d20 comes up 1) on a saving throw is always a failure (and may cause damage to exposed items; see Items Surviving after a Saving Throw). A natural 20 (the d20 comes up 20) is always a success.

There is no such entry under Using Skills, which means that only the final total matters.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / rolling one All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion
Writing an AP