dhampirs and channel energy


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 71 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Dark Archive

I saw several posts arguing whether or not a dhampir can be healed by channel negative, but I didn't see this particular issue address, which has come up and may be an issue in PFS as RAW is kinda stoopid.

Negative Energy Affinity: Though a living creature, a dhampir reacts to positive and negative energy as if it were undead—positive energy harms it, while negative energy heals it.

A neutral cleric of a neutral deity (or one who is not devoted to a particular deity) must choose whether she channels positive or negative energy. Once this choice is made, it cannot be reversed. This decision also determines whether the cleric can cast spontaneous cure or inflict spells.

Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric.

emphasis mine. I have a kinslayer dhampir that has dipped cleric with the channeling scourge feat, allowing me to channel at 3d6. with pharasma as my deity, I chose to channel negative, thinking I could channel negative to heal, getting my 3d6 without hurting my party (other than potentially healing other undead or negative affinity creatures).

however, the channel target living or undead. a dhampir is a living creature that is affect *as* an undead creature. meaning my channel negative to heal would not hit me at all. my channel negative to harm would get me my 3d6, but at the expense of hitting all of my living allies with 3d6 in damage within 30 ft.

this can't be correct, but that's how the rules are written. can I get clarification?


Having a Dhampir Oracle character concept in mind, I have to say that I read it that channelling negative energy to heal Undead would heal the Dhampir as the Dhampir counts as undead for that purpose. A negative undead-healing burst won't harm living creatures at the same time, though.

Channel Energy wrote:
An evil cleric (or a neutral cleric who worships an evil deity) channels negative energy and can choose to deal damage to living creatures or to heal undead creatures.

(My emphasis).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Don't over think this one. The rule is only complicated if you make it complicated.

Quote:
Negative Energy Affinity: Though a living creature, a dhampir reacts to positive and negative energy as if it were undead—positive energy harms it, while negative energy heals it.

Dhampirs react to negative energy as it it's an undead; so if you channel energy to heal undead, it targets the dhampir as if he were undead (even though he's not) and it heals the dhampir as if he were undead (even though he's not. Ditto with positive energy.

Yeah, you can read this one on it's head and get a rule that doesn't make any sense, but why on earth would you do that?


You would get healed when you were hit by the negative energy it doesn't matter if you or someone else was intending to harm the living or heal undead and you'd get hurt by positive energy if you got it by it.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Is that the most current wording of NEA?


Quote:

Negative Energy Affinity (Ex) The creature is alive but is healed by negative energy and harmed by positive energy, as if it were an undead creature.

Format negative energy affinity; Location Defensive Abilities

EDIT: This is the most recent Bestiary entry as presented on PRD.


Jiggy wrote:
Is that the most current wording of NEA?

Yes. From the ARG


Okay let me make this simple:

1) Channel negative to heal (undead or dhamphir because of their racial trait) - Negative Energy Affinity: Dhampires are alive, but are healed by negative energy and harmed by positive energy, as if they were an undead creature.

2) So when someone channels negative to heal, you and any other undead are healed by the negative, but NO ONE is harmed.

3) When someone channels positive energy to heal, you and any other undead are NOT healed and are NOT harmed.

4) When someone channels negative energy to harm, only the living are harmed and you are not harmed or healed.

5) When someone channels positive energy to harm, only undead and you are harmed, but the living are not harmed or healed.

Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.


Dread Knight wrote:
You would get healed when you were hit by the negative energy it doesn't matter if you or someone else was intending to harm the living or heal undead and you'd get hurt by positive energy if you got it by it.

Also after looking at Channeling Scourge it would only sacks to affect damage so you'd only get the base dice to heal yourself that you'd get for your cleric level.


ub3r_n3rd wrote:


Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.

Actually based off of the FAQ it doesn't matter what the channeler is trying to do negative heals and positive harms.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.
Actually based off of the FAQ it doesn't matter what the channeler is trying to do negative heals and positive harms.

How do you figure?

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

*emphasis mine

The intent seems straight forward to me. It works as if the Dhampir were undead.

Also, the rest of that FAQ:

Quote:
Negative Energy Affinity (Ex) The creature is alive, but is treated as undead for all effects that affect undead differently than living creatures, such as cure spells and channeled energy. Format: negative energy affinity; Location: Defensive Abilities.

Treated as undead. Simple. Healing undead? Healed. Harming undead? Harmed. Not affecting undead? Not affected.

Dark Archive

Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.

Actually based off of the FAQ it doesn't matter what the channeler is trying to do negative heals and positive harms.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

my question is two-fold - do I channel living or undead to hit my dhampir? if I channel living, I'm hitting my party. if I channel undead, I don't hit myself at all.

and if channeling scourge only applies to dealing damage - does that include channel negative or not?


Let me make even more simple with a scenario.

I'm a cleric, I decide that my party needs to be healed with positive energy one of the party is a dhampir, but we are facing undead that are pounding on most of the party who are normal humans/elves/dwarves.

I channel to heal, this heals all of the living, but does NOT harm the dead or the dhampir.

Subsequently, I channel to HARM the undead in the area using my positive energy, this harms ALL the undead AND the dhampir, but it does not harm the living in the party.

So yes, it does matter what you want to do. You have 2 options whenever you channel, you can channel to harm or to heal. You cannot do BOTH at the same time.

Channel Energy (Su):

Regardless of alignment, any cleric can release a wave of energy by channeling the power of her faith through her holy (or unholy) symbol. This energy can be used to cause or heal damage, depending on the type of energy channeled and the creatures targeted.

A good cleric (or a neutral cleric who worships a good deity) channels positive energy and can choose to deal damage to undead creatures or to heal living creatures. An evil cleric (or a neutral cleric who worships an evil deity) channels negative energy and can choose to deal damage to living creatures or to heal undead creatures. A neutral cleric of a neutral deity (or one who is not devoted to a particular deity) must choose whether she channels positive or negative energy. Once this choice is made, it cannot be reversed. This decision also determines whether the cleric can cast spontaneous cure or inflict spells (see spontaneous casting).

Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric. The amount of damage dealt or healed is equal to 1d6 points of damage plus 1d6 points of damage for every two cleric levels beyond 1st (2d6 at 3rd, 3d6 at 5th, and so on). Creatures that take damage from channeled energy receive a Will save to halve the damage. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the cleric's level + the cleric's Charisma modifier. Creatures healed by channel energy cannot exceed their maximum hit point total—all excess healing is lost. A cleric may channel energy a number of times per day equal to 3 + her Charisma modifier. This is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity. A cleric can choose whether or not to include herself in this effect.

A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability.

Inside the spoiler, bold emphasis mine, notice there are numerous places where it says "OR" and "can choose". The end.


melferburque wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.

Actually based off of the FAQ it doesn't matter what the channeler is trying to do negative heals and positive harms.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

my question is two-fold - do I channel living or undead to hit my dhampir? if I channel living, I'm hitting my party. if I channel undead, I don't hit myself at all.

and if channeling scourge only applies to dealing damage - does that include channel negative or not?

1) You channel negative energy to HEAL your dhampir, this will NOT harm your party of living creatures.

2) If you channel positive to HEAL your party, your dhampir is NOT effected whatsoever.

Look at the previous post where I put the channel energy spoiler in.

Dark Archive

Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.

Actually based off of the FAQ it doesn't matter what the channeler is trying to do negative heals and positive harms.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

this is where I'm confused. a good cleric can channel positive energy to hurt undead or heal the living, but not both at the same time. she has to choose one or the other (based on living or undead target). so why does the negative energy automatically hit the dhampir, even if it was meant to harm the living?


Quote:
Negative Energy Affinity: Though a living creature, a dhampir reacts to positive and negative energy as if it were undead—positive energy harms it, while negative energy heals it.

This is about as straightforward an example of "specific trumps generic" as I've ever seen. The rule calls out the normal rule by stating "though a living creature", then lays out that this rule works differently despite the normal rule. It's very clear:

Channel positive to heal? Nothing.
Channel positive to damage? Hurts.
Channel negative to heal? Heals.
Channel negative to harm? Nothing.


melferburque wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.

Actually based off of the FAQ it doesn't matter what the channeler is trying to do negative heals and positive harms.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

this is where I'm confused. a good cleric can channel positive energy to hurt undead or heal the living, but not both at the same time. she has to choose one or the other (based on living or undead target). so why does the negative energy automatically hit the dhampir, even if it was meant to harm the living?

Yes, it's the wording. You can DO only 1 at a time, so you pick to heal OR harm with your positive energy. So as a good cleric you can't heal your dhampir member, but as an evil cleric you could since they can channel negative to heal undead and negative to harm the living, neutral must choose a side whether to channel positive or negative.


Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.

Actually based off of the FAQ it doesn't matter what the channeler is trying to do negative heals and positive harms.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

Emphasis mine; based on it saying that the intent doesn't matter it seems straightforward that negative heals no matter what and positive harms no matter what.

Dark Archive

ub3r_n3rd wrote:


1) You channel negative energy to HEAL your dhampir, this will NOT harm your party of living creatures.

2) If you channel positive to HEAL your party, your dhampir is NOT effected whatsoever.

Look at the previous post where I put the channel energy spoiler in.

Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living)

dhampirs are living creatures that are healed by negative energy. I get what you're trying to say, it makes total sense. but it is not RAW. and I don't want to get screwed in PFS by a rules lawyer.

do I choose to heal/harm or do I choose living/undead? I always assumed the two were redundant, but the dhampir is an odd duck.

is there a ruling that specifically says I can channel negative to heal a living creature?


Dread Knight wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.

Actually based off of the FAQ it doesn't matter what the channeler is trying to do negative heals and positive harms.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

Emphasis mine; based on it saying that the intent doesn't matter it seems straightforward that negative heals no matter what and positive harms no matter what.

Wrong, plain and simple.

When you play and your cleric channels positive energy to heal the party who is completely surrounded by undead do the undead ALSO take damage?

No, this is an OR situation. The cleric can channel positive energy to heal OR harm. Not BOTH AT THE SAME TIME.

Right here: Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric. See the "or" and "one type"? This is part of the RAW, you do NOT get both at the same time.


melferburque wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


1) You channel negative energy to HEAL your dhampir, this will NOT harm your party of living creatures.

2) If you channel positive to HEAL your party, your dhampir is NOT effected whatsoever.

Look at the previous post where I put the channel energy spoiler in.

Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living)

dhampirs are living creatures that are healed by negative energy. I get what you're trying to say, it makes total sense. but it is not RAW. and I don't want to get screwed in PFS by a rules lawyer.

do I choose to heal/harm or do I choose living/undead? I always assumed the two were redundant, but the dhampir is an odd duck.

is there a ruling that specifically says I can channel negative to heal a living creature?

1) Your dhampir is considered an undead for purposes of positive/negative energy and they have the negative energy affinity. We have that figured out right? Harmed by positive healed by negative.

2) The heal/harm are one in the same as the living/undead, you HEAL LIVING with Positive OR you HARM UNDEAD with Positive.
2a) You don't do both at the same time.
2b) You choose to heal or to harm, the healing only heals living (does not damage undead), the harm only harms undead, but doesn't heal the living or harm them.


melferburque wrote:
do I choose to heal/harm or do I choose living/undead? I always assumed the two were redundant, but the dhampir is an odd duck.

Ahhh, I see.

The question is, "As a cleric, do I choose to channel energy to heal or harm, or do I choose to channel energy to affect living creatures or undead creatures?"

Per CRB, a cleric chooses to channel positive energy "to heal living creatures" or "to harm undead". In the dhampir's case, per the race escription, it is treated as an "undead" instead of a "living creature". So channeling positive energy to heal living creatures would do nothing, but channeling positive energy to harm undead would harm the dhampir.

Basically, pretend the dhampir is a skeleton, not a living creature. How would the cleric's actions affect a skeleton? Apply that same effect to the dhampir.


ub3r_n3rd wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


Pretty simple, it is based on the type of energy and what the person channeling is trying to do. Of course with different feats that can exclude you and only target enemies of the party things will change, but these are the default rules.

Actually based off of the FAQ it doesn't matter what the channeler is trying to do negative heals and positive harms.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

Emphasis mine; based on it saying that the intent doesn't matter it seems straightforward that negative heals no matter what and positive harms no matter what.

Wrong, plain and simple.

When you play and your cleric channels positive energy to heal the party who is completely surrounded by undead do the undead ALSO take damage?

No, this is an OR situation. The cleric can channel positive energy to heal OR harm. Not BOTH AT THE SAME TIME.

Right here: Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the cleric. See the "or" and "one type"? This is part of the RAW, you do NOT get both at the same time.

Do they have Negative Energy Affinity? If not then you're correct they aren't harmed by positive energy to heal but if they do based on the FAQ the intent doesn't matter it's automatic negative heals and positive harms.


blahpers wrote:
melferburque wrote:
do I choose to heal/harm or do I choose living/undead? I always assumed the two were redundant, but the dhampir is an odd duck.

Ahhh, I see.

The question is, "As a cleric, do I choose to channel energy to heal or harm, or do I choose to channel energy to affect living creatures or undead creatures?"

Per CRB, a cleric chooses to channel positive energy "to heal living creatures" or "to harm undead". In the dhampir's case, per the race escription, it is treated as an "undead" instead of a "living creature". So channeling positive energy to heal living creatures would do nothing, but channeling positive energy to harm undead would harm the dhampir.

Basically, pretend the dhampir is a skeleton, not a living creature. How would the cleric's actions affect a skeleton? Apply that same effect to the dhampir.

This right here is 100% correct. Pretend the dhamphir is just a friendly undead in your party for the purposes of what you want to do. You will never be able to heal them with your positive energy, only harm if they get out of line :P


Dread Knight wrote:
Do they have Negative Energy Affinity? If not then you're correct they aren't harmed by positive energy to heal but if they do based on the FAQ the intent doesn't matter it's automatic negative heals and positive harms.

It all comes down to this:

Is the cleric healing OR harming with his channeling of positive energy?

Healing - He is targeting the living in the group and channeling to HEAL them, he has picked "living" in the "living OR undead" part.

Harming - He is targeting the undead in the group and channeling to HARM them, he has picked "undead" in the "living OR undead" part.

So in or out of combat, the cleric can only heal his living friends OR harm the undead (friend or foe), not both at the same time. He has picked a target group in the living OR undead.

Dark Archive

ub3r_n3rd wrote:
blahpers wrote:
melferburque wrote:
do I choose to heal/harm or do I choose living/undead? I always assumed the two were redundant, but the dhampir is an odd duck.

Ahhh, I see.

The question is, "As a cleric, do I choose to channel energy to heal or harm, or do I choose to channel energy to affect living creatures or undead creatures?"

Per CRB, a cleric chooses to channel positive energy "to heal living creatures" or "to harm undead". In the dhampir's case, per the race escription, it is treated as an "undead" instead of a "living creature". So channeling positive energy to heal living creatures would do nothing, but channeling positive energy to harm undead would harm the dhampir.

Basically, pretend the dhampir is a skeleton, not a living creature. How would the cleric's actions affect a skeleton? Apply that same effect to the dhampir.

This right here is 100% correct. Pretend the dhamphir is just a friendly undead in your party for the purposes of what you want to do. You will never be able to heal them with your positive energy, only harm if they get out of line :P

this is my understanding as well (and *I* am the dhampir), but the sticking point is that little problem that he is a living creature, and channels target living or undead.

if I channel negative to heal, I either heal all the bad guys (and not myself), or heal myself but hurt everyone around me that's living. I'm sure 99% of the time this won't be an issue. but I've had one person catch the discrepancy, and it could happen again in a game. dhampir boons are not easy to come by, I am very protective of this character.

the channeling scourge feat still says I can channel 3d6 against living opponents to harm. it just appears I can't channel 3d6 to heal myself, regardless.


ub3r_n3rd wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:
Do they have Negative Energy Affinity? If not then you're correct they aren't harmed by positive energy to heal but if they do based on the FAQ the intent doesn't matter it's automatic negative heals and positive harms.

It all comes down to this:

Is the cleric healing OR harming with his channeling of positive energy?

Healing - He is targeting the living in the group and channeling to HEAL them, he has picked "living" in the "living OR undead" part.

Harming - He is targeting the undead in the group and channeling to HARM them, he has picked "undead" in the "living OR undead" part.

So in or out of combat, the cleric can only heal his living friends OR harm the undead (friend or foe), not both at the same time. He has picked a target group in the living OR undead.

Yes he can affect the living or undead with positive energy which a creature with Negative Energy Affinity is harmed by and would then harm the creature with NEA.

Grand Lodge

melferburque wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:


1) You channel negative energy to HEAL your dhampir, this will NOT harm your party of living creatures.

2) If you channel positive to HEAL your party, your dhampir is NOT effected whatsoever.

Look at the previous post where I put the channel energy spoiler in.

Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living)

dhampirs are living creatures that are healed by negative energy. I get what you're trying to say, it makes total sense. but it is not RAW. and I don't want to get screwed in PFS by a rules lawyer.

do I choose to heal/harm or do I choose living/undead? I always assumed the two were redundant, but the dhampir is an odd duck.

is there a ruling that specifically says I can channel negative to heal a living creature?

No... but your Dhampir is the exception because DESPITE being a living creature, he falls under the rules of how channeling energy interacts with undead.

That's the price of playing a dhampir... you have to find different ways of healing yourself, unless you either are, or travel around with a negative channeling cleric.

Dark Archive

LazarX wrote:

No... but your Dhampir is the exception because DESPITE being a living creature, he falls under the rules of how channeling energy interacts with undead.

That's the price of playing a dhampir... you have to find different ways of healing yourself, unless you either are, or travel around with a negative channeling cleric.

I am, or soon will be. currently a 4th level inquisitor and planned to dip cleric for 5th level. the channeling scourge gives me 3d6 to harm, I just haven't been able to figure out how to channel to heal.

I have a wand of inflict light to use on myself and a potion of inflict mod on my belt with instructions that it is a suppository if I ever go down in melee. I have been careful to avoid any good clerics channeling to heal thus far, and thankfully none of them have tried to harm undead.


Dread Knight wrote:


Do they have Negative Energy Affinity? If not then you're correct they aren't harmed by positive energy to heal but if they do based on the FAQ the intent doesn't matter it's automatic negative heals and positive harms.

Correct. No matter what, a creature with NEA heals from negative and takes harm from positive... BUT

A channeling Cleric still can't heal and harm at the same time.


Quantum Steve wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:


Do they have Negative Energy Affinity? If not then you're correct they aren't harmed by positive energy to heal but if they do based on the FAQ the intent doesn't matter it's automatic negative heals and positive harms.

Correct. No matter what, a creature with NEA heals from negative and takes harm from positive... BUT

A channeling Cleric still can't heal and harm at the same time.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.


melferburque wrote:
LazarX wrote:

No... but your Dhampir is the exception because DESPITE being a living creature, he falls under the rules of how channeling energy interacts with undead.

That's the price of playing a dhampir... you have to find different ways of healing yourself, unless you either are, or travel around with a negative channeling cleric.

I am, or soon will be. currently a 4th level inquisitor and planned to dip cleric for 5th level. the channeling scourge gives me 3d6 to harm, I just haven't been able to figure out how to channel to heal.

I have a wand of inflict light to use on myself and a potion of inflict mod on my belt with instructions that it is a suppository if I ever go down in melee. I have been careful to avoid any good clerics channeling to heal thus far, and thankfully none of them have tried to harm undead.

Channeling Scourge only increases your ability to Harm, not to heal.

So the question here is: What are you channeling? Negative or Positive Energy?

If you are channeling negative energy, you are going to be able to harm the living an additional amount because you count your Inquisitor levels for channeling.

If you are channeling positive energy (I really hope you aren't if you are a dhampir), then you are adding your levels of inquisitor to HARM undead (which would mean you are going to harm yourself here).

This doesn't help you with healing as the feat only says "harm".


Dread Knight wrote:
Quantum Steve wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:


Do they have Negative Energy Affinity? If not then you're correct they aren't harmed by positive energy to heal but if they do based on the FAQ the intent doesn't matter it's automatic negative heals and positive harms.

Correct. No matter what, a creature with NEA heals from negative and takes harm from positive... BUT

A channeling Cleric still can't heal and harm at the same time.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

Right. Regardless of the intent of the Cleric, the NEA creature is "healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead)."

If you channel positive energy to heal the living, you don't harm the undead, likewise you don't harm a creature with NEA. This has nothing to do with NEA, it's how Channel Energy works. NEA doesn't change Channel Energy.


That's what I've been saying all along, maybe wires are getting crossed on the interwebs or I didn't explain it well enough *shrugs* who knows.


Quantum Steve wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:
Quantum Steve wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:


Do they have Negative Energy Affinity? If not then you're correct they aren't harmed by positive energy to heal but if they do based on the FAQ the intent doesn't matter it's automatic negative heals and positive harms.

Correct. No matter what, a creature with NEA heals from negative and takes harm from positive... BUT

A channeling Cleric still can't heal and harm at the same time.

FAQ wrote:

Negative Energy Affinity: How is this ability (Bestiary 2, page 299) supposed to work?

The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder. However, as written, the ability is a bit confusing because of the phrase “reacts to,” which doesn’t have a clear definition. This ability will be changed in the next printing of Bestiary 2.

Right. Regardless of the intent of the Cleric, the NEA creature is "healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead)."

If you channel positive energy to heal the living, you don't harm the undead, likewise you don't harm a creature with NEA. This has nothing to do with NEA, it's how Channel Energy works. NEA doesn't change Channel Energy.

Except you do harm them since they are harmed by Positive Energy


Okay hold on here, @Dread Knight, you are asserting...

Because of the NEA of the Dhampir, they are HARMED in situations where the good cleric channels positive energy to HEAL even though the cleric has targeted LIVING creatures to heal rather than choosing UNDEAD creatures (like the Dhamphir with their NEA) to HARM?

IF that's what you are saying, you are wrong. If I'm misunderstanding you, I apologize.


NEA doesn't change the way Channel Energy works. Full Stop.

Grand Lodge

melferburque wrote:
LazarX wrote:

No... but your Dhampir is the exception because DESPITE being a living creature, he falls under the rules of how channeling energy interacts with undead.

That's the price of playing a dhampir... you have to find different ways of healing yourself, unless you either are, or travel around with a negative channeling cleric.

I am, or soon will be. currently a 4th level inquisitor and planned to dip cleric for 5th level. the channeling scourge gives me 3d6 to harm, I just haven't been able to figure out how to channel to heal.

I have a wand of inflict light to use on myself and a potion of inflict mod on my belt with instructions that it is a suppository if I ever go down in melee. I have been careful to avoid any good clerics channeling to heal thus far, and thankfully none of them have tried to harm undead.

Are you a negative channeler? If the answer is yes, then you use channel to heal undead or your ability to spontaneously cast inflict spells, to heal Dhampirs.

If you are a positive channeler, then your only option is to prepare inflict spells for that purpose.


ub3r_n3rd wrote:

Okay hold on here, @Dread Knight, you are asserting...

Because of the NEA of the Dhampir, they are HARMED in situations where the good cleric channels positive energy to HEAL even though the cleric has targeted LIVING creatures to heal rather than choosing UNDEAD creatures (like the Dhamphir with their NEA) to HARM?

IF that's what you are saying, you are wrong. If I'm misunderstanding you, I apologize.

Personally I'd say that the Dhamphir is living and would be healed by Channel energy to harm the living and hurt by energy to heal the living but what I'm saying is that based on the wording of the FAQ if a creature with NEA is hit by negative energy that harms/heals such as Channel Energy and inflict spells they are healed no matter if it was intended to harm the living or heal the undead and the same with positive energy they are harmed no matter the intent to heal or harm by the caster of the energy.


Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:

Okay hold on here, @Dread Knight, you are asserting...

Because of the NEA of the Dhampir, they are HARMED in situations where the good cleric channels positive energy to HEAL even though the cleric has targeted LIVING creatures to heal rather than choosing UNDEAD creatures (like the Dhamphir with their NEA) to HARM?

IF that's what you are saying, you are wrong. If I'm misunderstanding you, I apologize.

Personally I'd say that the Dhamphir is living and would be healed by Channel energy to harm the living and hurt by energy to heal the living but what I'm saying is that based on the wording of the FAQ if a creature with NEA is hit by negative energy that harms/heals such as Channel Energy and inflict spells they are healed no matter if it was intended to harm the living or heal the undead and the same with positive energy they are harmed no matter the intent to heal or harm by the caster of the energy.

This isn't 3.5. Channeled energy never heals and harms at the same time.

Dark Archive

LazarX wrote:

Are you a negative channeler? If the answer is yes, then you use channel to heal undead or your ability to spontaneously cast inflict spells, to heal Dhampirs.

If you are a positive channeler, then your only option is to prepare inflict spells for that purpose.

channel negative energy. deity is pharasma, which allows me to go either way. I always have an inflict light prepared, as well as potions/scrolls, but I imagine I cannot spontaneously cast inflict light upon myself a cleric would spontaneous drop a spell for cure. I'm fine with that.

I just need to figure out if I need to channel 30 ft away from my allies. and if I channel 3d6 to harm and have negative affinity, does that mean I actually heal 3d6 if I'm trying to harm a bunch of living mooks? that point seems to be in contention as well.

channel to heal myself = 1d6. channel to harm others with channeling scourge 3d6 (including me?)


Per the FAQ and SKR (Go do a search, this has come up a million times)

Someone with NEA switches sides with regards to targeting. So if you target undead to heal them, you heal the NEA. If you target living to harm them, the NEA is unaffected. If you target undead to harm them, the NEA is hit as well. If you target living to harm them, the NEA is skipped.

I hate this FAQ, btw, but that is the FAQ.

How I do it in my own games.

If you are alive, you are targeted when someone channels to affect living. If it's negative, you are healed with NEA. If it's positive, you are harmed with NEA. If they channel to affect undead, you are not undead, so you are missed both ways.

Grand Lodge

melferburque wrote:
LazarX wrote:

Are you a negative channeler? If the answer is yes, then you use channel to heal undead or your ability to spontaneously cast inflict spells, to heal Dhampirs.

If you are a positive channeler, then your only option is to prepare inflict spells for that purpose.

channel negative energy. deity is pharasma, which allows me to go either way. I always have an inflict light prepared, as well as potions/scrolls, but I imagine I cannot spontaneously cast inflict light upon myself a cleric would spontaneous drop a spell for cure. I'm fine with that.

I just need to figure out if I need to channel 30 ft away from my allies. and if I channel 3d6 to harm and have negative affinity, does that mean I actually heal 3d6 if I'm trying to harm a bunch of living mooks? that point seems to be in contention as well.

channel to heal myself = 1d6. channel to harm others with channeling scourge 3d6 (including me?)

Heal and harm are always separate, you can't do both at once. So if you channel to heal yourself, your party is safe. (you will heal any undead as well if you aren't Selective). If you channel to harm living than your party is at risk, (again unless you're Selective).


blahpers wrote:
Dread Knight wrote:
ub3r_n3rd wrote:

Okay hold on here, @Dread Knight, you are asserting...

Because of the NEA of the Dhampir, they are HARMED in situations where the good cleric channels positive energy to HEAL even though the cleric has targeted LIVING creatures to heal rather than choosing UNDEAD creatures (like the Dhamphir with their NEA) to HARM?

IF that's what you are saying, you are wrong. If I'm misunderstanding you, I apologize.

Personally I'd say that the Dhamphir is living and would be healed by Channel energy to harm the living and hurt by energy to heal the living but what I'm saying is that based on the wording of the FAQ if a creature with NEA is hit by negative energy that harms/heals such as Channel Energy and inflict spells they are healed no matter if it was intended to harm the living or heal the undead and the same with positive energy they are harmed no matter the intent to heal or harm by the caster of the energy.
This isn't 3.5. Channeled energy never heals and harms at the same time.

Never played 3.5 so I don't know that but as the FAQ said it doesn't matter the intent Negative would harm and positive would heal. Even based upon the Dhampir's NEA entry even more.

Dhampir wrote:
Negative Energy Affinity: Though a living creature, a dhampir reacts to positive and negative energy as if it were undead—positive energy harms it, while negative energy heals it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

In my game, it is all about targeting, not about whether or not the intent is to heal, or harm. The energy is always positive (or negative for evil bursters) - what matters is their choice of targets. They either target "living" (which includes the dhampir) - or they target "undead" which does not.

Grand Lodge

Keven Simmons wrote:
In my game, it is all about targeting, not about whether or not the intent is to heal, or harm. The energy is always positive (or negative for evil bursters) - what matters is their choice of targets. They either target "living" (which includes the dhampir) - or they target "undead" which does not.

That's your game. He was asking about Pathfinder rules in which you DO have to declare your intentions on channeling.


LazarX wrote:
Keven Simmons wrote:
In my game, it is all about targeting, not about whether or not the intent is to heal, or harm. The energy is always positive (or negative for evil bursters) - what matters is their choice of targets. They either target "living" (which includes the dhampir) - or they target "undead" which does not.
That's your game. He was asking about Pathfinder rules in which you DO have to declare your intentions on channeling.

You're both agreeing with each other, just saying different things.

What he's saying is, if you channel positive, you pick living (heal) or undead (harm), and Dhampir's and other NEA's are living. Or, if you're a negative channeler, you pick Living (Harm) or Undead (heal) and the dhampir is still living. You just end up healing instead of harming due to NEA.

Grand Lodge

mdt wrote:
LazarX wrote:
Keven Simmons wrote:
In my game, it is all about targeting, not about whether or not the intent is to heal, or harm. The energy is always positive (or negative for evil bursters) - what matters is their choice of targets. They either target "living" (which includes the dhampir) - or they target "undead" which does not.
That's your game. He was asking about Pathfinder rules in which you DO have to declare your intentions on channeling.

You're both agreeing with each other, just saying different things.

What he's saying is, if you channel positive, you pick living (heal) or undead (harm), and Dhampir's and other NEA's are living. Or, if you're a negative channeler, you pick Living (Harm) or Undead (heal) and the dhampir is still living. You just end up healing instead of harming due to NEA.

While the Dhampir IS living he's treated as if he was Undead. So to make things simple, just forget that the character in question is technically alive, and pretend it's a zombie. Work with that logic, and you'll get the right answers.

I am now officially out of answers for this thread. Hopefully OP, my answers will help. You're now on your own.


Quote:
The intent of this ability is that the creature is healed by negative energy (like an undead) and harmed by positive energy (like an undead); this is automatic and has nothing to do with the intent of the target or the energy-wielder.

This statement means that creatures with NEA work like undead in regards to positive/negative energy. This ability is automatic; it's always on. It doesn't matter if a Wizard casting Enervate, a Cleric channeling energy to affect the living, or channeling it to affrect the undead. Creatures with NEA are ALWAYS healed when affected by negative energy, and ALWAYS harmed when affected by negative energy.

What this statement doesn't mean is a change to the way Channel Energy works. The FAQ is saying the NEA creature reacts to positive/negative energy as if were undead regardless of the intent of the energy-wielder.
So, if a Cleric channels positive energy to Heal the living, the creature reacts as if it were undead.
If a Cleric channels positive energy to harm the undead, the creature reacts as if it were undead.
If a Cleric channels negative energy to harm the living, the creature reacts as if it were undead.
If a Cleric channels negative energy to heal the undead, the creature reacts as if it were undead.

Because the NEA creature reacts to positive/negative energy as if it were undead regardless, it's unaffected by energy channeled to heal/harm the living.


mdt wrote:
LazarX wrote:
Keven Simmons wrote:
In my game, it is all about targeting, not about whether or not the intent is to heal, or harm. The energy is always positive (or negative for evil bursters) - what matters is their choice of targets. They either target "living" (which includes the dhampir) - or they target "undead" which does not.
That's your game. He was asking about Pathfinder rules in which you DO have to declare your intentions on channeling.

You're both agreeing with each other, just saying different things.

What he's saying is, if you channel positive, you pick living (heal) or undead (harm), and Dhampir's and other NEA's are living. Or, if you're a negative channeler, you pick Living (Harm) or Undead (heal) and the dhampir is still living. You just end up healing instead of harming due to NEA.

Then I suggest the design team issue errata instead of a FAQ, because that is not what is printed at all. It also runs counter to the "simpler option is usually the right one" philosophy Pathfinder claims to adhere to. In the meantime, I will happily ignore the FAQ in favor of RAW.

1 to 50 of 71 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / dhampirs and channel energy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.