Can someone voluntarily fail a Ref, Fort, or Will save?


Rules Questions


I was reading 1st level spells in the PFSRD and I came across one called burning disarm.

That's one spell that except for under very specific circumstances I would want to fail my Ref save so can I forgo my save or do I have to take it like how with SR even if it's a friendly spell it's active and you have to have your SR punched.


I think it's ok. I mean, I'm not sure as of RAW, but I think you're alloed to "take 1" on any roll you make.

Liberty's Edge

Don't think so, or the limitation on the Barbarian "Superstitious" Rage Power would be kind of pointless.


Will Pratt wrote:

I was reading 1st level spells in the PFSRD and I came across one called burning disarm.

That's one spell that except for under very specific circumstances I would want to fail my Ref save so can I forgo my save or do I have to take it like how with SR even if it's a friendly spell it's active and you have to have your SR punched.

Quote:

Voluntarily Giving up a Saving Throw: A creature can

voluntarily forego a saving throw and willingly accept a
spell’s result. Even a character with a special resistance to
magic can suppress this quality.

CRB, page 217 I believe.


Yes, you can voluntarily fail any save unless you have a specific rule that overrides the general rule.

CRB p217 wrote:
Voluntarily Giving up a Saving Throw: A creature can voluntarily forego a saving throw and willingly accept a spell’s result.

- Gauss

Edit: Ninja'd by Rynjin! :)


That's the page. I wonder, though, does it apply to all saves, or just saves against spells?
Also, what if the spellcaster has gotten the target to agree not to resist his spell, and then switches the spell on him? For instance, the party wizard intimidates someone into agreeing not to resist detect thoughts, but then the wizard casts a charm or dominate spell without the target's knowledge of the switch. Are the target's defenses still automatically down?


Implicitly: all saves. Explicitly: no such rule.

The section on spells is often extrapolated to reference to non-spell effects if there is no rules covering it.

Example: spell stacking rules are the main source for any ruling about whether effects (spell or not) stack.

Regarding switching spells. There is a debate on whether or not you can 'bait and switch'.
Some argue that you can only intentionally fail a save against a specific spell/effect.
Others state that if you do not know the effect you cannot decide to later on make the save after first deciding to fail the save.
Still others (myself included) state that it is spell/effect dependent. For example: if you are suppressing a Will save but are hit with a Fortitude save I would probably let you have the Fort save.

- Gauss

Sovereign Court

Remember that voluntarily forgoing a save isn't the same as choosing to get a natural one, just so it's said.

Dark Archive

Explicitly in the burning disarm spell description itself, "A creature holding the item may attempt a Reflex save to drop it and take no damage (even if it is not their turn)" notice it specifically says MAY not MUST so you can forgo the save with no problems (note this is not failing the save this is forgoing the save completely).

"This spell causes a metal object to instantly become red hot. A creature holding the item may attempt a Reflex save to drop it and take no damage (even if it is not their turn), otherwise the hot metal deals 1d4 points of fire damage per caster level (maximum 5d4). Circumstances that prevent the creature from dropping the item (such as a locked gauntlet) mean the creature gets no saving throw. The heat does not harm the item, and it does not get hot enough or last long enough to ignite flammable objects. The item cools to its previous temperature almost instantly. If cast underwater, burning disarm deals half damage and boils the surrounding water."


Morgen wrote:
Remember that voluntarily forgoing a save isn't the same as choosing to get a natural one, just so it's said.

What's the difference? Failing is failing.

Grand Lodge

I believe some spells have an additional effect if the fail is a natural 1


On a natural 1 from any damage spell causes the spell to ALSO target a piece of your gear. Depending on the spell, it could end up breaking it. Most DMs overlook this rule along with Fireball melting all your gold.

Sovereign Court

What they said.


Scavion wrote:
On a natural 1 from any damage spell causes the spell to ALSO target a piece of your gear. Depending on the spell, it could end up breaking it. Most DMs overlook this rule along with Fireball melting all your gold.

Ah, right. Yes, that's a rule I don't believe I have ever seen enforced.

Sovereign Court

Well it does need to come up for like an AOE Damage spell on a failed reflex save of a 1. So once in a blue moon kind of rule.


Morgen wrote:
Well it does need to come up for like an AOE Damage spell on a failed reflex save of a 1. So once in a blue moon kind of rule.

I know, but I've never actually seen anybody USE that rule.


Right because it would downright make your players ragequit. As would fireball melting all your gold, flammable gear(includes backpack, most ammunition, etc).

Sovereign Court

Well it isn't actually that bad. There is a table and the item takes damage. It might not even be broken depending on what it is, or the item might be completely mundane and have you out a few silvers.


Most of the chart is your gear slots however and most necklaces, helms, and many other slots can't stand much fire anyways. Also remember Ioun stones are subject to area damage too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can someone voluntarily fail a Ref, Fort, or Will save? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions