Snake Style


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can't seem to find anything on this.

How can you take an immediate action for the second attack in Snake Fang since you've already taken an immediate action in Snake Style?


You can't. Using the snake style feat is different than activating a single aspect of the snake style feat that uses an immediate action. In fact, even in the Snake Style feat description it states that the ability that requires an immediate action requires you to be using snake style first, showing that the feat & this one ability are separate.

Unfortunately this means you can't use Snake Style to it's fullest extent on top of using Snake Fang.


From what i heard there is some mystic rules that allow you to take two immediate actions (or immediate action and swift action).


No such rule besides a house rule does that


Lol, mystic. I ment Mythic.


DarkPhoenixx wrote:
Lol, mystic. I ment Mythic.

nope the one you are thinking of gives extra limited standard action.

Monsters do have dual iniative which give them two turns in a single round. So they could do it. but not pcs


You can't.

But Snake Fang triggers every time someone misses you, not just when you use Snake Style to deflect.

Basically, Snake Style is your "Get out of a pounding free." card, whereas Snake Fang is your "How dare you miss me you fool!" card.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Rynjin wrote:
But Snake Fang triggers every time someone misses you [while you have Snake Style active], not just when you use Snake Style to deflect.

Added the implied clause. If you have Snake Style active, but can't or choose not to make the Sense Motive roll, and are missed, you can take the AoO and if THAT hits, spend the immediate action to get another.

My MoMS/Ki Mystic Monk rarely had the luxury of taking that second strike, because he'd almost always have already used his swift/immediate either for Snake Style or for the Mystic Insight.

Sczarni

Justin Rocket wrote:

Can't seem to find anything on this.

How can you take an immediate action for the second attack in Snake Fang since you've already taken an immediate action in Snake Style?

If you've already used an immediate action, then you may not use another until your next turn. Also I believe using an immediate action spends your swift action.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Kazumetsa Raijin wrote:
using an immediate action spends your swift action.

Yes, it spends your swift on the next turn.

Sczarni

Thank you James! I'm trying everyday to get things correct and spread that correct information :)

Silver Crusade

Concerning snake style, it says:

While using the Snake Style feat, when an opponent targets you with a melee or ranged attack, you can spend an immediate action to make a Sense Motive check. You can use the result as your AC or touch AC against that attack.

It doesn't say that you have to declare your intention to use your immediate action BEFORE your opponent rolls its dice (which many abilities require). Can you wait until you know the roll before you decide to trigger the sense motive check? In a "real world" approach I would think you would need to do so (and therefore potentially blow your immediate action in a situation where your opponent rolls a 1), but since it says in game that you can perform an immediate action "at any time" you could argue that you don't need to commit to using your sense motive until you know the blow is going to hit (e.g. your foe rolled something high enough to hit your normal AC).

What do people think?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Such a rule does exist. Can't remember where though.


Corvid Black wrote:

Concerning snake style, it says:

While using the Snake Style feat, when an opponent targets you with a melee or ranged attack, you can spend an immediate action to make a Sense Motive check. You can use the result as your AC or touch AC against that attack.

It doesn't say that you have to declare your intention to use your immediate action BEFORE your opponent rolls its dice (which many abilities require). Can you wait until you know the roll before you decide to trigger the sense motive check? In a "real world" approach I would think you would need to do so (and therefore potentially blow your immediate action in a situation where your opponent rolls a 1), but since it says in game that you can perform an immediate action "at any time" you could argue that you don't need to commit to using your sense motive until you know the blow is going to hit (e.g. your foe rolled something high enough to hit your normal AC).

What do people think?

It's interesting, I've only had it for one level so far... but I started rolling 'during' the attackers attack and hoping I needed it... But just the last week or two, I also noticed the 'Immediate' Action and don't think I really needed to do that. I'm not 100% but I think an Immeidate (at any time) action actually CAN be used 'after' the dice are rolled and you see if you need it. That's how I played it last week, and it seemed to work just fine.

Scarab Sages

Most of the time, I'm able to boost my Monk's AC high enough that it's higher than my average Sense Motive roll. So I usually reserve spending the immediate action for Snake Style to just against touch attacks.

Snake Fang, on the other hand, is the main tactic of the build. I generally try to provoke any round I'm not getting a full attack, and I try to face off against creatures with multiple attacks. Between that and flurry, it adds up to a lot of attacks.


I dipped my Inquisitor into unarmed fighter for one level and picked this up... Sense motive is a class skill for my Inquistor and I use it a LOT...

I'm rather pleased with this combo so far :D

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Snake Style All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.