Rise of the Runelords FAQ


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion

151 to 200 of 211 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

These are the updates to the rulebook since the last rulebook:

I have a card that tells me to add a particular die to multiple checks. Do I roll the die once and add the same result to all of the checks, or do I roll it once for each check?

If something happens "at the start of my turn," does it happen before or after advancing the blessings deck?

Can I reveal two Belts of Incredible Dexterity over and over to add ∞ to my Dexterity?

If Ezren is attempting to defeat a monster that requires two checks to defeat, and he casts an Arcane spell in each check, when does he get to examine the top card of his deck, when does he attempt to recharge the spells, and how many times does he get to examine his deck?

When I die, are all my cards buried?

Do temporarily closed locations really stay closed until the end of the turn?

I think that covers all of them.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

It would really be helpful if the FAQs were dated, or if those that are included in the most recent version of the rulebook were identified as such somehow.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Three today: one from the past, and two from the future.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Two today.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

And two today.

Also, the FAQ now displays the date that an entry was added.


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
Also, the FAQ now displays the date that an entry was added.

Great, thanks!

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One today.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

3 of the FAQ mention being updated in the second printing (Sajan, Amulet of Mighty Fists, and Swipe). Have any others been updated in the second printing? If so, can they be noted too? Thanks.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
On the very first post, Vic Wertz wrote:
We will eventually create a revised PDF of the rulebook incorporating these changes, but we don't currently have a timetable to announce for that.

How do we know we have the most recent version of the rulebook?

The Pathfinder Adventure Card Game home page contains a link to the rulebook said to be "Last Updated - 2/4/2014". But the file itself has a modified date of 3/18/2014.

The FAQ has a link to what appears to be the same file (modified date of 3/18/2014) but with a comment that lets you think the rulebook has been last updated on 1/4/2014. (The entry is said to have been posted on Nov 13, 2013, which is a bit weird as this is in the past of both potential rulebook updates.)

Is there any indication in the PDF rulebook itself (even in very tiny script) as to what version it is really? I couldn't find it.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The 3/18/14 update was to fix bookmarks in the PDF, it didn't change any of the text. So 2/4/14 is the most recent version. One of the last updates to make it into the rulebook was the update to "Reset Your Hand". Here is how it was in version 2 from November and version 3 from February.

Version 2/November 2013 wrote:
Reset Your Hand: You may no longer play any cards this turn, but you may discard any number of cards from your hand. If you have more cards in your hand than the hand size listed on your character card, you must discard cards until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size. Finally, if you have fewer cards than your hand size, you must draw cards until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size.
Version 3/February 2014 wrote:
Reset Your Hand: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn; if a power allows or directs you to not reset your hand, you must still apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn. You may play cards and use powers unless a power directed you to reset your hand and end your turn. After resolving these effects, you may no longer play cards or use powers for the rest of the turn. Next, you may discard any number of cards. Then, if you have more cards in your hand than your hand size specifies, you must discard until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size. Finally, if you have fewer cards than your hand size, you must draw cards until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The latest version also matches the second physical printing, which means that if you look at the legal text at the bottom of page 23, you'll see "Printed in the USA" in the latest version.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
The latest version also matches the second physical printing, which means that if you look at the legal text at the bottom of page 23, you'll see "Printed in the USA" in the latest version.

When do you think they'll be ready on DriveThruCards?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Theryon Stormrune wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
The latest version also matches the second physical printing, which means that if you look at the legal text at the bottom of page 23, you'll see "Printed in the USA" in the latest version.
When do you think they'll be ready on DriveThruCards?

They haven't said yet, but this seems to indicate they are getting close.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Thank you. You planning on GenCon, Hawkmoon?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Theryon Stormrune wrote:
Thank you. You planning on GenCon, Hawkmoon?

I am not. Perhaps next year though. Not sure if I could afford the cost and the time. It would be cool though.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I have modified the resolution to this item because the text in the previous resolution didn't actually fit on the card.

(I removed the italicized word from the following sentence: "When you encounter a monster from a location deck, you may display this card next to that location deck and put the monster atop this card.")

(And yes, the fact that we're fitting FAQ text to card layouts does indeed mean that we're working on the PoD errata decks now.)


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:

I have modified the resolution to this item because the text in the previous resolution didn't actually fit on the card.

[…]

(And yes, the fact that we're fitting FAQ text to card layouts does indeed mean that we're working on the PoD errata decks now.)

I hate to be that guy again, but after the issue with the bugbears yesterday, its the second time I see technical hurdles related to the errata deck affecting the FAQ.

Of course, your choices concerning these two examples are perfectly reasonable (I didn't expect an errata issued relative to the Bugbear trait, I was just looking for a confirmation that I understood monster traits correctly); but they prompt the following question:

Will the FAQ be frozen after the errata deck is published?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Nope. But we probably won't update the PoD deck offerings.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Three today: here, here, and here.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

We have rewritten the resolution to this entry.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I made two minor tweaks to previous resolutions.

The General Store now begins "During your exploration, if..." instead of the more awkward "If, during your exploration..."

[url="/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gk#v5748eaic9s5g"]Since Teraktinus has more than one check, his card now refers to checks.


Hi,

I've read in this thread that there was talk about making errata cards available through Drive Thru RPG. Is this something that is still being looked into or has it been deemed not possible?

Thanks!


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

It is still in the works. In fact, I'd expect it sometime soon. It is discussed in this thread.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One today.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One today.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One today, so far. More may or may not be coming.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One today (so far).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Two related issues today.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One today.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Make that two.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I added one entry today. It includes the previous standalone resolution for the Spiny Shield, so I removed that entry.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

One today.

Edit: This one mistakenly referred to the Winged Shield in set 5 instead of the Deathbane Shield in set 2. I have corrected it.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Vic Wertz wrote:

And one more.

Edit: Minor update to the wording of the resolution.

This FAQ entry has been removed; we've introduced a new rule that obviates the need for this change.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Are organized play scenarios ever going to be released for RotR?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

This thread isn't specifically to ask the questions, but for Vic to post about updates to the FAQ.

To answer your question though, the seasons will be for whatever the current set is, so it's not likely Runelords will get an OP season.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I added one today. (This change had already been made to the errata decks available at DriveThru Cards.)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

And one more (also already corrected in the errata decks).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Horror Tree.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
Added Horror Tree.

You've got your Horror Trees and Wardens of Thunder mixed up there. It happens from time to time.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Man. How the heck did I do that?!?

As usual, you are correct.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Horsechopper +1.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Collapsed Ceiling and Avalanche.


Vic Wertz wrote:
Added Collapsed Ceiling and Avalanche.

The FAQ says no class deck characters care about the Task trait, but in fact Siwar will care about this very much if you're playing her in RotR. ("Be a gentleman and dig me out, would you?")

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

True enough. I've updated the answer for both; the resolution has not changed.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I don't know if you'd do Iconic Heroes Promo FAQs, but if you do - Biter could probably benefit from the Velociraptor FAQ.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added The Ancient Library in conjunction with this blog entry.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The Road through Xin-Shalast question and answer have been updated.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Added Scarecrow Golem and Skull Ripper.

151 to 200 of 211 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Rise of the Runelords FAQ All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.