
DreamGoddessLindsey |
This is an attempt to explain how the targeting works visually rather than in words. Thought it might be easier.
linky
That targeting would make the spell even more useless. If you take the range as the limit of the spell including the spread (which I don't think it right in this case), you limit the spell so severely that you'll almost always hit allies and the spell has very little utility.
So I have to give your theory a -1.
I believe only the placement has to be within close range, and then the spread defines the targets from there.

![]() |

Ilja wrote:This is an attempt to explain how the targeting works visually rather than in words. Thought it might be easier.
linkyThat targeting would make the spell even more useless. If you take the range as the limit of the spell including the spread (which I don't think it right in this case), you limit the spell so severely that you'll almost always hit allies and the spell has very little utility.
So I have to give your theory a -1.
I believe only the placement has to be within close range, and then the spread defines the targets from there.
It is not theory, it is rules:
Range
A spell's range indicates how far from you it can reach, as defined in the range entry of the spell description. A spell's range is the maximum distance from you that the spell's effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell's point of origin. If any portion of the spell's area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted. Standard ranges include the following.
A often forgotten rule, but a rule nonetheless

DreamGoddessLindsey |
It is not theory, it is rules:
PRD wrote:A often forgotten rule, but a rule nonethelessRange
A spell's range indicates how far from you it can reach, as defined in the range entry of the spell description. A spell's range is the maximum distance from you that the spell's effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell's point of origin. If any portion of the spell's area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted. Standard ranges include the following.
Yeah, I didn't know about that.
Well I guess that decides it: if you don't get to choose the targets, the spell is 100% useless as there'd never be a time you'd want to cast the spell. Between the stupidly short range, the stupidly large spread to go with it, and the stupidly easy saving throw to avoid all damage, you'd basically be playing Russian Roulette.
Verdict: Not a Level 9 worthy spell. It should get errata to make it in line with a Level 9 spell, be lowered to a Level 3 spell, or just removed from the game altogether. Horrid wilting is strictly better in all cases.
Since it's obvious the designers aren't going to answer this, I'm just going to Rule 0 it. Medium range, select targets in a 40 foot spread, 10/level/creature. Sounds about right.

DreamGoddessLindsey |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
DGL: i believe the RAW is clear in that you get to choose the targets. However, im not sure that you can willingly pick less targets than your level.
Yet another good reason for an FAQ. If you can't choose how many, it's still a useless spell. I refuse to believe that the developers would make such a stupid error.

Kayerloth |
Ilja wrote:DGL: i believe the RAW is clear in that you get to choose the targets. However, im not sure that you can willingly pick less targets than your level.Yet another good reason for an FAQ. If you can't choose how many, it's still a useless spell. I refuse to believe that the developers would make such a stupid error.
While I'm sure this isn't going to solve this issue for DGL I will point out you can reduce your effective CL for purposes of the spell to the minimum level at which you are capable of casting it. So level 17 for a wizard, 18 for a sorcerer etc.. Of course, that will also lower the amount of damage and other level dependent effects you will do as well
A spell's power often depends on its caster level, which for most spellcasting characters is equal to her class level in the class she's using to cast the spell.
You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.
In the event that a class feature or other special ability provides an adjustment to your caster level, that adjustment applies not only to effects based on caster level (such as range, duration, and damage dealt), but also to your caster level check to overcome your target's spell resistance and to the caster level used in dispel checks (both the dispel check and the DC of the check).

Kayerloth |
Crazy thought for those who can say the spell lets you choose your targets:
Can you choose to deal damage to a target more than once. Yes I realize this would be silly (as in what is 17x170 damage silly) but isn't that going to be a possible outcome of choosing your targets much like choosing to hit a target multiple times with Magic Missile or Scorching Ray? Or what rules am I overlooking that prevents this?
Second, and maybe problem solving for DGL, is this in the description of Wail: "The spell affects up to one creature per caster level ... " Bolded text by me.

Cruel Kindness |
Now we're really getting away from the rules discussion and into "So-and-so spell isn't strong enough" complaint waters.
On that topic all I'm going to ask is this: a spell that can do 200 fixed damage against a single target within 40 feet, without having any line of sight, only needing verbal components, in a Standard Action, and a DC starting at 23 (10+9+4) is too weak? Average fighter HP (with a 20 Con) only has 214.5 HP at lvl 20, if my math is correct...

DreamGoddessLindsey |
Crazy thought for those who can say the spell lets you choose your targets:
Can you choose to deal damage to a target more than once. Yes I realize this would be silly (as in what is 17x170 damage silly) but isn't that going to be a possible outcome of choosing your targets much like choosing to hit a target multiple times with Magic Missile or Scorching Ray? Or what rules am I overlooking that prevents this?
The effect only happens once, so any target can only be chosen once. Magic Missile is different because its effect happens five times. You can't choose the target more than once for the same reason you can't choose a target for Slow more than once, or Horrid Wilting, or Weird.
Second, and maybe problem solving for DGL, is this in the description of Wail: "The spell affects up to one creature per caster level ... " Bolded text by me.
Yeah, that takes care of that question. Now we just need to know if you can select targets or if its an AoE.
Now we're really getting away from the rules discussion and into "So-and-so spell isn't strong enough" complaint waters.
No we're not. In an attempt to understand what the spell is supposed to do, we have no choice but to compare the results of one answer versus another. If logic was used by the developers, then we would have to assume that they wouldn't make such a pitifully weak spell that does a total of 10/level, has an easy save to make, and can kill your own party members. So it is very pertinent.
On that topic all I'm going to ask is this: a spell that can do 200 fixed damage against a single target within 40 feet, without having any line of sight, only needing verbal components, in a Standard Action, and a DC starting at 23 (10+9+4) is too weak? Average fighter HP (with a 20 Con) only has 214.5 HP at lvl 20, if my math is correct...
Yes, it's too weak if it only does that much damage total. The save is easy to make for most opponents at CR 20, if it gets by SR at all, the save negates all damage instead of half, and you'll rarely kill anything with it much less more than one thing.
Literally every other Level 9 spell is better. So are most Level 8 spells (Horrid Wilting would be factually more powerful in every aspect) and a lot of Level 7 spells. Even Fireball could potentially do more damage without much trouble.
This is why we need to know how this spell really works. If the developers don't answer, we have to assume that the targets are chosen and the damage is 10/level/target since that is the only interpretation in line with a Level 9 spell.

![]() |

There is no assumption. That's how it works. You set the point of origin and the effect spreads from there. Each creature within the spread area (up to the caster's level; if there are more, then only those closest to the point of origin are affected) must make a Fortitude save or take 10/caster level damage. The maximum range for both origin and effect is 75 feet from the caster (assuming a 20th level caster).
While it may be possible to come up with other interpretations for how the spell works, it quickly becomes readily apparent that the interpretations are either strained ("the description says 'target' so you must see every person that you are going to affect"), or inferior and illogical ("the spell only does 170-200 hp damage and you start subtracting from this pool with the first creature affected and it either uses up the entire pool or the creature dies and the remaining points move on to the next creature affected").
These two positions are obviously absurd interpretations and, therefore, can be rejected as incorrect interpretations.

Cruel Kindness |
Fireball does an average of 52.5 damage at level 20 (min 15/max 90) per target with a minimum saving throw 14 against Ref for half. SR and Fire resist/immune applies.
Horrid wilting does an average of 70 damage at level 20 (min 20/max 120) per target with a minimum saving throw 21 against Fort for half. SR applies.
Wail of the Banshee does an average of 200 damage at level 20 (min 200/max 200) to a single target with a minimum saving throw of 23 against Fort for full. SR and Sonic resist/immune apply.
Just using those numbers as guidelines, the spell is already superior albeit not by a lot. Not much is Sonic resist/immune, so that doesn't count against it much. And, again, you're just ignoring the lack of spell components nessicary to cast WotB. The spell comes built in with Still Spell and Eschew Materials. Free casting in armor? Check. Cast while grappled? Check. Cast while holding objects in both hands? Check. Cast while chained up after being brought up on charges of malicious Necromancy? Double check. And we're not even talking about synergy with Necromancy specialization, undead templates, rounding out a Necro's otherwise limited spell focus, et cetera. As a "stay away from me" threat, it's a fairly reliable save-or-suck that hits things that might be otherwise sneaking up on you, too.
This spell is not broken. It's limited in use, yes, but actually it's a pretty decent spell. It could perhaps stand to be looked at once more and try to word things more precisely. People like more rules rather than less, apparently.
Edit: Ninja'd by Hangar. I'm starting to understand the argument that it could be interpreted as damage to all creatures in the area, but why don't they point that out specifically as in Fireball?
I also persist that the origin of WotB is always the caster, spreading 40' in all directions. The Effect text box indicates this.

![]() |

It's not worded like fireball because it doesn't affect ALL of the creatures in the effect area, it only affects up to the caster level number of creatures.
If the intent was to have the spread emenate from the caster, there would be no range. It is pretty safe to say that, given the range as well as the inference of the origin point in the description, the caster may set the origin point as somewhere other than himself. If you need to justify it, imagine it as the caster "throwing" his voice, or whatever.

![]() |

There is no assumption. That's how it works. You set the point of origin and the effect spreads from there. Each creature within the spread area (up to the caster's level; if there are more, then only those closest to the point of origin are affected) must make a Fortitude save or take 10/caster level damage. The maximum range for both origin and effect is 75 feet from the caster (assuming a 20th level caster).
While it may be possible to come up with other interpretations for how the spell works, it quickly becomes readily apparent that the interpretations are either strained ("the description says 'target' so you must see every person that you are going to affect"), or inferior and illogical ("the spell only does 170-200 hp damage and you start subtracting from this pool with the first creature affected and it either uses up the entire pool or the creature dies and the remaining points move on to the next creature affected").
These two positions are obviously absurd interpretations and, therefore, can be rejected as incorrect interpretations.
You reject the target line in any spell if that don't suit you?
RAI your interpretation seem logic and in line with the 3.5 version of the spell, but Area was changed into Target when the spell was ported over to Pathfinder. Way you assume that was made if it has no effect on how the spell work?
Kayerloth |
To answer my own silly question ... because it would say so like in Scorching Ray and Magic Missile. Silly wizard player :p
As for Wail, I think it is in the middle to lower end of the power range for 9th level spells. I would not be using it on a single CR 20 foe especially if said foe had "Good" Fort saves, too likely to end up doing nothing to the foe, unless I was down in spell choices. It's best use much like Meteor Swarm, Fireball or Horrid Wilting, I would maintain, is to kill or seriously injure larger numbers of weaker foes. If the BBEG/'Boss' happened to be in the area great but if it is only the BBEG then this is not my first spell choice.

Ilja |

It's not worded like fireball because it doesn't affect ALL of the creatures in the effect area, it only affects up to the caster level number of creatures.
Just a note, Confusion targets all legitimate targets in the area without a specified upper limit. Of course, it's still limited by LoS unlike Fireball.
Otherwise agreed, just thought it worth pointing out.
Kayerloth wrote:Second, and maybe problem solving for DGL, is this in the description of Wail: "The spell affects up to one creature per caster level ... " Bolded text by me.Yeah, that takes care of that question. Now we just need to know if you can select targets or if its an AoE.
We can select targets. We know that, it's in the spell target rules.
However, I'm not sure that quote solves it really. Because we have two statements on who it potentially affects:
In the target line, it says it targets "one creature per caster level".
In the description, it says it affects "up to one creature per caster level".
Since it's a Save Negates spell, it's possible that it says "affects up to" because some creatures may make their saves - you might have to target 17 creatures (or however many are valid targets), and up to that number can potentially fail their saves.
It's a very gray area and the argument can go in either direction.
But the spell is targeted, that is not gray, it says it in black on white.
I also persist that the origin of WotB is always the caster, spreading 40' in all directions. The Effect text box indicates this.
WotB explicitly has a range that is different from the maximum distance between targets. It also doesn't even have an Effect line, it has a Target line (and how would it be an Effect spell to begin with? :S).
This also feels like grasping for illuisonary straws.There is no assumption. That's how it works. You set the point of origin and the effect spreads from there. Each creature within the spread area (up to the caster's level; if there are more, then only those closest to the point of origin are affected) must make a Fortitude save or take 10/caster level damage. The maximum range for both origin and effect is 75 feet from the caster (assuming a 20th level caster).
That's not how it works. It's not an area spell, it's a target spell. See this picture again.
For spells with an Area line, you set the point of origin and it affects creatures.
For spells with a Target line, you choose targets, sometimes restricted by distance or location in regards to each other.

![]() |

HangarFlying wrote:There is no assumption. That's how it works. You set the point of origin and the effect spreads from there. Each creature within the spread area (up to the caster's level; if there are more, then only those closest to the point of origin are affected) must make a Fortitude save or take 10/caster level damage. The maximum range for both origin and effect is 75 feet from the caster (assuming a 20th level caster).
While it may be possible to come up with other interpretations for how the spell works, it quickly becomes readily apparent that the interpretations are either strained ("the description says 'target' so you must see every person that you are going to affect"), or inferior and illogical ("the spell only does 170-200 hp damage and you start subtracting from this pool with the first creature affected and it either uses up the entire pool or the creature dies and the remaining points move on to the next creature affected").
These two positions are obviously absurd interpretations and, therefore, can be rejected as incorrect interpretations.
You reject the target line in any spell if that don't suit you?
RAI your interpretation seem logic and in line with the 3.5 version of the spell, but Area was changed into Target when the spell was ported over to Pathfinder. Way you assume that was made if it has no effect on how the spell work?
I'm not exactly sure which part of my post you are objecting to. Regardless, the only thing that changed between 3.5 & PF in that line was changing the word "area" to "target". So are you inferring that every targeted creature must be visible? For a spread spell that can go around corners, that seems to be a strained interpretation.
The spell targets living creatures, yes. But you don't have to see them to affect them.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Diego Rossi wrote:HangarFlying wrote:There is no assumption. That's how it works. You set the point of origin and the effect spreads from there. Each creature within the spread area (up to the caster's level; if there are more, then only those closest to the point of origin are affected) must make a Fortitude save or take 10/caster level damage. The maximum range for both origin and effect is 75 feet from the caster (assuming a 20th level caster).
While it may be possible to come up with other interpretations for how the spell works, it quickly becomes readily apparent that the interpretations are either strained ("the description says 'target' so you must see every person that you are going to affect"), or inferior and illogical ("the spell only does 170-200 hp damage and you start subtracting from this pool with the first creature affected and it either uses up the entire pool or the creature dies and the remaining points move on to the next creature affected").
These two positions are obviously absurd interpretations and, therefore, can be rejected as incorrect interpretations.
You reject the target line in any spell if that don't suit you?
RAI your interpretation seem logic and in line with the 3.5 version of the spell, but Area was changed into Target when the spell was ported over to Pathfinder. Way you assume that was made if it has no effect on how the spell work?
I'm not exactly sure which part of my post you are objecting to. Regardless, the only thing that changed between 3.5 & PF in that line was changing the word "area" to "target". So are you inferring that every targeted creature must be visible? For a spread spell that can go around corners, that seems to be a strained interpretation.
The spell targets living creatures, yes. But you don't have to see them to affect them.
I see you haven't read the whole tread, so let's repeat this citation again:
Aiming a Spell
You must make choices about whom a spell is to affect or where an effect is to originate, depending on a spell's type. The next entry in a spell description defines the spell's target (or targets), its effect, or its area, as appropriate.
Target or Targets: Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you finish casting the spell.
So you are disregarding a clear rules about what is the meaning of Targets and how choosing your targets work.
So what rule matter? Target or spread?
The Area part of the spell was changed to Target. You are assuming that it was an error? It is possible, but that change was made on purpose as the text was changed from the 3.5 version.
And yes, I am "inferring that every targeted creature must be visible?" as that is what the rules say. To target a creature you must be able to see it.

Cruel Kindness |
Thank you for posting the general rules for casting a spell. These rules apply, except where they don't. Pazio probably listed the spell as being a "Target" instead of an "Area" to avoid confusion about where the spell originates since the spell lists a range of Close. Yes, they needed to list the range as Close because if it was Self (as in emanated from yourself) people would interpret it to mean it only affects yourself.
Yes, the spell can turn corners as per a Spread spell. No, you don't need to see the targets and as such you can't choose targets. The spell chooses which targets it affects, in order of closest to furthest.
If anything, the points you made actually reaffirm my standpoint. If you could CHOOSE the targets, the spell wouldn't be a Spread, it would be a Burst.
This, again. The spell specifies that "you emit" the scream which means, to me, the origin is always the caster and ignores the Range stat block. Look at the options for range. They're all either too short or too far to properly describe the actual "range" of the spell. If Pazio tried to make it a proper Emmination it would continue to function as long as the caster concentrated on the spell. Rock and a hard place, if you ask me.

Ilja |

Specific only overrides general where it is actually specific, not where it's vague.
Saying "you emit" is not nearly specific enough to override the rules on range - especially when in that case there would be _no point whatsoever_ in having that range at all.
Spells that are centered on you say they are.

Kayerloth |
As well as running into the issue of it being a Spread. Regardless of where the word 'Spread' occurs in the description (target line or Area of Effect line) the word 'Spread' implies that you do not need to see 'something about the effect'. In this case I believe it is referring to the targets but ...
As for the range issue the obvious question is why include range line with a range greater than personal if "you emit" means the range is in essence always 0. For what it's worth I think it should be 0, but it's fairly clear for some reason they make it greater than "you". Namely I think it should be an AoE spread with range personal (that doesn't effect the caster). The issue they ran into looking at it this way is power level I suspect ... no cap on the number of foes potentially effected. Then again we have Weird.

Ilja |

As well as running into the issue of it being a Spread. Regardless of where the word 'Spread' occurs in the description (target line or Area of Effect line) the word 'Spread' implies that you do not need to see 'something about the effect'. In this case I believe it is referring to the targets but ...
But the word target implies that you have to. So then you have to check which word is in a placement of more severe importance.
If you allow targeting within the spread without LoS you are violating the targeting rules.
If you do not allow it, you are not violating any rules.
As for the range issue the obvious question is why include range line with a range greater than personal if "you emit" means the range is in essence always 0.
Excactly. And the rules are 100% clear on this, anything else is grasping for illusionary straws, and not even bigby's grasper can get those.
Saying "you emit" in the description is overriding the explicit range with a "0ft" range is... I don't have words for how weak of an interpretation that is.
Namely I think it should be an AoE spread with range personal (that doesn't effect the caster).
Agreed. I think that WotB SHOULD be an area spell centered on you, but as written, it's a targeted spell that thus doesn't really even have a center.

Kayerloth |
... If you allow targeting within the spread without LoS you are violating the targeting rules.
If you do not allow it, you are not violating any rules.
...
Explain then why the word Spread is involved. If you have to have LOS to all the targets (or be able to touch them) why do you need anything further? Why mention Spread? Or hypothetically Burst or Emanation? What would adding any of those words to the target line do? What is any, much less spread specifically, Effect line term doing there?
EDIT: I ask because presumably someone while designing/translating the spell for PF meant it to mean something. The debate (and lack of clarity) on what that something is is exactly the problem here.

DreamGoddessLindsey |
Explain then why the word Spread is involved. If you have to have LOS to all the targets (or be able to touch them) why do you need anything further? Why mention Spread? Or hypothetically Burst or Emanation? What would adding any of those words to the target line do? What is any, much less spread specifically, Effect line term doing there?
EDIT: I ask because presumably someone while designing/translating the spell for PF meant it to mean something. The debate (and lack of clarity) on what that something is is exactly the problem here.
I can answer this. X-Ray Vision would allow you to see through walls. A spread can also go around a Wall of Force or a Prismatic Wall (if there's an opening) because you can see through them. Clairvoyance and Scry also allow you to possibly see people that are around corners. It's all about how creatively you use the spell and then where you put the point of origin. It affects creatures in a spread so as to stop people from using cheese defenses that can block other spells.
That's why the spread doesn't have to contradict the ability to select targets as you wish instead of affecting everyone.
Also, if the point of origin was the caster, it would specifically say so.

![]() |

Ilja wrote:... If you allow targeting within the spread without LoS you are violating the targeting rules.
If you do not allow it, you are not violating any rules.
...Explain then why the word Spread is involved. If you have to have LOS to all the targets (or be able to touch them) why do you need anything further? Why mention Spread? Or hypothetically Burst or Emanation? What would adding any of those words to the target line do? What is any, much less spread specifically, Effect line term doing there?
EDIT: I ask because presumably someone while designing/translating the spell for PF meant it to mean something. The debate (and lack of clarity) on what that something is is exactly the problem here.
It is because the 3.5 word Area was replaced in Pathfinder with the word Target without changing other section of the spell text (the only other change was replacing "You emit a terrible scream that kill creatures that hear it (except for yourself)." with "When you cast this spell, you emit a terrible, soul-chilling scream that possibly kills creatures that hear it (except for yourself). The spell affects up to one creature per caster level, inflicting 10 points of damage per caster level."
Even in the 3.5 version the spell had a range of close and was affecting the creatures closest to the point of origin first.
What made the difference was changing Area to Target.
- * -
About spread and targeting, there are situations in which a spread and targeting can work together.
Cast the spell in a room with 3 boots, from your position you can see the area within all three boots but people in one of the boots can't see people in the other boots.
You cast WoB so taht the point of origin is in the central boot. If it was a burst you couldn't target the creatures in the other 2 boots as they have total cover from the point of origin. As it is a spread that can turn corners it can affect the people in the other boos as long as they are visible from your positions and the distance (corner included) is less than 40' from the point of origin.

Cruel Kindness |
If you can choose the targets, why does the target's distance from the origin matter? Clearly, you cannot choose more targets than the spell allows, even if they're in the area.
If the spell does the same damage to all creatures, and you choose which creatures take the damage, why does it matter the order in which the targets are affected? Clearly, all creatures would take the same effect so the order doesn't matter.

DreamGoddessLindsey |
If you can choose the targets, why does the target's distance from the origin matter? Clearly, you cannot choose more targets than the spell allows, even if they're in the area.
If the spell does the same damage to all creatures, and you choose which creatures take the damage, why does it matter the order in which the targets are affected? Clearly, all creatures would take the same effect so the order doesn't matter.
Since that's the only part that doesn't "add up" with everything else in the spell, I think it's a safe assumption that it is probably a leftover from 3.5 that was overlooked.
If that's not the case, perhaps there is a reason that the order affected matters. Perhaps something to do with contingency spells, defensive abilities, etc.
All I know is that it's obvious the spell isn't intended to only do a total of 10/level overall. That is just illogical and stupid because, as I showed before, even Fireball would do more damage most of the time. Wail of the Banshee is a Level 9 spell and is safely assumed to be of Level 9 power.

Ilja |

Ilja wrote:Explain then why the word Spread is involved.... If you allow targeting within the spread without LoS you are violating the targeting rules.
If you do not allow it, you are not violating any rules.
...
Because it is an additional limiter to whom can be targeted (compare the target line on magic missile).
If the target spell is interpreted as a target spell (in other words, the way it is written) then the spread limits who you can target. In the picture I linked before, it means you couldn't target the enemies in the picture while still targeting someone behind you. The difference between a spread and burst here is so minor they might as well have done a toss-up, but if the wall in the picture was a glass wall or wall of force or for some other reason blocked LoE but not LoS, it could hit them as an emanation but not as a spread.
If the target spell is instead assumed to be incorrectly written despite it being a clear change since 3.5, and that it's actually an area (spread) spell, then the word Target designator is completely meaningless.
So there are two ways to read the spell. Either that it is correctly written and works like I've specified, or that they accidentally changed the spell from the previous write-up and the wording is incorrect. Of course we can assume that it is incorrectly written without having any supporting evidence for that (since the spell works fine with the current wording), but we can do so for about any rule, and then the rules discussion becomes pretty meaningless.
If you have to have LOS to all the targets (or be able to touch them) why do you need anything further? Why mention Spread? Or hypothetically Burst or Emanation? What would adding any of those words to the target line do? What is any, much less spread specifically, Effect line term doing there?
Because it limits distance and relative position between them. I made a picture even! If you remove that part of the line the caster could target any enemies within reach regardless of them being walled of from each other or on the opposite side of each other. With a 65 ft range the caster could target enemies 130ft from each other. The inclusion of the "40 ft spread" limitation means the caster can't do that.
So, let's be clear, by inflating/deflating the numbers to show the difference.
Spell One:
Range one mile.
Target up to two creatures.
Spell Two:
Range one mile
Target up to two creatures within a 10ft spread.
These are extremely different spells in terms of usefulness how easily you can gain maximum efficiency. In WotB the difference is less, but it is still a working limiter.

Ilja |

If you can choose the targets, why does the target's distance from the origin matter? Clearly, you cannot choose more targets than the spell allows, even if they're in the area.
It might be a holdover, but it still serves a function. For example, say that there are three characters at differing range from the point of origin: A rogue, a wizard, and a fighter. Let's say the wizard has a contingency; "When I become the target of a spell, Reach Teleport".
If WotB affected everyone at the same time, everyone would have to make a save or die while teleporting away. But the way it's written, first the rogue is targeted, has to make a save or die, then the wizard has to make a save while teleporting away herself, the fighter, and the rogue if the rogue is alive. The fighter is out of reach and thus won't have to make a save.
And, depending on interpretations on how targeting and contingency works, this might also apply for contingencies of spells that block LoS, but since that's more debatable I thought it a bad example.
And there are of course other abilities that affect this, such as a Balor's death explosion; if it dies first and kills the WotB-caster, the spell might (depending on interpretation) end before anyone else is hit.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I see you haven't read the whole tread, so let's repeat this citation again:PRD wrote:Aiming a Spell
You must make choices about whom a spell is to affect or where an effect is to originate, depending on a spell's type. The next entry in a spell description defines the spell's target (or targets), its effect, or its area, as appropriate.
Target or Targets: Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you finish casting the spell.
So you are disregarding a clear rules about what is the meaning of Targets and how choosing your targets work.
So what rule matter? Target or spread?
The Area part of the spell was changed to Target. You are assuming that it was an error? It is possible, but that change was made on purpose as the text was changed from the 3.5 version.And yes, I am "inferring that every targeted creature must be visible?" as that is what the rules say. To target a creature you must be able to see it.
Except that you don't select one creature per level for targets, you select a point of origin and the effects spread from there (in which spread effects can go around corners), affecting the closest creatures to the point of origin first.
There can only be one point of origin. You don't select individual targets as points of origin, or even to affect individually targeted creatures like you do with magic missile or any of the mass spells.
Someone else brought up confusion. That spell says it targets all creatures in a 15-ft. radius burst. A 15-ft.-radius burst from where? From 50 different creatures? No, you select a point of origin, draw a 15-ft.-radius circle around that point of origin and all creatures within that circle are affected by the spell. Though, it is a burst so it does not go around corners.
Wail of the Banshee works in a similar manner except that it is a spread and so you affect creatures that are around corners. So, it affects one living creature/level in a 40-ft.-radius spread. A 40-ft.-radius spread from where? Do you just select a number of creatures up to the caster level? Where is the point of origin; from where is the 40-ft.-radius spread measured? No, you select a point of origin, draw a 40-ft.radius circle around that point of origin (while also taking into account the distance traveled for going around corners) and all creatures up to the one living creature/level limit are affected. Though, you don't get to choose which creatures will be affected, you work from the point of origin outward until the limit has been reached.
You have to be able to see where you are setting your point of origin, yes. But past that, living creatures that are out of sight but within range are affected.

Ilja |

HangarFlying, can you show any kind of rules support for that? Because what you're describing is an area spell WotB is explicitly NOT an area spell. It WAS an area spell, they changed it. Now it's a TARGET spell.
If it affected everyone within the spread, rather than targets chosen as a target spell, it would not be a target spell, it would be an area spell. Just like confusion, you need to target the creatures.
Honestly, we've shown time and again with rules references why it's not the way you claim it is, but your answer is just "no ur wrong" and a repeat of the same unfounded argument that you've shown no evidence whatsoever of. It's not meaningful in the least, it's just tiring.

![]() |

HangarFlying, can you show any kind of rules support for that? Because what you're describing is an area spell WotB is explicitly NOT an area spell. It WAS an area spell, they changed it. Now it's a TARGET spell.
If it affected everyone within the spread, rather than targets chosen as a target spell, it would not be a target spell, it would be an area spell. Just like confusion, you need to target the creatures.
Honestly, we've shown time and again with rules references why it's not the way you claim it is, but your answer is just "no ur wrong" and a repeat of the same unfounded argument that you've shown no evidence whatsoever of. It's not meaningful in the least, it's just tiring.
Ok, so if you just select the targets, how do you determine the "area" of the effect and from where is the radius of that area measured?

![]() |

Uhm... I don't see the issue? Did you look at my picture? I don't see how that is hard at all?
You select targets that would fit in a 40ft spread. If you're unsure of if they do, just hold a 40ft spread where it would be most beneficial and see if they fit within.
Just to point it out:
a spread won't fill the whole circle if there are obstacles. The spell has to pay to circumvent them.Spread: Some effects, notably clouds and fogs, spread out from a point of origin, which must be a grid intersection. The effect can extend around corners and into areas that you can't see. Figure distance by actual distance traveled, taking into account turns the spell effect takes. When determining distance for spread effects, count around walls, not through them. As with movement, do not trace diagonals across corners. You must designate the point of origin for such an effect, but you need not have line of effect (see below) to all portions of the effect.

![]() |

Uhm... I don't see the issue? Did you look at my picture? I don't see how that is hard at all?
You select targets that would fit in a 40ft spread. If you're unsure of if they do, just hold a 40ft spread where it would be most beneficial and see if they fit within.
Which means...there is a point of origin in there somewhere...usually the center of that 40-ft. spread. Whether you lay the template out first and then figure where the center is, or select the point of origin and then determine the extent of the spell effects, the end result is the same: you still have a point of origin that you designate and the effects spread from there.
Though, in reality, because the effect spreads, it's best to start from the center and then measure out, unless you're in an open area.
That point of origin must be within your line of sight. From that point of origin the spell effects spread out (and go around corners). The creatures that are closest to the point of origin are affected first.
EDIT: minor grammar

![]() |

Ilja wrote:Uhm... I don't see the issue? Did you look at my picture? I don't see how that is hard at all?
You select targets that would fit in a 40ft spread. If you're unsure of if they do, just hold a 40ft spread where it would be most beneficial and see if they fit within.
Just to point it out:
a spread won't fill the whole circle if there are obstacles. The spell has to pay to circumvent them.PRD wrote:Spread: Some effects, notably clouds and fogs, spread out from a point of origin, which must be a grid intersection. The effect can extend around corners and into areas that you can't see. Figure distance by actual distance traveled, taking into account turns the spell effect takes. When determining distance for spread effects, count around walls, not through them. As with movement, do not trace diagonals across corners. You must designate the point of origin for such an effect, but you need not have line of effect (see below) to all portions of the effect.
If your assertion that all targets to be affected by the spell must be seen and designated by the caster, why is this point that you call out relevant? If the target is around a corner and can't be seen, measuring around a corner would be irrelevant.
Or...you don't have to see the targets, you designate a point of origin, and those targets which are in the spread are affected by the spell.

DreamGoddessLindsey |
Diego Rossi wrote:Ilja wrote:Uhm... I don't see the issue? Did you look at my picture? I don't see how that is hard at all?
You select targets that would fit in a 40ft spread. If you're unsure of if they do, just hold a 40ft spread where it would be most beneficial and see if they fit within.
Just to point it out:
a spread won't fill the whole circle if there are obstacles. The spell has to pay to circumvent them.PRD wrote:Spread: Some effects, notably clouds and fogs, spread out from a point of origin, which must be a grid intersection. The effect can extend around corners and into areas that you can't see. Figure distance by actual distance traveled, taking into account turns the spell effect takes. When determining distance for spread effects, count around walls, not through them. As with movement, do not trace diagonals across corners. You must designate the point of origin for such an effect, but you need not have line of effect (see below) to all portions of the effect.If your assertion that all targets to be affected by the spell must be seen and designated by the caster, why is this point that you call out relevant? If the target is around a corner and can't be seen, measuring around a corner would be irrelevant.
Or...you don't have to see the targets, you designate a point of origin, and those targets which are in the spread are affected by the spell.
It's relevant if you have a means to see around the corner as I point out earlier.

Cruel Kindness |
Are there any other spells, feats, or abilities that similarly add awkward wording for the explicit purpose of allowing corner cases? It was my understanding that PF and 3.X wrote rules that made known what they do differently by telling you what you can do. It's not up to each spell to say "you can do this, but only if you can do this also".
Also, why would Pazio change part of the spell without looking at how that change would interact with how the rest of the spell functioned? To argue that leaving the final line of text in the description is an oversight is insulting at best.
Hangar, the reason Ilja is able to poke holes in your argument is because, as I continue to persist, you do not get to choose the origin of the spread. The caster is the origin. The targets are what the spell itself chooses, based on it's text. This is supported by the verbiage in how many creatures can be affected as opposed to how many opponents can be affected.
Perhaps I was too hasty in assuming the spell doesn't apply the same damage to all targets, though. It does make sense for a ninth level spell to be able to virtually nuke everything around the caster and a 40' spread is big enough to cover more than 20 creatures potentially. It doesn't make sense to originate at any distance greater than zero. Not only does it defy common sense, it doesn't fit with the descriptive text.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Hangar, the reason Ilja is able to poke holes in your argument is because, as I continue to persist, you do not get to choose the origin of the spread. The caster is the origin. The targets are what the spell itself chooses, based on it's text. This is supported by the verbiage in how many creatures can be affected as opposed to how many opponents can be affected.
This is patently false. It has a range of 65-75 feet depending on your level. You may set yourself as the point of origin, but there is absolutely that indicates that you have to.

DreamGoddessLindsey |
The answer to every question is: Paize didn't bother to proofread this crap and changed some words while forgetting to change others, leading to all this confusion. That is precisely why I wanted this marked for FAQ to begin with.
I said in my OP I didn't want to debate this crap. You don't have the magical right answer. Mark the damn thing for an FAQ and let the powers speak.

![]() |

Diego Rossi wrote:Ilja wrote:Uhm... I don't see the issue? Did you look at my picture? I don't see how that is hard at all?
You select targets that would fit in a 40ft spread. If you're unsure of if they do, just hold a 40ft spread where it would be most beneficial and see if they fit within.
Just to point it out:
a spread won't fill the whole circle if there are obstacles. The spell has to pay to circumvent them.PRD wrote:Spread: Some effects, notably clouds and fogs, spread out from a point of origin, which must be a grid intersection. The effect can extend around corners and into areas that you can't see. Figure distance by actual distance traveled, taking into account turns the spell effect takes. When determining distance for spread effects, count around walls, not through them. As with movement, do not trace diagonals across corners. You must designate the point of origin for such an effect, but you need not have line of effect (see below) to all portions of the effect.If your assertion that all targets to be affected by the spell must be seen and designated by the caster, why is this point that you call out relevant? If the target is around a corner and can't be seen, measuring around a corner would be irrelevant.
Or...you don't have to see the targets, you designate a point of origin, and those targets which are in the spread are affected by the spell.
I have already explained that with the aisle example, and other people has done that too too.
You can easily have people that has full cover from the point of origin of the spell but it fully visible from the position of the caster.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Q: Are there some (not Wail but less confusing :p) spells that are targeted that also have a Point of Origin? Most that am I thinking of off the top of my head do not. Or is this another somewhat unique bit to Wail of the Banshee?
From the CRB:
Confusion - Targets all creatures in a 15-ft.-radius burst
Inflict light wounds (it is buried in the spell text)
Inflict Light Wounds, Mass
School necromancy; Level cleric 5
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Will half; Spell Resistance yesNegative energy spreads out in all directions from the point of origin, dealing 1d8 points of damage + 1 point per caster level (maximum +25) to nearby living enemies.
Like other inflict spells, mass inflict light wounds cures undead in its area rather than damaging them. A cleric capable of spontaneously casting inflict spells can also spontaneously cast mass inflict spells.
Cloak of Chaos - Targets one creature/level in a 20-ft.-radius burst centered on you
Holy Aura - Targets one creature/level in a 20-ft.-radius burst centered on you
Shield of Law - Targets one creature/level in a 20-ft.-radius burst centered on you
Unholy Aura - Targets one creature/level in a 20-ft.-radius burst centered on you