Tarrasque, Regeneration, and Dying


Rules Questions


Regeneration Universal Monster Rules http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/universal-monster-rules #TOC-Regeneration-Ex- wrote:
Creatures with regeneration heal damage at a fixed rate, as with fast healing, but they cannot die as long as their regeneration is still functioning
Tarrasque Regeneration http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/magical-beasts/spawn-of-r ovagug/tarrasque wrote:
If the tarrasque fails a save against an effect that would kill it instantly, it rises from death 3 rounds later with 1 hit point if no further damage is inflicted upon its remains

I'm wondering whether or not the Tarrasque is able to die or not? The universal monster rules state a creature with active regeneration cannot die, but the Tarrasque's rules have the phrase 'rises from death,' and my friend is arguing that that means it is capable of dying despite what the universal monster rules state.


It can't. The Tarrasque cannot die, full stop. That's the point. It's an unkillable murder machine, and the most you can ever do is send it to sleep.


You want to see something funny? Slap the Diehard feat on the Tarrasque and watch your high-end party go, "Why won't it go down?!"

Liberty's Edge

I believe regeneration fails in the event of death spells. That is why the tarrasque has that clause.

So can you kill the Tarrasque? Sure. For 3 rounds. That's long enough for a couple teleports.

Cerberus Seven wrote:
You want to see something funny? Slap the Diehard feat on the Tarrasque and watch your high-end party go, "Why won't it go down?!"

I never thought of that, but now that you mention it, I love it. You win an internet.


ShadowcatX wrote:

I believe regeneration fails in the event of death spells. That is why the tarrasque has that clause.

So can you kill the Tarrasque? Sure. For 3 rounds. That's long enough for a couple teleports.

His reasoning was that a spellcaster could use Animate Dead to bring it back within those three rounds, removing its regeneration.


Cerberus Seven wrote:
You want to see something funny? Slap the Diehard feat on the Tarrasque and watch your high-end party go, "Why won't it go down?!"

Fast Healer would be nice too. That regeneration 40? Regeneration 46 now.

Scarab Sages

Katz wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:

I believe regeneration fails in the event of death spells. That is why the tarrasque has that clause.

So can you kill the Tarrasque? Sure. For 3 rounds. That's long enough for a couple teleports.

His reasoning was that a spellcaster could use Animate Dead to bring it back within those three rounds, removing its regeneration.

Except nothing can remove the Tarrasque regeneration.

Tarrasque wrote:
No form of attack can suppress the tarrasque's regeneration


Coming from the vampire disintegrate thread, that's not an "attack." It's an effect. :P

Scarab Sages

Buri wrote:
Coming from the vampire disintegrate thread, that's not an "attack." It's an effect. :P

You're attacking it with raise dead in an attempt to produce the desired effect.

Liberty's Edge

The Tarrasque has text that allows it to die and come back from death 3 rounds later. That means it can be dead for 3 rounds (if its remains don't take further damage). You just have to kill it in a method that bypasses its regeneration (as normal damage is never enough to kill it). Death effects are the general method of doing this and disintegration are the suggested ways of doing this.

Of course, that's easier said than done, the Tarrasque has significant defenses against magic, including a significant spell resistance, its carapace, and not terrible saving throws. If you can get past that I don't see why it couldn't be reanimated.

Artanthos puts forward a good point though, reanimation may not be enough to stop it from coming back. Still, having had an undead Tarrasque under your control, no matter how short the duration, should be on the bucket list of any real necromancer.


Careful, Katz. A lot of people on this forum think that they can look at the statblock of the Tarrasque and say, "Do this, this, and this, and he dies."

If you look at just the numbers, they're right. If you look at what the Tarrasque -is- and consider what it's supposed to be, then as a GM, you should never let it happen so easily. It always comes back, it never dies. That's the point. Hurting it enough for it to go back and sleep is the best people can hope for.

If you decide to build a campaign around it, which I hope you would if your players ever encounter it, then it wouldn't be bad to have a specific way to kill it (or maybe just seal it away), but make sure that you dictate those terms, not a player looking at numbers.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
ShadowcatX wrote:


Of course, that's easier said than done, the Tarrasque has significant defenses against magic, including a significant spell resistance, its carapace, and not terrible saving throws. If you can get past that I don't see why it couldn't be reanimated.

You'd have to be a pretty powerful caster. HD limits do come into play on this after all. And that's presuming you get past it's latent magical resistance. Given that it's not truly dead, it may be immune to simple necromantic magic and require a truly mythic ritual to reanimate as undead.

Liberty's Edge

LazarX wrote:
ShadowcatX wrote:


Of course, that's easier said than done, the Tarrasque has significant defenses against magic, including a significant spell resistance, its carapace, and not terrible saving throws. If you can get past that I don't see why it couldn't be reanimated.

You'd have to be a pretty powerful caster. HD limits do come into play on this after all. And that's presuming you get past it's latent magical resistance. Given that it's not truly dead, it may be immune to simple necromantic magic and require a truly mythic ritual to reanimate as undead.

Didn't say that it was easy. One thing that helps is that animate dead is SR: No.

And it is truly dead. Something can't "come back from death" if it never dies. :) It is just that for a Tarrasque death is less than permanent.

Shadow Lodge

You can't kill a tarrasque per se, but if you can find a spell to baleful plane shift it to the plane of negative energy, or the elemental plane of s#!+, you can take care of it. Or, not certain if this will work but, a 19th or higher Magus has greater spell access, and can get access to disintegrate. There is a magus arcana that converts ranged touch attacks into melee touch attacks (Close Range). If you could bypass SR, hit it with disintegrate and knock it to zero HP, then damage its dust with a spell like fireball (cast by a different caster), could it die? It does say that

Tarrasque wrote:
Regeneration (Ex) No form of attack can suppress the tarrasque's regeneration—it regenerates even if disintegrated or slain by a death effect. If the tarrasque fails a save against an effect that would kill it instantly, it rises from death 3 rounds later with 1 hit point if no further damage is inflicted upon its remains

IF NO FURTHER DAMAGE IS INFLICTED UPON ITS REMAINS. Does that mean melee touch attack (no longer a ray) disintegrate+lightning bolt to damage remains=dead tarrasque?


I am not dead for 3 rounds. I'm just, uh, discombobulated. Yeah. Too discombobulated to remember to breath or make my heart beat, but definitely not dead.

I've never been dead. Ever. Period.

Liberty's Edge

ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
You can't kill a tarrasque per se, but if you can find a spell to baleful plane shift it to the plane of negative energy, or the elemental plane of s#!+, you can take care of it. Or, not certain if this will work but, a 19th or higher Magus has greater spell access, and can get access to disintegrate. There is a magus arcana that converts ranged touch attacks into melee touch attacks (Close Range). If you could bypass SR, hit it with disintegrate and knock it to zero HP, then damage its dust with a spell like fireball (cast by a different caster), could it die? It does say that
Tarrasque wrote:
Regeneration (Ex) No form of attack can suppress the tarrasque's regeneration—it regenerates even if disintegrated or slain by a death effect. If the tarrasque fails a save against an effect that would kill it instantly, it rises from death 3 rounds later with 1 hit point if no further damage is inflicted upon its remains
IF NO FURTHER DAMAGE IS INFLICTED UPON ITS REMAINS. Does that mean melee touch attack (no longer a ray) disintegrate+lightning bolt to damage remains=dead tarrasque?

I believe that the "no damage is inflicted upon its remains" means that any damage inflicted upon the remains slows the process of its return, though I could be wrong.

Quote:
No form of attack can suppress the tarrasque's regeneration. . . the method to truly kill it has yet to be discovered.


Make it a Blast Shadow. Now you have a Blast-Shadow Tarrasque who is unquestioningly loyal to you regardless if you have the ability to control it or not.

Shadow Lodge

OK, If that doesn't kill a tarrasque, could you then slap the dust with a create pit+wall of stone combo and squish it?

Liberty's Edge

I'm envisioning this great wizard (secretly an evil necromancer) gathering tons of champions from all across the land to battle the Tarrasque, only to finally be able to slay it with some foul magic, and reanimate it for a few seconds, just to be able to say he did it. Surely that'd earn him some bonus points on the lower planes. . .

Shadow Lodge

I'm picturing an outsider wizard, straping himself down with explosives and charging a tarrasque to kill it. Just to become a demon, then coming back to try again. I'm not entirely sure why.

Scarab Sages

The Tarrasque is a plot device.

It is intended to be unkillable by any means short of DM fiat.

Your best bet is to Gate it someplace where it can be happy. Perhaps several hundred layers down into the Abyss where if can spend a few centuries eating demons.

Shadow Lodge

Or gate it to the elemental plane of poo.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tarrasque, Regeneration, and Dying All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.