"Slapping Tail" racial ability


Rules Questions


Hey there messageboard readers,

I am making a race and I have a question on the "Slapping Tail" offensive racial trait

Reads as follows:

slapping tail:
Slapping Tail (3 RP)

Prerequisites: None.
Benefit: Members of this race have a tail they can use to make attacks of opportunity with a reach of 5 feet. The tail is a natural attack that deals 1d6 points of damage plus the user's Strength modifier if Small, 1d8 points of damage plus the user's Strength modifier if Medium, or 1d10 points of damage plus 1-1/2 times the user's Strength modifier if Large.
Special: If a Large creature has the reach trait, its tail also gains reach.

It seems to be pretty obvious that you get a natural attack for attacks of opportunity. But I am curious if you can use the attack in non-opportunistic attacks (meaning do you just get a plain old secondary attack that has special rules during an AoO).


Slapping Tail says its for attacks of opportunity so that is what it is for; a slapping AoO.

Up to your GM to make is a secondary natural attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Slapping Tail" racial ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.