Spell-Like Abilities Count As..?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, first, here's the linkthat says SLA's count as spells.

But do they count as prepared spells or spontanous?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The "default" class for an SLA is sorcerer: if it is otherwise unspecified, the count as spells from the sorcerer list.
At the same time, they function almost identically to prepared spells, except that you have to "prepare" the same SLA every day. Which is basically what spontaneous casting is: prepare the same spells every day.
So I'm gonna guess "spontaneous".

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Azten wrote:

So, first, here's the linkthat says SLA's count as spells.

But do they count as prepared spells or spontanous?

What's the context of your question? Questions like these are usually asked for another purpose, and it's usually helpful to give the context.


I'm guessing that the context is for prerequisites for prestige classes or feats. For example, a Dragon Disciple needs to be able to cast spontaneous magic.

I don't believe there's an official ruling, but I would personally say they're prepared, not spontaneous.


Spell-Like abilities are specifically not spells as per the Universal Monster rules in the SRD so if something has the prereq "spontaneously cast spells" Spell-like abilities as RAW don't cover it.

Of course the GM can always rule otherwise.


Duh. I should have read your link 1st. Don't I look stupid since the Design team is say that Spell-like abilities do count as prereq. lol

Although I note that they don't say that Spell-like abilities count as been able to cast spells in general. The count as been able to cast that particular spell.

There specific logic is that prestige classes are generally sub-optimal for pure-casters and I suspect more so for monsters such as given as an example. Indeed they are blunt that if someone finds a way to make this decision useful as a power build they are liely to revisit the decision and nerf it.


Stephen Ede wrote:

Spell-Like abilities are specifically not spells as per the Universal Monster rules in the SRD so if something has the prereq "spontaneously cast spells" Spell-like abilities as RAW don't cover it.

Of course the GM can always rule otherwise.

Spell-like abilities, per FAQ, can be used to qualify for a prerequisite of "Able to cast X-level spell". Whether they are considered spontaneous or prepared is not answered by the FAQ.

[edit]
Never mind, you found it yourself, heh.

My guess is that they would count as spontaneous only. A prepared spell caster has to have a source of preparation - a spellbook or familiar. A spell-like ability seems to have a more 'spontaneous' flavor to it.


I'd say neither. They cover prerequisites for "able to cast" but not spontaneous nor prepared.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Is there anything that actually requires "spontaneous" casting? Because the Dragon Disciple (for example) says cast "without preparation", for which an SLA pretty obviously qualifies.


Jiggy wrote:
Is there anything that actually requires "spontaneous" casting? Because the Dragon Disciple (for example) says cast "without preparation", for which an SLA pretty obviously qualifies.
crb wrote:

Spellcasting: Ability to cast 1st-level arcane spells

without preparation. If the character has sorcerer levels,
he must have the draconic bloodline. If the character gains
levels of sorcerer after taking this class, he must take the
draconic bloodline.

yup

Shadow Lodge

Xaratherus wrote:


[edit]
Never mind, you found it yourself, heh.

My guess is that they would count as spontaneous only. A prepared spell caster has to have a source of preparation - a spellbook or familiar. A spell-like ability seems to have a more 'spontaneous' flavor to it.

If the bolded part is true then what do clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers need to have with them to prepare their spells?

Grand Lodge

A god?

:)


Quath wrote:
Xaratherus wrote:


[edit]
Never mind, you found it yourself, heh.

My guess is that they would count as spontaneous only. A prepared spell caster has to have a source of preparation - a spellbook or familiar. A spell-like ability seems to have a more 'spontaneous' flavor to it.

If the bolded part is true then what do clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers need to have with them to prepare their spells?

Good point. They don't need a physical item - but they do need an hour to commune with their deity (which is more appropriately the 'constant' through all prepared casters, an hour of prep time at the start of the day).


Well, the arguments do make sense. Thank you all for your help.

And yes, I had been thinking about the dragon disciple.

Sczarni

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
137ben wrote:
The "default" class for a SLA is sorcerer

Ooo! Where does it say this? You might have answered a question I posted yesterday.


Nefreet wrote:
137ben wrote:
The "default" class for a SLA is sorcerer
Ooo! Where does it say this? You might have answered a question I posted yesterday.

I'll see if I can dig it up, as I remember seeing it as well. The designers apparently adopted to player character SLAs an order that was in one of the bestiaries, if I remember correctly?

[edit]
Here you go: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9qt6

I'm not certain if that truly intends that Sorcerer is the default class, then Wizard - or if it assumes that the two are equal. Would there be a difference if it was Sorcerer then Wizard, rather than Sorcerer\Wizard? I thought their spell lists were identical.


I know in just the Core book that there is a Wizard only spell, so the lists are almost the same.

Sczarni

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

That is so awesome. Thank you! Ifrit Bard, here I come!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell-Like Abilities Count As..? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.