Cavalier with a mount that has In Harm's Way working with Mounted Combat


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Making a Cavalier for friends Worldwound campaign and using the Beast Rider Archetype.
I want to eventually give my mount Combat Reflexes, Bodyguard and In Harm's Way.
Could I then use Mounted combat to negate the attack?

EX:
mob attacks cavalier - mount uses In Harm's Way (as an Immediate Action)(Bodyguard is an AOO) to direct attack to the mount.
Cavalier then uses Mounted Combat (as an Immediate Action) to make a ride check to negate attack on mount. (once per round)

Is this within the rules or not?


You cannot use two immediate actions on the same turn.

Quote:

Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

Edit: Reread, this works because it uses the mounts immediate action to perform in harms way. Then it uses your cavalier's immediate action to perform mounted combat.

Paizo Employee Senior Designer

Mounted Combat:
Mounted Combat (Combat)
You are adept at guiding your mount through combat.

Prerequisite: Ride 1 rank.

Benefit: Once per round when your mount is hit in combat, you may attempt a Ride check (as an immediate action) to negate the hit. The hit is negated if your Ride check result is greater than the opponent's attack roll.

In Harm's Way:
In Harm's Way (Combat)
You put yourself in danger's path to save your allies.

Prerequisite: Bodyguard.

Benefit: While using the aid another action to improve an adjacent ally's AC, you can intercept a successful attack against that ally as an immediate action, taking full damage from that attack and any associated effects (bleed, poison, etc.). A creature cannot benefit from this feat more than once per attack.

I feel like there's an issue with those working together, i'm just having a little trouble sorting it out.

I think that technically, there was never a hit on the mount for your Cavalier to negate. There was a successful attack on the Cavalier that the mount chose to take the damage from. Since Mounted Combat doesn't allow the rider to negate attacks against himself, I don't think this works.

Just my thoughts.

Paizo Employee Senior Designer

Claxon wrote:

You cannot use two immediate actions on the same turn.

Quote:

Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

This would not be the issue. The mount is using one immediate action, the rider is using the other.

Dark Archive

Ssalarn wrote:


I think that technically, there was never a hit on the mount for your Cavalier to negate. There was a successful attack on the Cavalier that the mount chose to take the damage from. Since Mounted Combat doesn't allow the rider to negate attacks against himself, I don't think this works.

I agree with this interpretation. The successful hit was against the cavalier, not the mount and Mounted Combat negates the attack, not the damage.


But In Harm's Way says, "you can intercept the attack against that ally." To me that means you aren't just somehow "magically" taking the damage for them, your body is actually taking the hit. And Mounted Combat says, "when your mount is hit in combat, you may attempt a Ride check (as an immediate action) to negate the hit."

Also keep in mind that the ride check must be greater than the attack roll to negate the hit, so it is hardly an automatic success.

Paizo Employee Senior Designer

Mounted Combat allows you to negate a hit on your mount. In the OP's scenario there never was a hit on your mount, so there's nothing that triggers the Mounted Combat ability.
Whether it's balanced or not, comboming those abilities isn't within RAW; that's not to say it isn't a reasonable houserule.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cavalier with a mount that has In Harm's Way working with Mounted Combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.